We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but not the best on Kensington Chuch Street.”
Review of Blanche Eatery

Blanche Eatery
Ranked #322 of 664 Coffee & Tea in London
Restaurant details
London
1 review
“Okay, but not the best on Kensington Chuch Street.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Nice, but staff can be slow and it is not the best on Kensington Church Street. However, the food is good and the place is clean.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ethiopia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and generous portions!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The eatery is cosy without feeling small and cramped with lofty ceiling and white painted walls juxtaposed with rustic and trendy interior design, it's truly a diamond in the ruff just off Kensington High Street. Located beyond the familiar terrain of Costa and Caffe Nero, seems unfortunate but the food, drink and atmosphere they provide far overtakes the standard of aforementioned saturated chains. As for the food experience itself, the window shows the range of confectionary thats they offer but that is merely the tip of the iceberg. Enter into the eatery and a wide array of savoury foods all homemade that very day, beautifully presented. I was genuinely stuck for choice, but once a selection is gone, its gone so get in there quick!
My sister (ex-Londoner, new-American) and I (new Londoner) went to this eatery by chance looking for a place for a light lunch and ended up filling our plates with a main and 4 sides out of fear that we would we deprived from all the amazing tastes. (The meals are very flexible, create your own from a main and 1,2,3,4...etc sides, enjoy hot or cold or takeaway). I'm happy to say I went in to an amazing place for lunch that other Londoners had either not discovered or kept at closely guarded secret (the latter seems more likely as we arrived it was empty and within minutes 6 other groups of people came in, 4 of which got their 'usual' to-go).
The staff are very friendly and knowledgable about each dish, how it is prepared, personal favourites and what side complements which main to give you a helping hand if you, like me, are awful at making decisions when confronted with too many great options.

P.S. If you're a food conscious individual and like to keep healthy with good foods, here's a quote from the website. "By the way we don’t like additives, preservatives, colourings….and we’re not that keen on pre-packaging our food either." The process of cooking avoids methods involving high amounts of fat e.g. frying. Most foods are baked etc...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cnkonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!!!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had a very tasty lunch with my sisters and we all enjoyed it very much! The staff is friendly and helpfull. Very much recomended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had lunch here outside on a sunny day in Kensington. It looked and tasted great,

It certainly gives Ottolenghi a run for its money, in fact we nosed in Otto's takeaway after lunch and thought we had the better end of the deal at Blanche.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OldP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
612 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 903 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Blanche Eatery has a wide range of foods with beautiful cakes and pastries, as well as a huge choice of savoury foods where you can select your own ingredients for salad plates. The unit is well laid-out and brightly decorated with a lovely, cosy mezzanine level where you can sit and read or enjoy the atmosphere. Would recommend to all.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tjh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blanche Eatery also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Blanche Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing