We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun chocolate truffle making course”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of William Curley - CLOSED

William Curley
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Knightsbridge
kent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great fun chocolate truffle making course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband & I booked into the chocolate truffle making course,. On arrival we were offered a hot chocolate and then went downstairs to the kitchen. There was 6 of us the chef was informative fun and relaxed. We made plain 70% cocoa truffles and raspberry ones. We made the ganache, piped them out and then coated them in tempered chocolate and cocoa.We went away with 2 full boxes each. We were also explained how the chocolate is harvested to eating and we could taste each stage and all the different chocolates as well as 4 types of shop chocolates.There was no time limit we and we were not rushed, a fun couple of hours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank stolkien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    16
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“falls way short of expectations!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

this was pretty much the main reason i went to london as i have ate some of w/c chocolate bars and they are fantastic! have been waiting to visit for over a year and my expectations were high due to the quality of chocolate items but was so disappointed on every level. good as the chocolate is i would not recommend the desert bar voucher/items to anyone at all. i had paid desert bar for 2 but booked table for 4 so 2 fussy kids could please themselves with chocolate! awkward from start as not much drink selection for non tea/coffee drinkers(husband made do with tap water no ice-no bottled water available on easter w/e holiday?)then staff just assumed it was 4 for desert bar & we were brought 4 of 1st course so was one of those moments wondering do i just let this run and pay for 4 desert bar or will i say? so glad i did say as there is no way the kids would have ate any of the items after the 1st which was chocolate sorbet(it was nice!). the following items were definitely not to any of our tastes and thats putting it politely! boy can we eat and i love my deserts but even i could not force these down my throat- even the petit fours at the end. we tried all deserts as we are willing to give anything a go but the sponge from one desert was disgusting and the" pain per du" apples almost burnt. bought some chocolate cakes seperately to eat and again the chocolate items were lovely. my only issue was the service( making assumptions and VERY slow) and the desert bar menu. it is so not on the level of the chocolate items. spent the rest of the day apologising to my family for taking them over there when we could have been doing something better. have since come home and been to a cake shop in glasgow which changes to deserts and cocktails in the evenings and it beat this w/c experience hands down. we are not hard to please but this will go down as one of our worst experiences ever i'm afraid

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank deedeesomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

After reading great reviews, I decided to surprise my boyfriend with a dessert bar experience for two (bought through their website), but unfortunately it was quite a disappointing experience!

We arrived and handed over the voucher to the manager, only to wait half an hour before our drinks order was taken, our drinks were then given to another couple. When we finally got our drinks, the waiter told us our dessert bar would begin shortly. However, we were waiting another half an hour before a member of staff said "Oh, are you waiting for the dessert bar?". As we were sat at the bar itself with the dessert bar menu in front of us, and having already informed the staff that we were there for the dessert bar, we were quite surprised. Another couple who were sat opposite us also looked confused as they had been waiting around the same length of time to receive their dessert bar courses and also had to say something to the staff after we did. There seems to be a lack of communication between the staff. They were not at all rude, just a bit clueless. It wasn't too busy and a lot of the staff were standing around not really knowing what they were doing, there was no need for us to have to wait such a long time.

It was a real shame because when we finally had the food it was nice and the concept is great, especially for those with a sweet tooth. Perhaps we were just unlucky in our experience, but I think service really needs to improve. We would've been better off spending the money on the chocolates to take home!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank eo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely experience, relaxing atmosphere along with great chocolate, what more could you want!!!
Staff are friendly and professional.
I will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueYHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous, delicious delights!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was such a memorable experience!
Four course desserts and a glass of champagne! What a lovely treat.
A gift voucher was presented to us by our adult children as a gift. So on our wedding anniversary we took a trip to Belgravia to sample William Curley's fabulous desserts, set within the fabulous chocolate shop.

Just a 5 minute walk from Sloane Square tube station, set in residential Belgravia in a small local shopping area, an interesting place to stroll.

We took our seats on high stools at the Dessert Bar so we could take in the delights of seeing the desserts constructed and placed before us - (would recommend). A shear delight! It was interesting being able to talk to the chef as she worked. Top marks for creativity of menu, the four courses, were well designed, balanced and fabulously tasty! The chocolate is out of this world - its what you call 'real chocolate' - a little is all you need to satisfy!

We would recommend this a gift for anyone who would appreciates a unique Chocolate Chocolatier experience. At £20 per head plus £10 extra for champagne - it was simply delightful! The Dessert Bar menu is on their website. The staff are professional, friendly and helpful. The Desserts are made to William Curley's recipes, and are well balanced and taste combinations simply perfect!

As we were travelling to London, I phoned in advance to see if I needed to book a place. I was told that this is not necessary unless you are a party, so it was useful to phone, as I was given a time to avoid as a party was booked in on the date we visited. We arrived as they started the Dessert Bar at 1.00 pm on Saturday, which was perfect.

I feel sure we will be back when next visiting Sloane Square for a coffee and whatever delicious delights take our fancy!

So thank you William Curley for your innovation, creativity and fabulous menus. A lovely experience!
Enjoy!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank magenta4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed William Curley also viewed

 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing