We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
28
28
17
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
28
28
17
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the lower ground floor location is great notting hill room key bed was comfortable basement tube luggage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 80 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2016

I really liked the location of these apartments - not in central London, but underground train stations are only a few minutes walk away, Kensington/Hyde Park are a very close walk and Oxford Street is within walking distance. Also, there is a Planet Organic supermarket/cafe basically around the corner for those interested.

The apartment itself was aesthetically pleasing, clean, and spacious. However,
these are 100% SELF-serviced. As in, there is no service at all. Staying here is basically equivalent to renting an apartment long-term, so it feels less like a holiday.

In advance, we emailed the apartment company to request that they order a taxi to take us to the airport the morning of our check-out (since our phones did not work internationally), and they refused and told us that they "did not offer that service". Instead they directed us to a dodgy online booking service, which we used, and the taxi did not come. Very luckily we were able to use one that happened to pass by when it dropped someone off nearby. But seriously - how hard can it be to do this one act of service? Other self-serviced apartments and Airbnbs we have stayed at had no problem calling a taxi for us, so I'm not sure why they refused?

Furthermore, we stayed on the basement level, which is through a door and down one flight of stairs (no lift), with no light switch to flick before you go down. Every time we went down to the apartment, we had to walk down the stairs and through the basement in complete darkness until we reached the switch, which was just dodgy. Honestly, if I were travelling by myself that would have completely freaked me out.

Further cons: under-equipped kitchen (no oven and no dishwasher) with minimal utensils. No paper towel or tea towel was provided, which was bizarre given that you needed to handwash the dishes. Also, there was a complete lack of sound-proofing - we could hear everything from the other apartments, and from the club across the road (it sounded like we were actually inside it at 2AM because all the noise came in), so we weren't able to sleep. Wifi was also quite weak and dropped in and out.

Given the complete lack of service and the other cons, I'm not sure how the price of these apartments can be justified, because I wouldn't call it cheap (even if they are in London). Wasn't an awful stay, but just not good value for money in my opinion.

Room tip: I imagine that Room 4 on Level 1 is easiest to access as there are no stairs to carry luggage up/down
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank kediler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Manager at Princes Square Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2016

Dear Kediler7

Thank you for your review. It is highly appreciated.

We are so glad you liked the location and cleanliness.

I would like to answer some points you expressed.
1) The apartments are, as you say, self serviced exactly as they are advertised across all booking portals. Guest are well aware before booking. The only servicing we offer are weekly cleans but we are always a phone call or email away and do try and accommodate as many requests as possible where possible.
2) Regrettably we do not offer a taxi service and we apologise that Addison Lee who are a very well known and prestigious taxi service did not arrive for you. This is the first time we have had them not do so, however, we feel their service should not reflect badly on us as we have no affiliation to them. We are so glad a taxi was nearby to take you to your destination.
3) With regards to the lower ground hall light, I regret this but I do need to disagree with you here. The light switch is on the wall just behind you as you face the stairwell and is in perfectly working order. We would never want someone walking down there without this. We are just next door and would have loved to come show you where if you were having any difficulties.
4) The apartment has a microwave and grill combination just as advertised. We do not advertise full ovens. This information is readily available on all booking portals.
5) There should have been a sponge and dish towel in the apartment under the sink.
6) There is no club opposite us. There is a small local pub and we will discuss their licencing with them personally as we've never had a complaint before.

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2016

We spent two nights in the Princes Square Apartments. The location is very good, a few minutes walk from Bayswater underground station. The neighbourhood is charming and quiet. The apartment itself was a little disappointing to us... We were accommodated in the basement -1, the room was quite dark, a small tv, and above all the bed was a hard and making a terrible noise everytime we were moving... However the room was very clean. It seems that all apartments are different, so maybe we just got one that was not the best according to us. It's in the end a decent place to stay, and good value for the money, especially in London !!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queenfisher79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2016

As a solo traveler I stayed at a small studio apartment on the ground floor. The apartment was small and rather dark but clean and with a comfy bed. The tv was a bit small - hard to see from the bed. The bathroom was roomy and nice. All in all good value for money. Next time I would book an apartment on a higher floor, though.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ertemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

It is a self catering apartment. If you stay a few days be prepared to buy towels and toilette paper.

The apartment is clean, spacious, and it is in a great location.

Wifi could be improved,

Main problem is that they don't store clients' luggage after check out. So you are going to miss hours of your stay, going to a train station left luggage facility. Where on weekends you will have to queue for an hour.

Date of stay: April 2016
Thank matteou771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron K, Manager at Princes Square Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Dear Matteoube

Thank you very much for your review. It is very helpful to future guests and to us for improvement.

We do say on all booking portals and our site that linen/towels are changed weekly. There is no need for guests to buy towels as they are also available on request if available. All guests are welcome to request this from us and our email address and phone number is available to guests.

Apologies that we were unable to store your luggage. We would have loved to and usually do offer this service, however, the luggage room and our office is under refurbishment for the months March through May. It is offered every week day other wise and will be back in June.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2016

Stayed one night, easy to find, easy to get key, we were on the 3rd floor which may prove difficult for some people as quite steep staircase and a couple of uneven steps (not mentioning after few drinks Ha),
Room clean and had everything you need.
Couple of points: Tv is placed in the wrong position to watch from bed (see picture) and no other seating available. we actually moved the bed around so options are available... . The radiators need to be bled as made gurgling noise when coming on. No mirrors present by any sockets in room for ladies to dry their hair ....soooo important !! (full lengh would be even better).
This did not stop us enjoying the apartment, very quiet, confortable and good location to visit the area.

Room tip: quieter rooms on higher floors.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MrAndMrsCatLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews