We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend in London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tribal Hostel London
Ranked #459 of 929 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Watching West Hame at home was the title of my travel. Hostel was in a great near to the stadium. Stuff was very friendly. I arrived after 0:00 BST and they let my key in a box so I was able to check in. Great people in the hostel and conversations. The bed was not very comfortable but good enough to stay in for 2 nights.
5 mins from underground station (upton park) and just a minute away from taxi station to go anywhere you want. Just a few quid to Stratford Station. If you visit London for sightseeing then it might be better to get a hostel next to piccadilly or somewhere else more central but for everyone else its a great place to stay for a while. I will book it again for a visit at Upton Park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fxchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 206 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

excellent service, and best staff's hostel that i never find , esepecially Stefano very kind and congenial perfect clean , very nice room ,great bathroom with shower and confortable lunge room,and there are also a washroom whit dryer and iron,good location not far away from London and easily to arrive it s near the stop underground and near many service and shop in quiet zone , best price to quality that you can find in london's hostel,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank exsecratacura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I arrived late and was lucky to catch some of the pub staff from below who were able to let me in. Had I been 10 minutes later-and it was only just after 11-I don't think I could have got in. So yeah arrive earlier would be my advice. Leaving was also a mess as I had to leave about 6:30 AM. No staff were there/ awake so I didn't get my 10 pound deposit back. Those problems aside, it was about what you'd expect for the price. Beds were OK, bit loud outside with constant sirens. Seemed clean enough. Only a few bathrooms but they were nice, clean and modern. As I was only there a few hours I didn't bother with the common room. It is a bit far away from the city centre and isn't the lovliest part of London, though there is a tube station near-by, though not really as nearby as they claim.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stefan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hostel is in a good location, with a multicultural neighbourood, lots of places to eat, and it is really close to a supermarket (Tesco). It is around 5 minutes walking from the tube (upton park), with no security problems. Right in front of the hostel you can take a bus, that in the morning is quite regular. You can sleep at the lowest price in that area. Place is clean, and bathrooms are well preserved. I recommend!

Room Tip: If you go on late check in, confirm by phone on the day you will arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Antonio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great price. Location is a bit out of the way. Staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately it was the worst bed I have ever slept on - I had to put a coat down to stop the mattress springs giving me bruises. Kitchen facilities and shower facilities and common room not adequate for the amount of people staying there. Does offer laundry facilities but breakfast is for a fee. Wifi coverage was great. Fantastic location if you're in town for a West Ham game.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hostel would be ok for 1 night but my sister and i stayed there for 4 nights and did not really enjoy it. There was 2 hotplates and that was considered a 'kitchen' it was always busy so we had to eat out every night at fried chicken places which were absolutely disgusting. The bathrooms were dirty and was very hard for us to find. We didnt know that id was placed above a pub because it did not state it on the website so we spent an hour looking for it with heavy suitcases and when we found it there was a tiny sign. The rooms were ok though and we met some really nice people! One last thing, it is in a really dodgy area of london.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hostel is average standard for student or whoever looking for cheap price. It is a shame about the disinterested, complacent attitude of the sick manager. The place could be a better but it feels really unloved and badly run by manager. He has no basic skills about, how to talk to people. Never againnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
11.9 mi away
London Backpackers
London Backpackers
#202 of 929 in London
143 reviews
10.5 mi away
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
#310 of 929 in London
168 reviews
10.5 mi away
Safestay
Safestay
#20 of 929 in London
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#51 of 929 in London
589 reviews
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Brent Cross
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribal Hostel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribal Hostel London

Address: 1 Barking Road, London E6 1PW, England (Formerly Globe Trott Inns)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #459 of 929 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $12 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A budget backpackers suitable for the laid back non fussy traveller. We pride ourselves on being London's best valued hostel. We are perfect for solo travellers, happy couples and small groups ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tribal Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribal Hostel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing