We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food!”
Review of Zaibatsu

Zaibatsu
Ranked #124 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Greenwich
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“excellent food!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Been here several times. Food is excellent and will go again as still working through menu. Take your own beer\ wine. It is a cafe and a shame it's not bigger but who cares as the food is so good. if travelling from cutty sark dlr it's definitely a bus ride and pay by cash. To be on the safe side suggest you book.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garyroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    112
    35
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Surprised sushi bar”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I went with my boyfriend, the special rolls deserve the price, and tempura is the most delicious one I have tried ever! By the way, the chief is nice and friendly!

Helpful?
2 Thank J0di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average at best #2”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Group of 4. All love sushi from 'rough and ready' to high end.
Agree with J2300 in rating. Atmosphere was poor. Tempura was heavy and claggy not the crispy, light as air batter it should be. The Nasu Goma was delicious. Sashimi was good, the salmon in particular was well sliced and fresh. We had the Volcano, Dragon and Unagi rolls. Both volcano and dragon were rather disappointing, too much dressing/mayo for my liking (however, this is a fusion Japanese restaurant, so I guess this comes with the territory). Unagi roll was good.
Restaurant is BYO which I like. Meal came to £18 each with tip so very good price. Verdict: if I was in the area I might try it again but wouldn't make a trip especially.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MattJBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious! ”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Reasonable price, great taste! specially, the beef and rolls are extremely good. ;) Zaibatsu is the one of the best place u must go in London.

Thank you Dixon. Good Luck.

Helpful?
2 Thank Amarbayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“This place is amazing! Never thought Sushi could be so good!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I came here for the first time because it was my brother's birthday. I was driven over from central London and I was thinking why the hell have we travelled all this way? The main road looked unexciting and the outside of the restaurant looks like it will be a greasy spoon cafe....
BUT! When you order, you will be presented with the most extraordinarily beautiful and mouth-wateringly delicious displays of food. The chef creates the most astounding pieces of food art which not only look stunning to the eye, they taste divine as well!
A place well worth a journey!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mattsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaibatsu also viewed

 

Been to Zaibatsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing