We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food (even by Washington DC/Ethiopian standards)”
Review of Wolkite restaurant

Wolkite restaurant
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #164 of 24,328 Restaurants in London
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Islington
Description: It is an ethiopian restaurant which serves authentic and traditional food . In this restaurant you could get a wider selection of meat, vegitable, fish and chicken dishes. We serve our food with gluten free teff enjera and rice. We also have Ethiopian beer , Wine and home brewe hony wine.
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

We are familiar with Ethiopian food having lived in the Washington DC area where there is a sizeable community. This place in London blows the rest out of the water! Thorough menu, subtle spices, friendly service. Our only complaint is that service can be a bit on the slow side, but the wait is well worth it.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank pickyhotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 230 of 511 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2016

Just wow! As a group of 5 we had never tried Ethiopian food before, but we certainly left as fans! The style of cuisine is something completely different from most Western culture. Hands in, sharing, and dirty fingers, we all loved the experience and the taste was something a lot of us had never had before. On top of that the family atmosphere was brilliant and added to the experience. It's a hidden gem. Thanks to all the team, you did a great job. see you again soon!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank E2564IEbenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016

I visister on Saturday night with my partner. The service was excellent. We asked for some recommendations of vegetarian/ vegan options so a number of dishes were brought out for us to try. Every dish was delicious and unique tasting. I will definitely be going back regularly to try the other items on the menu. We were even offered free Ethiopian tea on the house as an after dinner drink. Drinks and main dishes came to £20 between 2 of us which is the best value meal I've had in London. I cannot recommend more highly.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2016

We came as a group of 7, many of whom had never tried Ethiopian food before. The service was fantastic, all our questions were answered politely and honestly. We took the recommendations of the restaurant, and they even chucked in a couple of dishes on the house 'just to try'. The quality was great- so good that I joined Trip Advisor just to sing their praises! With beers and more food than we could eat it came to £15 a head, so value was also very good. We'll be back.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JK9221
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

always come back to this place is amazing thank you very much great restaurant we have a great service

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolkite restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wolkite restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.