We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Speedy steak lunch”

Flat Iron Beak Street
Ranked #226 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Soho
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Speedy steak lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went here for lunch and was able to sit straight down at a table - have heard of two hour waits for a table for dinner.
The waiter was very friendly and helpful talking through the steak choice and limited menu. We went for a standard flat iron steak and their special steak with a side of chips and creamed spinach to share.
The food was brought out quickly and although the steak looked small on the plate, it was a good size for lunch. I think if I'd come here for dinner I'd be a bit disappointed on the portion size.
The steaks were tender and very tasty. Dripping fried chips were a little too crispy for my liking, I like a bit of potato in my chips rather than just a crispy shell but that would be the only complaint about the food itself.
£31 for two steaks, two sides and two sauces seemed reasonable given the size of portions. Popcorn on arrival was a nice touch as was automatically being given a jug of tap water with the waiter asking us if we were happy with just water or whether we wanted anything else. It might sound silly but not having to ask for "just tap water please" was rather refreshing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amyo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,087
    550
    149
    43
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great concept. Friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We ate here on Saturday evening pre theatre. Unable to book but as a group of six , we were seated immediately. Waitress (Lauren?) - was very helpful and friendly. Choice of steak or ... steak. Served in slices with delicious chips and small tasty salad. Steak could have been slightly warmer. No after dinner coffee but can go downstairs for cocktails and doughnuts! Great ambience. Definitely go back. Great concept.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kp23London_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, lousy portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I went here for the first time with a couple of friends at the weekend. Firstly, the positives. The restaurant does have a nice ambience and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Also, the food did taste good. However, the portions were tiny. I had a steak with the grilled aubergine and tomato side. I felt so hungry that a friend and I agreed to share a bowl of chips. We were brought a very small bowl of chips that were nothing special. The menu is also limited, comprising of one type of steak and a few sides. We made our excuses when offered the dessert menu (there's only one dessert). So not a terrible experience because of the atmosphere and the delicious sauce for the steak, but definitely not value for money.

Helpful?
Thank malifact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie C, Owner at Flat Iron Beak Street, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Really glad that you thought that the food was tasty, the staff friendly and the ambience nice. That is exactly what we are about.

Very sorry to hear you were a bit too hungry for us. Unlike many old fashioned 'steakhouses' we dont offer huge steaks that leave big men groaning and coming out in meat sweats, nor do we charge the eye watering prices that typically accompany large steaks of high quality. The vast majority of our guests tell us that the 7oz steak we offer is just what they want. Some of our hungry fans are happy to order two steaks when they are really famished! We couldnt offer a bigger portion of this meat without raising the price, but also, we want this to be a treat that men and women can enjoy regularly rather than a huge, infrequent, masculine blow out. We dont believe that meat of this quality is available in central London anywhere else for anywhere near this price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing... sadly - I wanted to like this place too!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I had really high hopes for Flat Iron, particularly after reading so many positive reviews.

The ambience is great, the downstairs bar is buzzing, and nice selection of drinks, albeit a little on the pricey side. Had to wait about 30 mins for a table, but thats fine. Finally set down and was salivating at the thought of a steak, service however was friendly but really slow and inattentive.

The steak was ok, very tender but tasteless, even if only paying £10. Sides were small for the price and the chips were also a bit anaemic and the cost of sides certainly piles the pounds on the bill. Frustratingly good were the sauces, at £1.00 for a thimble... a thimble size pot of really good sauce is a bit cheeky in my view.

Quirky touch with mini meat cleavers instead of knives.

Would I go back? hmmm. probably not.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie C, Owner at Flat Iron Beak Street, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Sorry to hear that you had such a mixed experience at Flat Iron, we do try and get it right every time, but are very appreciative to our guests for flagging when things aren't exactly as they would like. I'm really pleased that you found the ambience great, the bar and drinks selection good and the service friendly. The warmth of our welcome and the hospitality and personality of our team is something I am very proud of.

I'm very sorry to hear that you were unlucky with the steak and chips, both of these have received huge amounts of effort and receive widespread praise, however maintaining consistency is always a challenge (all our potatoes are now a single variety, from a single farm to try and counter this for example) and something we will continue to work at. I would be happy to buy you a steak next time you are in the area to try and convince you yours must have been a one off. (charlieAT flatironsteak.co.uk)

Regards pricing, when compared to other restaurants putting the level of work and quality of ingredients that we do into our dishes, we strive to offer extremely good value. Guests are welcome to a range of condiments free of charge (Dijon mustard, mayonaise, Heinz ketchup) , or they may wish to order moderate sized portions of our house sauces for £1 each. We couldnt offer the quality we do for less, and we really dont want to cut corners. For example, rather than an inexpensive bought/jarred product, our horseradish sauce is grated to order from freshly peeled whole horseradish roots, something that is costly and labour intensive but that we feel is worth the extra effort.

I really hope that we might see you again and have the chance to convince you that your experience was unusual.

Thanks,

Charlie
Founder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

this is another resturant where you cannot book in advance! and i will warn you now that they wont put your name on the waiting list till all your party have arrived!
but dont let this put you off, waiting in the bar was half the fun, great music and atmosphere which helps you forget you are waitign for a table.
the food was great, not the largest portions i have ever seen but great quality.
i cant wait to go again

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BritishTourist88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flat Iron Beak Street also viewed

 

Been to Flat Iron Beak Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing