We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, friendly, good food”

Blue Boar Restaurant
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #2,378 of 28,111 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $75
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Westminster
Description: Our restaurant offers contemporary British dining in the heart of Westminster. Head Chef, Gilbert Genelazo, brings together fresh, regional ingredients to deliver a mouth-watering menu that celebrates the very best of what each British season brings. Farm sourced succulent meats and freshly caught seafood from the Devon and Cornwall coastline feature on a menu that is as perfect for a light lunch as it is for a decadent dinner. Private dining at Blue Boar is particularly special with two exceptional spaces, connected to the main restaurant by a floor-to-ceiling wine wall.
Reviewed May 29, 2019 via mobile

Family of four, sat in low table near the windows on the bar area. It was very quiet which was a plus after a long tourist day. The staff was exceedingly friendly and the service prompt. Hubby ordered the Shepherd's pie which was fabulous. The vegetarian options are a big plus and I had the club sandwich, which was a bit messy but delicious. I would go back again.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank amsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
556beverlyp, Manager at Blue Boar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

Thank you for visiting Blue Boar Bar. I am delighted that your family enjoyed your meal with us after your day exploring London. The team try very hard to serve all our guests needs and they will be encouraged by your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again when next in the area.
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 633 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

Came here for an early evening meal.
Our waiter Luke was very friendly and attentive.
The food was very good,I had the vintage menu on offer,the doused herring followed by the rabbit stew,which was very good,lots of flavour and well presented.
The room is really very nicely decorated and dressed.
Would thoroughly recommend this restaurant based on the food and the great service.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank J4712WUpeterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
556beverlyp, Manager at Blue Boar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2019

Thank you for visiting Blue Boar Restaurant. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and that Luke took care of your needs. The restaurant and kitchen teams try hard to get it right for our guests and they will be encouraged with your kind review. We all look forward to seeing you again when next in the area.
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

Service from Scottish Holly was attentive, charming and all around excellent. The food and cocktails were also fabulous.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
556beverlyp, Manager at Blue Boar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2019

Dear Gordon

Thank you for visiting Blue Boar Bar. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your meal and cocktails with us and that Holly served you well. We look forward to seeing you again when next in the area.
kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

We had a small business dinner in the private area of this hotel. Service was impeccable. Room was VERY quiet (sometimes they are just curtained off from the main dining). Wonderful wine and food. White glove service.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
556beverlyp, Manager at Blue Boar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Dear D K
Thank you for visiting Blue Boar Restaurant and for leaving your review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your business dinner in our private dining room. The team try so hard to look after our guests and they will be encouraged that you found the service impeccable.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

If you grow tired of pub food, I highly recommend the Blue Boar.

They have a very interesting menu that should satisfy anyone’s palate.

The wait staff were attentive and very friendly.

We had an early reservation time, so it was before the busy time which was perfect.

I will certainly eat here again when in London.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank mayor1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
556beverlyp, Manager at Blue Boar Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2019

Thank you for visiting Blue Boar and I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your meal with us and that the team were attentive to your needs. We all look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to London.
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Boar Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Blue Boar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing