We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Japanese cuisine”
Review of Zaibatsu

Zaibatsu
Ranked #108 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Greenwich
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Exquisite Japanese cuisine”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Don't be put off by the fact that it looks like a bit of a run down cafe, as this Japanese restaurant offers sushi and other dishes of the highest quality. I started with the gyoza(deep fried dumplings) which were extremely tasty with the vinegar-soy sauce, they were gone in a matter of seconds. I then had the salt and pepper soft shell crab which was beautifully crispy and the amount of fried garlic and onion was to die for - however it doesn't state that this dish is spicy and there are losts of chillies, so if you are not a fan of spice, ask for it "normal".

Next I had the yakitori(skewered chicken with a teryaki sauce) and the sauce was thick and flavoursome, bringing out the best in the chicken. I didn't go for a dessert and I slightly regret not going for sushi as it looked wonderful - but that just gives me an excuse to go again! I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys authentic Japanese cuisine with a twist.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    120
    35
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Had a lovely meal in Zaibatsu on the run up to Christmas. It was recommended by my landlady and it didn't disappoint. My partner is a veggie and he had loads to choose from (a nice change), we opted for endamame beans and tofu for starters and then a steaming bowl of noodles and some sushi for mains. The food was fresh and tasty and served quite quickly despite the restaurant being full. We had booked in advance which was good as it was very busy
The surroundings are clean but rather basic but the food makes up for it in leaps and bounds and it's really good value for money. You can also bring your own booze and there is no corkage charge (a lovely wine shop across the road if you need inspiration!)
Sadly we were sat right by the door so it was a bit chilly - my only negative.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernMonkey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrsterfield
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Xmas party night”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Celebrate Xmas party with my family last week at zaibatsu .. Recommend by friend .. And we give a try.. .. Even though outside looks like greaser spoon and inside atmosphere is not look like what you expect high end restaurant decor .. But . We are really satisfied and feel we are enjoy in high end restaurant meal.. It was absolutely Amazing . Good value, fresh and nice .. All of my family really enjoy our dinner and happy .. Definitely will be back once got chance visit to London next time ..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelyJameseater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bargain”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Authentic sushi with funky toppings. Little gem in the middle of greenwich where there isnt much choice of food. You can also bring your own alchohol!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank va c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and fresh”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had a really tasty meal here. English speaking waiters, good knowledge of Gluten Free requirements.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mksindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaibatsu also viewed

 

Been to Zaibatsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing