We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Carbonara outside Rome”
Review of dal Romano - CLOSED

dal Romano
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Carbonara outside Rome”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I went with members of my family and had the best carbonara since I discovered the dish at Al Moro by the Trevi Fountain over 40 years ago. Just how the Romans like it, and with the saltimbocca main course, raspberry sorbet with prosecco, and a couple of glasses of Montepulciano, I think this is the best find in Battersea since Positano closed. Clearly the local Italian residents have found it as there were plenty eating with us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardT870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    7
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Restaurant in SW12”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten in many Italian restaurants and pizzerias in the City over the years and they are generally pretty good as long as they are managed by Italians, in fact some of them are better than in Italy.
RISTORANTE DAL ROMANO in SW12 belongs to that category. Here you have everything,wonderful food, great wine list, super atmosphere and excellent service performed by knowledgeable Italian staff. Carlo the manager/owner greets you with stylish and sofisticated charm without being over the top as often you find in Italian restaurants in some part of London. The menu and the food is to die for and so is the wine list with a non expensive wine such as Verdicchio Castelli di Iesi but also the the expensive Tignanello.
As an Italian leaving in the area I will definately be their regular customer.

Helpful?
1 Thank Davide64_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
“Look no further...Best Carbonara ever is at Dal Romano!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Wow! Delicious! My waiter recommended the Carbonara and he was right....it was amazing. The combination of the crispy meat inside this homemade creamy carbonara....mouth watering!! They make the pasta homemade too!

Beautiful restaurant-great for couples, friends and family. The staff is excellent, you wont be disappointed. Fantastic wine selection as well.

Appetizers are really good too. Lots of great choices that are truly Italian cuisine. Coming back next time to try they desserts :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great new local restaurant”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

1st time last night to our newly opened italian restaurant..what a lovely surprise:) great ambience, attentive staff..and now the food...courgette stuffed flowers...divine:) pork loin with apples very juicy. My son had the spaghetti carbonara ..he enjoyed it very much. A good chianti washed it all down. Total cost for 3 of us with service less than £100. Definitely the food, atmosphere and service is above the normal local italian. I will be going back

Helpful?
Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosenza, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best carbonara of ever!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

That night I chose to start a "Roman focacetta" ... gentlemen, I don't know how simple ingredients can create such a marvellous taste! And then The carbonara!
The best carbonara of my life! The best quality ingredients, excellent preparation and presentation!
Service so professional and wonderful food.. Definitely a place to go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 562traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed dal Romano also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing