We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Krua by Nathong

Krua by Nathong
Ranked #2,052 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: In 1984, Nathong restaurant was opened in Bangkok on the famous entertainment and business area, Ratchada. Nathong restaurant has been offering traditional and local Thai food to local people since then. In the winter of 2012, the restaurant decided to expand to the UK to present exotic taste of Thai food to the world. "KRUA" means "kitchen" in Thai as we are determined to serve what Thai people really dine. Krua by Nathong would like to welcome every Thai food lovers to come and have a taste of what we have to offer.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We first came across Krua by Nathong by chance in January, we were moving house and had to move into a nearby hotel for a few days, the restaurant had just opened, it is hidden away on Carter lane, a short walk from the hustle and bustle and the numerous chain restaurants nearby.
The atmosphere was nice, the staff were really friendly. The food was superb, and authentic to our experiences on holiday in Thailand. The Jungle Curry was particularly great for me, fiery and full of flavour, not for the faint hearted, its spicy and flavoursome on multiple levels, all Thai restaurants should make food this gutsy (note:- most of the food on the menu is not that spicy but it is always tasty!) . We don't live nearby, but still come back regularly to get a fix, the staff remember us and always greet us with a smile, the service is consistently great. We will keep on going back as long as standards remain this high.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    54
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
281 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Really good food near St Paul's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We chose this restaurant for Thai food and it's location close to our hotel near St. Pauls. We were exhausted after a day's sightseeing. The staff were so pleasant and accomodating. The food was superb. We had the crispy duck with pancakes appetizer for two as a main course -- it was a very large portion and absolutely delicious, as well as the deep fried fish which was amazing. It was a very good find and highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cruising_kitty_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1,586 reviews
793 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,217 helpful votes
“Nice size lunchtime portions, tasty food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stopped in to try the lunch menu, which seemed very reasonably priced. Circa 6.95 for a main meal with rice. Whilst the portions aren't huge, they are fine for lunch.
Service was very good and very attentive. I thought there was a little too much upselling with the wine but this didn't bother us Although lunchtime prices are good, wine prices are very high. £7 for a glass of wine!
Food was very tasty, we shared the pork with garlic and the chilli beef. Both of which i would have again.
Will certain go back here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A lovely Thai restaurant - highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a very new restaurant that serves very good Thai food at reasonable prices. They are still doing the hard work of setting up, settling in and making everything work the way that they want it to. There are lots of reasonable restaurants in this part of London (although some require a bit of hunting-down!) but I think this one is going to make its mark. It’s worth saying that portions are UK/Thai sized and not American sized and the practice of adding a “suggested gratuity” on the bill is very common in London. The food (like all genuine Thai food) is very tasty, the menu has a reasonable selection, the cooking is excellent and the service and presentation are friendly, helpful and attractive. This place really does deserve to do well and we can highly recommended it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilFiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food not great, worse service with "suggested gratuity" added to bill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

DH and I went here after a long day of sightseeing and chose this place because we both like Thai cuisine and because it was near our hotel. I had a red curry and husband had a different one, but neither were very good. Portions were somewhat small and rice was not included and had to be ordered separately at around 5 GBP per serving.

Our waitress was nice but not very helpful. She didn't know what ingredients were in any of the dishes (they have a very small menu) and after our food arrived, we had to get up and find her to get water refilled, despite the fact that there were only two other customers in the place. A 10% "suggested gratuity" was added to the bill, and since this was our first restaurant in London, we didn't know that we could cross that off and recalculate or we would have done so based on the service we received. The credit card slip also included a tip line to leave even more, which we didn't do, but I found that very off putting.

There were other restaurants in this area, and I suggest trying one of those instead.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LBee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua by Nathong also viewed

 

Been to Krua by Nathong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing