We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cigar bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wellesley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wellesley
Ranked #290 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cigar bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I would like to have spent more time here. This is a place with beautiful interior. Did not stay just found the cigar bar while walking by. A great spot for a smoke with an amazing collection of cigars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kaivon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoLodi, General Manager at The Wellesley, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience in our Cigar Lounge. I am happy to read that you found it pleasant and we will be happy to welcom you back also trying our hotel facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    37
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
45
127
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked this as last minute afternoon tea. Service was amazing from the moment the door was opened for me. All the staff were friendly and very courteous. Went to the bar for a drink first. Great menu and bar snacks. Terrace was packed but there are 2 sides. The lounge we had the tea in was amazingly restored. Obviously a lot of money gone into make a superb finish. Piano and violin played throughout out lunch which added to the ambience. Tea itself was great. Lovely sandwiches and mini rolls. So many cakes we took them home in a doggy bag! The scones were kept warm and even had a choc chip option! Highly recommend this new venue. Well done

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank extremehardtoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoLodi, General Manager at The Wellesley, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. It is excellent that you enjoyed “The Wellesley Afternoon Tea” and I have shared your comment with the rest of the team. We are really happy that you appreciated the quality of our food and we hope this will be only the first or many returns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I had a full tour of the hotel followed by Afternoon Tea and it was absolutely amazing.
The hotel features 36 luxuriously appointed rooms/suites and has approximately 100 staff!
The rooms are tastefully decorated, you can tell that a lot of money has been invested. The Suites are smaller than average but they are very cosy and have a gorgeous view. Butler service is available for all room types which is a plus.
The staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable, all of them have been trained in the most prestigious hotels: The Lanesborough, Claridges and The Connaught.
Afternoon Tea is served in the Jazz Room which is lovely, the pianist was fantastic and the food terrific.The quality of the sandwiches and pastries was outstanding.
So many teas to choose from, I liked the presentation made by the tea connaisseur Leonardo Mattera, it was both informative and interesting, makes you want to try everything!
Stongly recommend this hotel, you will only be amazed by the quality of its service and product.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sabrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaStarkie, Director of Sales at The Wellesley, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Sabrina B,

Thank you very much for your review of The Wellesley following your recent visit to the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and that you wanted to share this with fellow Trip Advisor travellers. We have passed your compliments back to the Pastry Chef and his team and also to Leonardo, our Restaurant Manager and Resident Tea Connoisseur.

We do hope to see you back at the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We go here 3 to 4 nights a week either before going out to eat or after. Often we eat here. Its the cigar bar on the left (there are two) that we like. Staff have been stolen from the Lainsborough next door and they are great. The food is just terrific, really fresh. The cigars are also perfectly kept and are of top quality. The guys look after your car and the whole time is relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WilcoBraintree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaStarkie, Director of Sales at The Wellesley, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear WilcoBraintree,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Cigar Terraces and the food that we offer at The Wellesley. We are absolutely delighted that you have made these Terraces your 'second home' in the evenings and look forward to welcoming you back time and time again.

Kind Regards

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very new hotel. Difficult to imagine but most of London cabbies didn't know where it was!! The hotel is located in a refurbished classic building just moments from main attractions of Knighstbridge. The interior is an expensive art deco style, the owners spent a lot of money for sure. The stuff is friendly and mostly helpful. Sometimes even too much. We had a breakfast in a breakfast room and we were alone there (!!) 3 waiters made circles around and it was a bit not relaxing. The main negative impression was our room when we came in. It was like a doggy bag - so small ! It happens in London but not for this price. We were so upset and talked to the reception and they finally offered us a suite. The suite was of a good size - not huge but very comfortable, but it had a window only in the bed area and this window faced a wall !! So if you go try to avoid a "normal" room, maybe if you are alone only. But the regular price for a suite is very high and you still have a wall in fornt of your window.
Service is generally on a good level, concierge job was good and they offer you a complimentary Rolls Royce service, you can go around for app. 5 miles, but better to book it in advance, a lot of people wants to try of course.
The main problem is a hotel web site which doesn't show the real size of the rooms.

Room Tip: only suits are of a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank andy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaStarkie, Director of Sales at The Wellesley, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear andre d,

Many thanks for your review of The Wellesley, we are very happy that you were impressed with the service at the hotel and appreciated the little touches that we offer like the courtesy Rolls Royce drop off service within a 1.5 mile radius of the hotel - we hope that offerings like this and our 24 hour butler service, complimentary wifi among many other amenities set us apart in a very competitive luxury market in London. We appreciate that our rooms are not the largest in London, however, once again we believe that the stunning finish of the product and all of the added values that we offer more than make up for this. We apologise that the website was confusing at the time that you made the booking, this was when we only had images for one room, prior to opening.Our website is now accurate and you can see images and rooms sizes when you visit the site.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Wellesley on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I love The Wellesley. Its two cocktail terraces (which are covered, secluded, beautifully furnished and always well heated) together provide one of the few places where you can enjoy a cigar with a drink in London. The decor of this newly refurbished hotel is absolutely gorgeous and hugely tasteful; it is clear that not a penny has been spared. The humidor is stocked with real rarities that will appeal to any cigar aficionado, and the collection of malt whiskeys is similarly outstanding. The staff present themselves immaculately and the service is sublime. But, be warned, you will pay for it. A glass of Pinot Grigio and two beers came in at a shade over £35 - and, I was gently warned that normally the minimum charge to sit on one of the terraces is £25 per person!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank m2cnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaStarkie, Director of Sales at The Wellesley, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear m2cnh,

Many thanks for your review of our cocktail & cigar terraces. We are so happy that you had a great experience and that you were impressed with the cigar and whisky selection - we agree that it is second to none for any cigar aficionado or whisky connoisseur! We are also delighted that you felt that the service was sublime - this is what we are all about at The Wellesley and what we strive to offer to every guest every day. To your point about the charge on the terrace, a minimum charge of £25 applies from 16h00 as the terraces become very busy at that time of the day. We do hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed for one night mid week. We had booked a Luxury King room. When we arrived the receptionist told us the Luxury King was in fact their standard room and that we might find it a bit small and want to upgrade to a suite. However, when we checked it out the room was lovely and a good size (Room 204)! (The receptionist said they had several of this standard of room and some were smaller than others). The decor in the whole hotel was stunning - very art deco. Being a new hotel it had all mod cons and I particularly liked the console where you could adjust the lighting etc from the bed. The black and white bathroom was stunning.

We didn't dine there or use the bar or lounge but did have breakfast which was delicious (scrambled egg with smoked salmon and chives).

The service was excellent. We ordered a morning paper which failed to arrive but they soon sorted it and apologised profusely!

One thing worthy of note - When we checked in they deducted £300 from our credit card for sundries which they told us would be refunded to our card 'within a few days'. This wasn't a problem to us but I can imagine it being a problem to some people if they haven't £300 spare capacity on their card at that time.

The hotel is new and even taxi drivers got lost trying to find it. One recommended we say in future 'Its next to the Lanesborough' to avoid confusion. However, it's such a lovely hotel I can't believe it will be long before everyone has heard of the Wellesley.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank monicadrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaStarkie, Director of Sales at The Wellesley, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear monicadrew,

Thank you for your review of The Wellesley and we are very happy that you enjoyed your first stay with us. We are very proud of our rooms and the 'mod cons' that you mention and like to think that the whole hotel has been very well thought through and that you have everything that you could possibly need in terms of style, comfort and technology.

We acknowledge your comment about the pre authorisation of your credit card and just want to clarify at this stage that the money is not deducted from a guest's card prior to check out, it is simply that we pre authorise a given amount. This is either charged to the guest's card when they check out or the funds are released back (as opposed to refunded) should the amount not have been spent during a stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Wellesley.

Kind Regards
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#23 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Belgravia
The Berkeley
The Berkeley
#76 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Belgravia
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
#242 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Knightsbridge
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellesley

Property: The Wellesley
Address: 11 Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in London
#67 Romantic Hotel in London
#112 Family Hotel in London
#115 Business Hotel in London
#213 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wellesley 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London's finest boutique-grand hotel, The Wellesley offer contemporary luxury, Art Deco glamour and uncompromising service in London's Knightsbridge. Each of the 36 suites and bedrooms is individually finished with sumptuous décor and amenities. The jewel in the crown is The Wellesley Penthouse, overlooking Hyde Park, which occupies the entire sixth and seventh floors. The Jazz Lounge echoes to the spirit of Cleo Laine, Amy Winehouse, George Melly, Mica Paris - legends who have graced this building in its past years. The Crystal Bar and Oval Restaurant celebrate the 1920s glamour and style. The elegance of the décor, the sounds and the ambience may recall another era. The warmth of the service, however, is beyond compare. It is based only on our own aspiration - which is to exceed your every experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Wellesley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellesley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing