We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but pricey”
Review of Mash Steak House

Mash Steak House
Ranked #442 of 22,511 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: WELCOME TO MASH LONDON MASH is located in the lower ground floors of the former Regent Palace Hotel which dates back to 1915, it was the largest hotel in Europe at that time.Upon arrival you will be greeted by a very MODERN AMERICAN STEAK HOUSE design of restaurant, bringing the venue into modern day times.Glide down the magnificent suspended staircase which is draped in luxurious red carpet, where our reception team will greet you and effortlessly guide you through the art deco venue. We welcome you to the MASH adventure. Our Private Dining Room Accommodates a maximum of 18 people , Our Semi Private Dining room Accommodates a maximum of 24 people Total restaurant seating area: 350 Total restaurant area: 450 for a standing reception For inquiries, Please contact our reservations and events department for further information between 9 am and 6 pm - Mon-Saturday.
Halifax, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We loved the atmosphere of the place which was below street level in a converted theatre. The steaks were excellent but with these prices it is cheeky to charge £4.50 each for veg with steaks around £35 plus. Wines at £40 plus a bottle were also overpriced. We were not extravagant but the bill was £500 for six people. I am glad we went for the experience. However I think Gauchos has the edge on steaks for similar prices.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MARTIN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mash L, Guest Relations Manager at Mash Steak House, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at MASH. We do have an Imbibe award winning wine list and very good wine under £40. Please do come back soon and try one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    348
    140
    59
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
162 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Steaks and Beer - very expensive”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Celebrated my birthday there with seveal friends during a business trip. We booked for a monday, restaturant was half empty. we ordered local beer, it was really good.
Steaks variery is big but very expensive, as i am a lover of Sirlion i was in shock from the price, 200gr 4+ grade GBP50, 200gr 7+ grade 75GBP - this is very expensive.
Went for someother steak, it was really good.
Side dishes are also very good, we went for chille chips which was great.
I would come again, but miss a good sirlion for a decent price

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zabook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mash L, Guest Relations Manager at Mash Steak House, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We really appreciate your review. Our sirloin is spectacular. Please come back and try it. We think it is worth the price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yet another steakhouse? Def not!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

A friday evening in london, 1 teen, 1 baby, big buggy, buisnessman and weary housewife.... Its always tricky to please everyone. Money is never much of a problem, when we look we choose because of 4 things.... Space ( buggy) wine list, meet and greet and ... Well, mash ( fussy teen!) so on the way to gaucho we saw this.
Generally we find people shy away from buggys, i suppose the mass think we are water drinking bores with screaming third arms! Hardly what a restaurant wants for a friday night. But the receptionist and doorman were happy to see us, eager to please and not at all fazed. After taking the lift down to the emmense dark and stylish restaurant we were shown to a comfortable table where we were greeted by a keen knowledgable waiter.... He explained the steaks as if he was describing his dearest pet! With detail, precision and fondness.
We all took starters, i have to say the oysters were not the best, slightly on the "thin" fine de claires side, but fresh, and my daughters... Lemon sole starter arrived as plain as she wanted it... but yet tender and fileted...( after all, all she wanted was mash!")
The wine list is excellent, something for everyone... Sauvingnon blanc for my better half, and my personal favorite, chateau de pez, .
We all took filet steaks from uraguay, they arrived with an assortment of side dishes chosen seperately from the unusual choices ( other than the obvious MASH ) delivered by professional runners, in perfect time, without a glance at me swigging my pez whilst breastfeeding my baby.
The steak was as tender as it gets, sides, crunchy when they should and soft when it must.
After we were done, 200g is enough, the only dessert taken was the greedy teen ( who incidently has tried every mash in every resto in london and this i quote was the best) who prob was a little upset by the american pancakes. They were designed for an umpalumpa, so def not enough. But for us adults, it was a cute gastro twist on a fatty dessert.
Expressos fine, toilets clean..... Bill £320. It was merited, i have paid £600 in hakisaan and it was pure robbery for the quality compared to this.
So all in all very impressed! I shall be returning.... Congrats for bringing the steakhouse up a notch with a taste of elegance.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clareStLaurentDuVar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mash L, Guest Relations Manager at Mash Steak House, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for finding the time to write your review. It makes everyone at MASH so happy to read reviews like this. I'm so pleased your teenage daughter thinks our mash is the best in London! We will work on those oysters for you and look forward to welcoming you your husband your daughter and your baby again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Amazing restaurant. Finally a place in London where you dont feel other diners on top of your table. Nice ambience and staff. Thanks to Claire our evening from good went to perfect. Definitely a place to visit and come back with a bunch of friends since they have nice and big tables for groups.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mash L, Guest Relations Manager at Mash Steak House, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. We are ideal for groups. Our largest table can seat up to 26.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Underwhelming, overpriced, relatively inferior steak restaurant.”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

MASH was a very disappointing experience and overall is a weak addition to the London steak restaurant scene in my view (and that of my fellow diners). Positives: good first impressions when entering and being seated at table, decent atmosphere and a glitzy decor which worked well. Dining room is vast, but this did not detract from the ambience. Negatives: completely overpriced in view of the quality of cooking and service (e.g., our GBP100 Porterhouse was cold within minutes of arriving, my friend's Danish ribeye was not cooked to order and the sides were really poor, very few wines below GBP50 and poor customer service in response to our complaints). Overall: style over substance and an exercise in extracting cash from diners. Go to Goodman for the best steak in London (or Hawksmoor).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Too_Good_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mash L, Guest Relations Manager at Mash Steak House, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
I have read your review with great disappointment. We have outstanding reviews about the quality of steak, our cooking, our award winning wine selection which includes many amazing wine by the glass and guests always comment about the extremely high levels of service. We are always happy to replace steak which has not been cooked to order or was not hot enough. Did you ask to speak to a manager? We like to ensure all our guests are happy with their dining experience. I do hope you come back and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mash Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Mash Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing