We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Lunch”

The Clarence in Mayfair
Ranked #1,388 of 25,273 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: Located in the bustle of Piccadilly, a short walk from Green Park tube, The Clarence in Mayfair offers a welcoming retreat in the heart of London with its fine hospitality, great ale selection and hearty food and drink menu.Providing British pub classics served with a modern twist, enjoy a relaxed, quality dining experience in the comfort of the upstairs dining room, and don't forget to ask our helpful staff for beer and wine recommendations with your menu choices.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

We dropped into the Clarence on an incredibly busy Saturday lunchtime. The pub was a haven of peace and tranquility, especially the lovely upstairs dining room. Offering typical Nicholson pub fare, the fish and chips were as good as ever. The drinks were good too. The staff were welcoming and attentive throughout. Great value too with the 20% discount for AA members. Well worth a visit.

1  Thank John_SBiggleswade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Clarence in Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day! Hi John_sbiggleswade, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!
The Clarence Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 268 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2018

Have popped in here for a beer on quite a few occasions over recent years and the level of service is consistently good. Had an early dinner the other week and the food was good and reasonably priced, really good value for money when you consider it's Mayfair and just across the road from the Ritz! 6 of us sat down with burgers and sandwiches. All were well presented and tasty. Everyone was satisfied with what they had. Beers are always good, well kept and service is spot on, hard to fault. I will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank diddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Clarence in Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Diddz, we're happy to hear you had such a positive experience with our team! We want everyone to remember our pub for it's great atmosphere, tasty food and friendly staff. I am pleased that you experienced that here. I hope you come back again soon so we can continue to impress you. Once again, thank you for your amazing review!
The Clarence Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

We had a lovely dinner here with friends. The dining room is lovely and light and the service was warm and friendly. There's a really relaxed vibe and varied menus for both food and drink. We only had eyes for the pie menu and all the food we had was delicious. A great pub grub option in the heart of the west end.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank pddownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Clarence in Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Thank you so much for this great review, we really appreciate the feedback you have given. You're right to have your eye on the pie! They are delicious and we are glad you thought so too. Hope you visit again soon,
The Clarence Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

Great place to take friends. Service is brilliant and the food excellent too. Been 8 times in the last 2 months. Only complaint would be the soup of the day is always the same Butternut squash! Would love the chef to create something else.

1  Thank VickiB1634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Clarence in Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Hello Victoria, thank you for your great review! we are pleased that you visit us so regularly and enjoy it each time. The soup is in rotation with the weather, we currently have a tomato soup on that is delicious, come in and try it!
The Clarence Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

Came here for some food and drinks at the weekend with friends, was welcomed by a lovely bunch of staff. Downstairs area has a great atmosphere, and upstairs is more quiet. We chose to sit upstairs and had a lovely waiter attending to us. Gin selection was amazing, although some pink gin would have been nice. Had fish cakes and they were really nice aswell.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Georgia9628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Clarence in Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Thanks Georgia for your great review! we appreciate your feedback! See you soon.
The Clarence Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clarence in Mayfair also viewed

 

Been to The Clarence in Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing