We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dissapointing”
Review of Banhmi11

Banhmi11
Ranked #15,393 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Shoreditch
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“dissapointing”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The pork belly was so chewy I had to throw it out of my sandwich. Also, there was no pate and no sriracha sauce. What's the point then? At the end I was left with a piece of baguette soaked with soy sauce and bunch of veggies, which I paid £5,5 for. Better try them from a stall on Hoxton street market. That guy makes them just perfect for £4!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iwona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
271 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Fresh and bold”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

At first it was a bit disappointing. Banh Mi 11 was out of the dish Greg wanted and they were also out of the bread for Banh Mi's. With the help of the staff we ordered two Crackling Pork Belly dishes over rice, a mini beef Pho, and a couple spring rolls. Here was the depth of flavor, spice, and salt I had been craving all day!!! The pork belly was luxurious with the a nice bit of crunch, the rice fluffy, and the vegetables perfect. The beef Pho was jam packed with spice and warmth. The spring rolls were good but at room temperature it wasn't to my taste.

Later in the week I did go back for a Banh Mi. The meat and rice combination is much better. The baguette these use is a french baguette not the typical crusty bread you normally receive for a Banh MiI highly recommend a visit when in the mood for bold and bright flavors!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustHrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unauthentic and mediocre”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Only okay, none of the floss stuff I like and inexplicably use west Indian hot sauce instead of sriracha (sp?). With so many good Viet places around doing it right there's no reason to settle for this place

Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best Vietnamese baguette in town”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I've been to Banhmi11 so often since my school is just 10 mins walk nearby. Although there are quite a few Vnese restaurants in the Shoreditch area, Banhmi11 is so unique since it reminds me of an elegant and classic Vietnamese-French style, from the restaurant decor to the types of food they serve here. The environment is so cozy, friendly and especially the food are truly ' authentic' and market fresh Vietnamese cuisine at great prices. Truly recommend this place!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klyn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place for lunch”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

In an area full of Vietnamese food, this place stands out for having a wider variety than most of the other banh mi joints and a less rushed atmosphere. Great for lunch although it does stay open for early dinner too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RevBigA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banhmi11 also viewed

 
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Banhmi11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing