We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Express. West Kensington

Indian Express. West Kensington
Ranked #61 of 21,593 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Your local for fine indian cuisine in west kensington
Turku, Finland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We listened to the advice of the waiter to choose our meal and that was a great decision. The food was delicious and the service very welcoming. The meal was excellent value given the quality of the food, we were both very full and satisfied.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank adesci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    116
    25
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This restaurant came to my attention when it was briefly ranked at #2 in London on Tripadvisor. Upon reading the reviews, I was wary of the surprisingly large proportion from first time reviewers, but thought I would give it a try, as it was in the neighbourhood.

We booked a few days in advance for dinner on Friday. The restaurant only holds 18 people, and it was full for much of the time we were there. The décor is fairly basic and some of the furniture was a bit worn out. We were given a friendly greeting by our waiter Becky (spelling?). He was keen to provide recommendations from the menu, and in hindsight the recommended dishes were our favourites. We had the lamb chops and king prawn puree to start with, followed by the Green Chilli Chicken and Lamb Sagwala for mains. We also had a side of the Special Daal. This was all accompanied by naan bread. The first three items I mentioned were all very good. The Lamb Sagwala was decent, but felt a bit similar to what you may find in many other Indian restaurants - the same applied to the daal. The naan was excellent – the perfect combination of soft and crispy. All in all, this was an absolutely massive quantity of food, definitely too much for two people. But I blame ourselves for being over-eager when ordering!

The service we received from Becky throughout our meal was outstanding. He is part of the family that owns the restaurant (as are most of the other employees) and was full of enthusiasm about the food and also very eager to ensure we had the best experience possible. After our meal he brought us a complimentary mango kulfi (also quite good).

The conclusion: go for the recommended dishes and you will have an enjoyable meal. The food is not outstanding, but it is certainly decent enough for a local Indian, and it also represents good value, with our total bill (excluding service) coming to £45. I wouldn’t travel across London for this, but if you live in the area, then definitely give it a try. I would have given them a 4-star rating, if not for the excellent service we received, and for that I have awarded them an extra star!

Tip: the restaurant has moved recently, and as at the time of my visit Google Maps still pointed you to the old address (which is about 10 min walk from the new place).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ishan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I am so lucky to have this great Indian restaurant as my local one. We dined here several times and the restaurant never disappointed - food wise or service wise. Indian Express you have secured yourself another returning customer :) thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mirka m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best curry in West London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Superb family-run restaurant, great for for a takeaway or BYO dinner out. The owners are friendly and the food is excellent and always tasty and fresh. And whatever you do have the prawn puri as your starter.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It may be called Indian Express... ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

... But the care that goes into their dishes i think the name can detract from that. There is no express about it... This place is by far the best Indian takeaways I have ever had! Though its my most local and I have many to chose from... I will no doubt use this as my first choice. Nice people too... Who clearly have pride in what they do

Helpful?
2 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Express. West Kensington also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Indian Express. West Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing