We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Hostel than hotel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park View Hotel

Park View Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park View Hotel
Ranked #450 of 828 Specialty Lodging in London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“More Hostel than hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Firstly, you have to check in at the hotel across the road. Not awful but not helpful either.
Our room was fairly modern looking, good size bathroom, with a hair dryer and a tv in the room. Bed was not uncomfortable but only one wafer thin pillow on each bed. The shower was ok, hot water seemed to run out quickly however.
Breakfast was only toast with ham/cheese or cereal. No option for anything else.

Friends staying in the hotel next door ( no 20)were not so lucky, their building smelt of mould, radiator was off the wall and the Window would not close. Not ideal.

Overall it was ok for a fairly cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BexCarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just stayed for one night at the Park View hotel, on arrival the receptionist was very rude and just told us to come back in an hour because our room was not ready this was at 2pm the actual check in-time!! When we returned an hour later the lady was then polite and showed us to our room just to see if we liked it. The rooms are okay, clean. One of the towels had a stain on it, the shower is a bit poor but useable. The worst part was the breakfast, they only offer toast or cornflakes! For £90 it is a bit ridiculous! Wouldn't recommend the hotel, unless you are just after a quick stop as it is in a good location by the tube station! However, the area around is quite rough and doesn't really offer any decent places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

As a hostel this would be fine, as a hotel it fails on almost every aspect. We paid £126 a night for a 'superior' room which turned out to be superior only to the extent that it was bigger than others. There were no tea/coffee making facilities - not even a kettle/cups - I don't need sachets, the room is spartan with three beds and a small wardrobe, the mattress was cheap with springs protruding, the breakfast is abysmal - cheap sliced bread and two cereals - Continental, not so much. The Park View is remote from the Central Park where you are required to check in, but there is no phone connection from one to the other so when there are problems - which there are - you have to go across the road. But worst of all they left us without any hot water for the entirety of our stay, despite repeated promises that it was 'fixed'. The staff are surly and unhelpful - there response to our repeated requests for hot water was that it wasn't their fault the boiler had broken (a common reponse I see from reviews elsewhere) - it seems like everything here is done on the cheap so they would not call out a proper gas maintenance firm to put it right. I have since spoken to the manager, but he too has failed to respond - clearly other staff take their lead from him. It really is a very very poor place and simply not a hotel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

£48.60 for a triple room via laterooms. The TV in room didn't work so we were re-located to the room below with no hassle. A basic hotel located very close to Finsbury park. On a budget a would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#639 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN London Highbury
BEST WESTERN London Highbury
#529 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembury Hotel
Pembury Hotel
#881 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge London Finsbury Park hotel
0.3 mi away
Finsbury Serviced Apartments
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Hotel

Property: Park View Hotel
Address: 20 & 22 Wilberforce Road, London N4 2SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #450 of 828 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Park View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing