We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food, tiny portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of HKK

HKK
Reserve with OpenTable
HKK is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #233 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: HKK offers a unique Chinese fine dining restaurant experience, epitomising the skill and creativity of Michelin-starred Head Chef Tong Chee Hwee and his kitchen, and showcasing the true diversity and unparalleled range of ingredients, styles and cooking techniques of Chinese cuisine. The menu at HKK changes regularly, illustrating chef Tong's passion for creating complex flavoured Chinese dishes with a modern flair. With a philosophy that tells the story of both ancient and contemporary China through reviving and modernising recipes, chef Tong and his team use the state-of-the-art kitchen as a culinary laboratory to develop unique dishes. The kitchen combine authentic wok and barbecue cooking methods alongside modern techniques, using local and organic produce and coastal seafood from the British Isles where possible. The wine team, headed up by Christine Parkinson, Head Wine Buyer at Hakkasan Group, have curated a wine and cocktail flight that complements each of the dishes on the tasting menu, including wines, cocktails, teas and Japanese sakes. Chef Tong holds 11 years' experience at Hakkasan Group, first as the Head Chef of Hakkasan Hanway Place, and then as the Executive Head Chef for the group globally.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing food, tiny portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I would give HKK 5* without hesitation were it not for the tiny portions. The quality of the food really is exceptional and the presentation is amazing, there just isn't enough of it. My friend and I - both fairly average in size - had a four-course set lunch and both commented that we could have easily eaten double what we were served.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJG444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    92
    26
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“If you want to feel the difference”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Chinese "haut cousine" restaurant with 1 Michelin star. We hardly found them as they could not explain to taxi driver their exact location))) They serve only set menu of 15 dishes but ask 10 dishes if you used to eat not much. We took 10 dishes and it was really enough. Portions are small but quite rich. For child they offer 8 dishes menu. All dishes are in chinese style but cooked in fusion manner. Dessert was excellent. And I need to mention about the perfect wine list. After you finish your dinner the chef gives you menu with his sign. It was so cute.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anturix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Alarm bells should have started ringing when I had to give my credit card details at the time of booking with a notice that there was a non-refundable fee of £80 per person if the table was cancelled with less than 24 hours notice, which is precisely when unforeseen events might occur which necessitates a last minute cancellation.

The restaurant is somewhat hard to find on a backstreet behind Liverpool Street. The area might well be busy during the working week, but it was like a ghost town on a Saturday night. Make a note of the address as the restaurant is housed in a nondescript building with only a small plaque at the door to announce where it is.

The restaurant itself is less impressive than the photographs on the website suggest; I was expecting a grander room but its surprisingly small, sterile and cold, and while a large centrepiece table occupies the centre of the restaurant for staff to put the finishing touches to dishes, diners are sat on tables which are too close to each other in a minimalist room of bland greys and browns.

Service was off from the start. Our wine arrived before our pre-prandial G&Ts. The waiter then introduced the one and only choice for dinner: the 15 course tasting menu. I had read reviews about the restaurant before and I had thought they had abandoned this as the only choice following criticism from restaurant critics and diners alike at the arrogance of being presented with a single choice but no, the recently awarded Michelin star has no doubt emboldened them and you are faced with no other choice than the tasting menu.

What followed in terms of the food was good but not that good and certainly not the gourmet taste experience we were expecting or hoping for. A succession of 15 bites, because that's all they are, some good, a few very good, but too many of which were really quite unexceptional. The best were often the simplest, too many were trying to be too clever and had too much going on. I would have much preferred fewer dishes with larger portions.

At the start of each course our waiter would mumble something as if to introduce the dish, and after asking him to repeat himself too many times, we feigned interest but eventually switched off and left to our own devices tried to work out what we had been presented with.

We lost count of the number of courses we'd had and hoping to be near the end asked the waiter how many we had to go. We were somewhat taken aback to discover that we had 7 courses left, or at least that’s what I think he said, but asking him again he confirmed that yes, we were only half way through.

Ensure you make an early booking. We sat down to eat at 7.45 and didn’t finish until after 11pm and if you do go, and I'd strongly recommend you spent your money somewhere else, be sure to hold on to your glasses. The wine waiter, a humourless little man in black, sweeps vulture-like upon your table to pick off glasses before they were finished without asking, and then is gone. Remarkable, particularly given the cost of wine here.

We were relieved to finish but staggered at the price. It really would have been polite to tell us that the tasting menu costs £95 per person before we had begun. With a few drinks and a "discretionary service charge of 13%" dinner came in at a little less than £300 for two people.

London has many Michelin starred restaurants where you can enjoy truly fine food with excellent service and a wonderful ambience to create the perfect dining experience. HKK falls far short in all areas.

On leaving you are presented with a menu, which would of course have been more helpful during the course of the meal. A memento of a disappointing meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Laibach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Chinese restaurant in the UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Visited last night - and had an incredible meal - we visited at the beginning of the year and had a great meal, but if anything, this was even better. Fantastic dim sum - particularly the spicy lamb and the mushroom ones, great duck, amazing crab on chicory leaf. We also loved the lamb, the bresse chicken soup and the wagyu beef and truffles (husband did, I don't like truffle). Service was really warm and friendly - dim sum whilst we waited for our dining companions was a nice touch. We're really looking forward to trying other restaurants in the Hakkasan group - we've been to the original Hanway Place premises a few times (great - although not quite up to HKK levels) and are planning on trying Yauatcha......

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MurraL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“well deserved michelin star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

was taken here as a birthday surprise and despite being alittle lost due to poor signage, what was awaiting inside was just excellent. We were warmly recieved and attended too straight away without any air of arrogance as you can sometimes come to expect this restaurant category. Love the interior, design and fell although alittle cold. The food and cocktail matching was simply sublime and delicious. the food is just so delicate and refined in the execution and delivery, all stunningly displayed. It has to be one of my most memorable meal being more special because it is modern asian cooked so well. Congrates to everyone at HKK, and thank you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank felicityhouse l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HKK also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to HKK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing