We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really loved this place!”
Review of dal Romano - CLOSED

dal Romano
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really loved this place!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

You will not regret trying this place. The food was amazing and fantastic value for money! I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natasadevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    7
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“HOLLYWOOD COMES TO CLAPHAM SOUTH”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I couldn't believe who was sitting in front of me.....AL PACINO in one of my favourite and authentic Roman /Italian restaurants south of the river.... DAL ROMANO.
Great athmosphere food to die for worthy of a Michelin Star !
But who cares about those stars when you have AL PACINO coming for dinner !
I can't praise enough charming Carlo,the owner/manager, his Chef and their staff.
Well done " ragazzi " carry on the good work !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davide64_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Pasta I have ever had”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

One of the most exciting experiences of dining at del romano (aside from the Pasta) is witnessing the inspiring passion of the owner. A chap who has decades of Italian resturant experiance all over Asia. you can be assured he will look after you. We certainly felt that way. the atmos is a cosy and delightful. The food is typically Roman, and can be rich, particularly the Carbonara (my fav) but you are warned to expect something different, and so you should, this is the real deal Roman dining at its best. We have been there twice now with our kids (both under 3) who were made very welcome and as a couple. The wine list is exceptional and will meet the most astute wine aficionado. The menu caters for all and most importantly at the right price. We would reccomend making the trip from wherever you are in London if you want authentic Roman italian food. Fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigBird1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosen
1 review
“Bernie R - Rome comes to S.W. London”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is an outstanding new Italian restaurant which gets busier each time I eat there. The menu is authentic Roman, some of the ingredients (e.g. courgette flowers) being flown in from Italy. Despite this, however, it's very reasonably priced; a 2-course meal for two costs £60-65 including service. The food is mouth watering for all courses with imaginative but unpretentious presentation, wines are excellent and service is impeccable. Extremely nice atmosphere with good jazz at a level that permits conversation. It has a private dining room for 25-30 which I've just booked for a family celebration! I predict that over the next year dal Romano will become a London restaurant hot spot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Italian south of the river (and better than Chez Bruce)”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

It was a sad day when The Bombay Bicycle club closed down, but the consultation is this fab little jewel, quite wonderful food and wine, great atmosphere and when we went there was a table of seriously Italian 'Mafiosi' clients evidently from Chelsea who had got their passports out to journey to a Nightingale Lane to eat here. The food is as good as Da Ivo in Venice or Due Ladroni in Rome both of which are favourites.

Go there just don't tell anyone else otherwise we will all have to book weeks in advance !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed dal Romano also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing