We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good steak!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flat Iron Beak Street

Flat Iron Beak Street
Ranked #228 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Soho
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good steak!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Went here with a group just before Christmas and will go there again. It's a hip joint - there's a fun and light hearted vibe to the place albeit that some of the serving staff were a bit on the serious side of trying to be uber cool! The restaurant tries to be different in its presentation in a number of ways from the butcher's cleaver steak knives to the mini dishes for the sides etc. These succeed in adding character to the restaurant, not just as 'style over substance' gimmicks, primarily because the food is good - I don't think I've had as good a steak for the price in London for a long time. Desserts were fun but ultimately not worth bothering with. Give this place a try, unless you're too serious!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,063
    538
    146
    42
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty Steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Nice, tasty, well cooked steak. Great veg on the side. It's simple and it delivers... Cocktails were a little disappointing, but good local beer made up for this. Definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't disappoint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Decided to visit after seeing many positive blog posts about this restaurant and we weren't disappointed.

I'm all for eating in trendy places, but the 'no reservation' rule is always a bit off putting. We headed here expecting a lengthy wait on a Saturday late afternoon/early evening but didn't find this at all. We were told it would be 20 minutes for a table, to grab a drink somewhere and they'd call us when it was ready. They called after just 10 minutes and we ended up getting the table in its own cute little cubbyhole.

The food was really good, we ordered one of everything pretty much. We went for the flat iron steak (£10) as previous reviews have said its usually better than the specials and this was great. Side-wise we opted for chips (£2.50), roast aubergine (£3.50), market greens (green beans the day we went, £2.50), creamed spinach (£3), peppercorn sauce, horseradish cream and Fred's sauce (which you should definitely try, all £1 each). Had 2 craft beers (£4.40 each) and a coke (£3.30 glass bottle). We left very full of good food that didn't cost the earth.

The only thing I would change is that the steak does go cold quite quickly because it's already cut up on the stone (and it would be quite fun to hack your own steak apart with the mini cleaver.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lmisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Steak in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Everything was so nice in here from the good service to the yummy food. We were seated as soon as we arrived and almost instantly we have a bottle of water and our popcorn in front of us. Then the waitress explained us everything about the meat we were about to eat and the other different options ... which was a burger, same price. All of us went for the steak. It was simply delicious, so tasty and tender. I strongly recommend to eat it medium-rare. I'l deffinetely go back again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beasahez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great steak, cool atmosphere, knowledgable service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Steak or Steak is pretty much the menu here. Steak or their special - a Burger - as it was when I visitied. All the steaks are Flat Iron steak, recommended cooked Medium Rare.

Choose from sides of chips, greens, baked aubergine (absolutely delicious!) and various sauces.

Service is friendly and fast (but not too fast!)

Dessert - one on offer, was a Caramel Mousse served with salt crystals - served at the table from a pressure canister.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richardsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flat Iron Beak Street also viewed

 

Been to Flat Iron Beak Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing