We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“like the best in Barcelona”
Review of Tinto - Wine Bar & Kitchen - CLOSED

Tinto - Wine Bar & Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Spanish, Bar, International, European, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: At Tinto, we believe that variety is the spice of life. All our dishes are starter size and designed with sharing in mind. All our ingredients are fresh and lovingly prepared. Remember, sharing is caring.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“like the best in Barcelona”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

lived 3.5 years in Barcelona, this place reminded me of the best tapas places I used to eat at. pan con tomate, croquetes, jamon pata negra, great deserts. the wine is too expensive though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMIR_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    39
    11
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average to Good but not the best as advertised here”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Went on a sun afternoon with high expectations after reading the reviews. Service was not the fastest (although we were few customers), and food was average (with the burgers very good, and the gambas in ajillo the best we've had). Portions are very small, so this makes it an expensive restaurant. I compared it to Barrafina in Soho, which beats Como3 by a mile in terms of athmosphere, service and food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vidrascu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Spanish tapas with French twist”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went to Como3 twice within a week. The first time after work on a Friday. This was a very nice experience. We had a great red wine – a carafe of merlot, extremely smooth and full bodied. The tapas were excellent, with a French twist on Spanish dishes, making them very light and enjoyable. This time we has a bill of just above £70 including tips. We felt this was really excellent value for this quality in a prime location. Very welcoming and friendly staff – and the owner visited our table at the end and explained how he sources and prepares the food. The second time we came here on a Saturday, just a week later. Again, we were very happy about the quality, the environment and the service. We had Jamon iberico, beetroots salad (really recommended), Squid, Pork Gyoza and severl other tapas and three desserts (chocolate croquettes and Tonka parfait), and espresso. This time is was £95 plus a voluntary tip – a rarity these days where usually a 12% surcharge is added without asking. Also, when checking the bill we realise that even small items such as water (large bottle £3.50), bread with olive oil (£1.50) or espresso (£2.00 each) are not abused to rip off guests with “small” items.
This is alongside with another famous Spanish restaurant in West London probably currently one of the best Spanish Tapas bars (even though – or because? the owner is French) in London. The bills are very, very reasonable and make this restaurant one of the best value for money in this quality range.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBNLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
774 reviews
499 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
“Nice Neighbourhood Cantina”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a lovely evening here. The mainly Spanish staff are adorable and the proprietor takes the time to come over and ask how you are enjoying it. The ambiance is casual and laid back, the tables (in the back) are very close together and the acoustics aren't great due to a lot of hard surfaces so it can be hard to focus on your own conversation rather than ones neighbours. There is also seating in the front of this compact little spot which may be quieter and more roomy and I would request this area next time as they also have windows onto Theberton Street, the windowless back area has little aesthetic appeal. Food is an interesting array of Spanish and Pan Asian style Tapas. Some dishes were very good, Japanese Gyoza dumplings and the Pan Boli for example, others such as paella balls we thought rather bland. I was expecting something more extraordinary given Como 3s rating on Tripadvisor, (Number 4 in London at the time of our visit) so was a little disappointed foodwise but perhaps expectations were just too high because of this. Ratings aside, it is still quite simply a lovely, well run neighbourhood eaterie with fabulous staff, reasonable prices, decent food and a friendly vibe, and there's not too much wrong with that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The food was really interesting. I loved the mixture of japanese and spanish. Both taking the best from each other. Good wine
Good deserts
Friendly staff

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thesambeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinto - Wine Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing