We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient and professional Pizzeria.”
Review of Brickoven Milano - CLOSED

Brickoven Milano
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Chiswick
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Efficient and professional Pizzeria.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We all have our likes and dislikes when it comes to restaurants and although it should be a cocktail of ingredients; atmosphere, decor,value etc, it all comes down to the food at the end of the day.

It was good, well cooked, well presented and light . A little too much garlic in the aioli , but that aside, a good meal served by real Italians !

I will come back with la Famiglia.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank stefano1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“che buona”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

having lived in Italy for 5 years I didn't have high hopes of finding good pizza here however it was excellent - light crispy base, simple but tasty topping - I would say it is the best pizza I've had in London. As to these poor reviews about taking pizza away in foil - really, what does one think, wrapped in foil it will be just as good as out of the oven. In fact, I took half of mine home, heated it up for lunch and it wasn't soggy but still good. Also don't complain about kids & such like - it states it is a child friendly (and wouldn't be much of an Italian pizzeria if it wasn't), go away and eat somewhere else. I was disappointed that more Chiswick people haven't yet discovered this place and support it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kayejust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pizza and child friendly”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Not only is the pizza great and served on an oval wooden platter, but they have a kiddies room and bring a small ipad to your table to keep an eye on them whilst you enjoy your meal.
We have told our friends and they have also visited and enjoyed it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Food good but let down by service”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had quite a big table of 10. The service initially was irritatingly incompetent - slow, disorganised, forgetful, food came at different times, advised that certain of the wines were not available only for that to be corrected by the manager later (ummh - fortunately no price difference!)....difficulty using waiters friend corkscrew...and so on.

The restaurant was not busy so it was all a bit disappointing. I declined to pay for the service and this was accepted without protest.

However, the pizzas were excellent but the pasta could have been hotter. Basic issues that can be fixed easily but they need to get a grip of the front of house.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JustBinHadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful experience”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Is it a day care centre? Is it a bistro? Is it meant for families with little children? Is it also trying to be a fancy restaurant? Make up your mind! The room where we had dinner was like a reception. Children came into the room half supervised. The noise from the children and the adults playing with them in another area was very distracting, not helped by some tacky Italian songs and noise from the bar. The whole place just echoed with noise. lt was an awful experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco632, Owner at Brickoven Milano, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank your for your review and I am sorry to read you didn't have a positive experience at Brickoven Milano. We are a family friendly restaurant with a kids play area open until 7pm - in the evening there are seldom children. Our food is simple but of good quality, we serve Pizza and non pizza options; we source the best Italian produce and we also care for clients with food intolerances. Whilst we make our utmost to offer a good service we can't always be responsible for other guests and their children staying at our restaurant. Being half term the restaurant has been a bit quieter however we have not had other complaints regarding noise. Maybe it was our mistake to accommodate adults only tables close to those with children. Brickoven Milano is an authentic Italian restaurant and we play original Italian music and I must say that both Italian and non Italian clients appreciate that very much, it is obviously a matter of different tastes. We are pleased to have received many positive comments so far even if we have been open since last November and we are willing to improve every day. I do hope you will give us an other opportunity to make your experience with us a positive one, please feel free to contact me directly if you prefer on 020 8994 5834! With kind regards, Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brickoven Milano also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing