We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find - my daughter took me here - and now I am a fan”
Review of E5 Bakehouse

E5 Bakehouse
Ranked #104 of 279 Bakeries in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingsbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a find - my daughter took me here - and now I am a fan”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Amazing food - a huge selection of baked goods - and good coffee.
This was under the arches by London Fields station - every now and again you could hear the trains overhead.
The atmosphere was great - nice relaxed lazy Saturday morning. The staff were friendly and helpful - and service was quick despite the queues.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    7
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Don't eat in”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Great breads and bagels. Yummy pizzas. But my advice is take away don't eat in. The staff are very friendly but appeared hungover and a bit unclean. The cutlery had been dipped in water rather than properly cleaned and the previous customer'a mouth marks were visible on my cup. When they brought our food they didn't bring serviettes and there weren't any inside for me to help myself to.
The bakery is great, but my advice is buy the bread there and enjoy it in the comfort of your own home.

Helpful?
2 Thank tan0rexic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding bread bakery”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

E5 has the best bread I've had just about anywhere. Their range of organic sourdough styles show such excellent care and control over the process. It makes perfect sense that locals would come sign up for the bread making courses they offer.
On our last visit, we had watercress soup served with their Hackney wild for lunch, which was delicious, then a couple of pretty awesome desserts and coffee that struck a good balance between light-roast fizz and dark richness. Make the trip to Hackney to visit E5. It's an outstanding bakery with the highest quality products.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SurLyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hackney Wild like you've never tasted in your life..a must before you die”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Are you into serious bread..but I mean cheffy serious?,where you savour each mouthful ecstatically,your tastebuds salivating with every bite of crust, a texture of slightly sour beautiful crumb meltingly suffused with good honest butter,perhaps with a schmear of rhubard jam and shorlly afterwards, that half smile that only comes with an inner satisfaction, it's only then you know instinctively you've experienced manna from heaven.Michel Roux knows,I KNOW and half if not all of London Fields populace know this must be the pearly gates of bakeries,found in a smart railway arch E.9.What nicer way to spend a Sunday morning with lovely people,decent coffee,a myriad of superb breakfast choices and the Sundays?Don't you just think Londons the greatest, most spectacular place on the planet!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Bread, Fabulous Courses!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The guys and gals at E5 Bakehouse are a brilliant bunch and turn out superb bread, cakes and other items! I just wish they were on my doorstep. However, as they're not, I took the opportunity to sign-up for one of their bread making courses. Wow - one of the best days I've ever had! Over the course of six hours, Ben led our small group of eight through the processes involved in making not one, but four different types of sour dough bread (a 66% rye, their signature Hackney Wild, bagels and a ciabatta). As you make your different breads you become more like an expectant parent every minute and then when they emerge from the oven, the pride sets in and the eating can begin! It was a friendly, relaxed class led by someone who is passionate about their trade. Morning coffee, lunch (delicious) and afternoon tea are all provided - enabling you to sample some of the bakehouse's numerous delights. Just loved it!!! If you are passionate about food and want to learn some new baking skills enrol, but places go quickly (not surprisingly), so be prepared to wait - it will be well worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OzzyGirlWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed E5 Bakehouse also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to E5 Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing