We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of Forbidden Planet

Forbidden Planet
Ranked #18 of 739 Shopping in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The uk's largest and best-known science fiction, fantasy and cult entertainment retailer! Specialist comics and comic subscriptions
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you're a whovian, a trekker or almost any other fandom then this is the place to be. They have so many wounderful things, I just wished that I was very rich

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Safiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    104
    17
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Geek Heaven!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband was kind enough to let me spend an hour here on our recent trip to London. It was amazing! If you enjoy sci-fi, fantasy, comics, or any form of cult culture, you MUST see this place! It's two stories of pure awesomeness.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbP35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“this shop is amazing”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I first heard about this shop in the tripadvisor forums, so when I was in London browsing the area I thought I might have a look and was very impressed. Lots of cool stuff from tvseries(drWho etc etc) and films(Star Wars, Star Trek etc etc), games etc, and the last time I discovered they had another floor downstairs with books etc. Their website is great as well, but I prefer going to the shop itself.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank IngeK73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
886 reviews
478 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Sci Fi/Fantasty favorite”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This book and memorabilia store should be on every geek's list of places to visit in London. The selection of collectibles encompasses many book, comic, television and film favorites. The downstairs book section is quite overwhelming. Thank goodness there is no comfortable couches to snuggle up in and browse, or I might still be there. As is, I wish they had more t-shirts.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Sci-Fi & Comic Heaven”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Forbidden Planet has been around for a number of decades (previously nearer Covent Garden) and the latest location on Oxford Street spans a floors. This place is the best of it's kind for sci-fi &, cult entertainment including a full range of books, animated stories and graphic novels, comics, anime, manga, cult figurines, board games etc. I love this place and every time I am London I religiously visit this awesome shop. You can easily spend 2-3 hours in here.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JEAN MARC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forbidden Planet also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Forbidden Planet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing