We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccable service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Five Fields

The Five Fields
Ranked #12 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $69 - $100
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Description: Chef Patron Taylor Bonnyman, working in collaboration with Head Chef Marguerite Keogh, offer elegant and playful modern British cooking with an emphasis on native British artisanal produce. Having worked in some of the finest kitchens in London, New York, and Paris the kitchen brings together its influences to create contemporary, seasonally focused, and ingredient led dishes. The food balances luxurious indulgence with delightfully fresh simplicity.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Impeccable service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Went there to celebrate my fiance's birthday.
Had the tasting menu with wine pairings - 115 GBP
Extremely generous with the wine and the service was fabulous.
Some hits and misses with the food. Hence the 4 stars.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bren-da2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFiveFields, General Manager at The Five Fields, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Bren-da2311,

Thank you for your review and for the compliment on the service in particular.

I'm pleased we were able to help you to celebrate your fiance's birthday and that you enjoyed the pairings to the menu, though a shame we weren't able to provide the 5* food which we always strive to do.

The menu is constantly evolving so I hope that we are able to welcome you again soon and hopefully achieve the much coveted rating of Excellent.

Best regards,

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    858
    129
    32
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cant Wait to Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

What a perfect end to a perfect day, shopping in Chelsea followed by dinner @ The Five Fields.
A lovely contemporary restaurant with an imaginative well thought though menu & wine list to match.

Food was divine, beautifully presented, served by warm & attentive staff. Extensive wine list which our waiter insisted we sample :). We left a little merry (were blaming the waiter) & very contented
Thank you Five Fields for a truly wonderful evening. ...best wishes for 2014 you deserve it!.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFiveFields, General Manager at The Five Fields, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Andrea A,

That does indeed sound like a wonderful day - though I'd be content to forget about the shopping myself!

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your evening with us, and when can one not feel guilty about a very merry evening if not in December?

Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful review and I do hope that we are able to welcome you in again very soon.

Very happy new year to you from myself and all the team and my very best regards,

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another superb meal, still cracking value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We visited the Five Fields for a second time over the Christmas break. This was their first lunch service and we were not disappointed.

The food was exemplary as was the service. The staff were very attentive and certainly did everything they could to make sure we had a wonderful experience.

This restaurant, in my opinion certainly warrants a Michelin star. My two visits were certainly the best two meals I had in London during 2013.

I am sure they will go from strength to strength in 2014.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Yorkie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFiveFields, General Manager at The Five Fields, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Yorkie1972,

It was a pleasure to have you in again, and your three guests, and wow - what a compliment to have been your best two meals of the year!

As you said, it was our very first lunch service and I'm really pleased that the experience translated well. Certainly something to look at doing more regularly in the future.

I remember that your first visit was very early in our journey, so it was great to get your feedback on how the menu and everything has evolved in our first 7 months.

Happy new year from myself all the team and my very best regards,

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sumptuous Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We ate here to celebrate our wedding aniversary in Oct 2013. It was a sumptuous dining experience. The food was absolutely stunning - beautifully and innovatively presented and cooked to perfection. Service levels were immaculate and friendly without being stuffily too formal. Certainly worth trying and would not hesitate to return

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Emirates57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFiveFields, General Manager at The Five Fields, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Emirates57,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and I'm so pleased that we were able to help you celebrate your anniversary. It's wonderful when we get the chance to help make a special occasion all the more memorable.

We always aim to give exactly what you describe, so I'm so really pleased we were able to hit the mark on your evening with us.

I very much hope that we can welcome you in again very soon.

Best regards,

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"A PURE TREAT"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Amazing food in the five fields. A fabulous dining experience. Highly recommend it to anyone for a special occasion. The staff are really friendly & explain every dish extremely well, I truly enjoyed every bite. Thank you the five fields...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jonh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFiveFields, General Manager at The Five Fields, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Jonh K,

What wonderful comments to read. I am so pleased to know you enjoyed your evening with us.

Special occasions do indeed warrant special meals and every bite should be enjoyed- so how fantastic to hear that we've hit the mark so well for you.

I very much hope that we're able to welcome you back again very soon.

Best regards,

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Five Fields also viewed

 

Been to The Five Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing