We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bernie R - Rome comes to S.W. London”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of dal Romano - CLOSED

dal Romano
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Rosen
1 review
“Bernie R - Rome comes to S.W. London”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is an outstanding new Italian restaurant which gets busier each time I eat there. The menu is authentic Roman, some of the ingredients (e.g. courgette flowers) being flown in from Italy. Despite this, however, it's very reasonably priced; a 2-course meal for two costs £60-65 including service. The food is mouth watering for all courses with imaginative but unpretentious presentation, wines are excellent and service is impeccable. Extremely nice atmosphere with good jazz at a level that permits conversation. It has a private dining room for 25-30 which I've just booked for a family celebration! I predict that over the next year dal Romano will become a London restaurant hot spot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    7
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Italian south of the river (and better than Chez Bruce)”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

It was a sad day when The Bombay Bicycle club closed down, but the consultation is this fab little jewel, quite wonderful food and wine, great atmosphere and when we went there was a table of seriously Italian 'Mafiosi' clients evidently from Chelsea who had got their passports out to journey to a Nightingale Lane to eat here. The food is as good as Da Ivo in Venice or Due Ladroni in Rome both of which are favourites.

Go there just don't tell anyone else otherwise we will all have to book weeks in advance !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“Like being back in Italy”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I don't normally eat at Italian restaurants in England. After living in Italy for many years I have found so many Italian restaurants here to be a cliche' of an Italian restaurant. This place was no cliche'. Everything from the menu, the service, the atmosphere was like being in a local trattoria.
We were able to relax over our food and enjoy the meal at our leisure. The owner came over often and if asked was more than happy to talk about the menu, the ingredients, everything. A great local find and I shall certainly be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missdiva06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Carbonara outside Rome”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I went with members of my family and had the best carbonara since I discovered the dish at Al Moro by the Trevi Fountain over 40 years ago. Just how the Romans like it, and with the saltimbocca main course, raspberry sorbet with prosecco, and a couple of glasses of Montepulciano, I think this is the best find in Battersea since Positano closed. Clearly the local Italian residents have found it as there were plenty eating with us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardT870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Restaurant in SW12”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten in many Italian restaurants and pizzerias in the City over the years and they are generally pretty good as long as they are managed by Italians, in fact some of them are better than in Italy.
RISTORANTE DAL ROMANO in SW12 belongs to that category. Here you have everything,wonderful food, great wine list, super atmosphere and excellent service performed by knowledgeable Italian staff. Carlo the manager/owner greets you with stylish and sofisticated charm without being over the top as often you find in Italian restaurants in some part of London. The menu and the food is to die for and so is the wine list with a non expensive wine such as Verdicchio Castelli di Iesi but also the the expensive Tignanello.
As an Italian leaving in the area I will definately be their regular customer.

Helpful?
1 Thank Davide64_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed dal Romano also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing