We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational!! The Art of Food...Deserves their Michelin * in only 3 Years!!”
Review of Ametsa - CLOSED

Ametsa
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Belgravia
Description: Ametsa brings the flavours of the Basque Country to the heart of Belgravia at COMO The Halkin. Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of Basque cuisine, pairing the techniques of Spain’s Basque Country with British seasonal ingredients to create a selection of light tapas-style dishes and heartier sharing plates. The result is a relaxed neighbourhood dining experience for everyone to enjoy, lunch or dinner. Ametsa’s Private Dining Room can be reserved separately for a gathering of up to 24 guests, or in conjunction with the restaurant for a larger function accommodating up to 68
Reviewed August 14, 2016

WE had dinner last night and brought a friend from London who just finished her Uni @ Glasgow. We were all blown away by the space, the service, the attentiveness of the staff and OMG the food was out of this world! We ate with Juan Arzak and his Daughter brilliant Chef Elena @ Arzak in San Sebastian, Spain. They are legends 3 Michelin * over 25 years. This place in the Halkin Hotel is simply Brilliant! Muchas Gracias!!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank HGKCFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmet M, Manager at Ametsa, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2016

Dear HGKCFP,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience on Ametsa.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Emmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 346 of 928 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I ate here using a Groupon deal for a 5 course tasting menu.

My husband had forgotten about it and eventually ended up an hour late. Thankfully the staff did not pressure me about this.

The food was excellent in taste and presentation. As I don't eat pork, they ensured a menu omitting this. They also substituted the Cava for an exotic passion fruit cocktail.

The service was brilliant too.

We had a corner table overlooking the hotel garden which was nice.

We opted for the cheeseboard before our dessert but decided to share as wasn't sure if we'd like it then chose to order a second one!

I'd come again sooner if the restaurant allowed children but unfortunately we don't often have child free evenings!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank chotipagli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmet M, Manager at Ametsa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2016

Dear chotipagli,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review on Ametsa. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Emmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

When you receive your meal here it's like looking at a piece of art on your plate, it's so pretty and definitely looks like what if tastes like... Beautiful! So pleased I found this place

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank JuliaRoseWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmet M, Manager at Ametsa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2016

Dear JuliaRoseWilliams.

Thank you for your review following your visit to Ametsa. I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.

Please do come back and visit us again very soon.

Kind regards,

Emmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016

2nd time for us in Ametsa for a diner.it's always an amazing experiencethe dishes are beautiful, colorful and delicious. it' s a pleasure for the eyes and the mouth.the team is brilliant, very professional and enthusiastic ! a big thank you Godoy and Andrea we had a fantastic diner !!the presa was so good and tender !! my favorite dessert... the orange toast - i had it twice already and i dont want to try something else (even if i know its gonna be so delicious too) because i fell in love with it!!Ametsa deserve another star !

Thank Noémie L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emmet M, Manager at Ametsa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2016

Dear noemieletourneur,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your return visit to Ametsa. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Regards,

Emmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

The set menu was excellent value for a Michelin starred venue.
Tapas starters of crab tempura, pork and pineapple and squid in squid ink doesn't do justice to the flavours and textures.
Orange toast with spinach dessert was sublime as was the roast Apple.
Service was excellent, not intrusive.
If you are happy trying something a little different, well worth a visit. Definitely recommended.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank maureenc311
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmet M, Manager at Ametsa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

Dear Maureen C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your experience in Ametsa. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the set menu which includes the tapas. Please do come back next time and try the tasting menu.

With kind regards,

Emmet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ametsa also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.