We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice steak, great ambience and outstanding service”
Review of Mash Steak House

Mash Steak House
Ranked #442 of 22,511 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: WELCOME TO MASH LONDON MASH is located in the lower ground floors of the former Regent Palace Hotel which dates back to 1915, it was the largest hotel in Europe at that time.Upon arrival you will be greeted by a very MODERN AMERICAN STEAK HOUSE design of restaurant, bringing the venue into modern day times.Glide down the magnificent suspended staircase which is draped in luxurious red carpet, where our reception team will greet you and effortlessly guide you through the art deco venue. We welcome you to the MASH adventure. Our Private Dining Room Accommodates a maximum of 18 people , Our Semi Private Dining room Accommodates a maximum of 24 people Total restaurant seating area: 350 Total restaurant area: 450 for a standing reception For inquiries, Please contact our reservations and events department for further information between 9 am and 6 pm - Mon-Saturday.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice steak, great ambience and outstanding service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great ambience, amazing food (try the Danish Sirloin), and outstanding service. The waitress Cristy definitely deserves to be mentioned as thanks to her commitment to provide the clients a great experience we had a fantastic time and chose correctly the meat each of us wanted. She had the patience to give examples of which meat was equivalent to which ones in other countries (very helpful) and gave suggestions without interfering but helping us properly. If you like steak, you have to go to MASH.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManuRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mash L, Guest Relations Manager at Mash Steak House, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for finding the time to write your review Lucy. Thank you too for naming your waiter Henry for providing such attentive service. We are all so pleased you almost gave us top marks for everything. Next time we will aim for 100% satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    348
    140
    59
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, wine & atmosphere”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

From walking in the building the place is very imperssive, and the atmospohere sophisticated without being pretentious like some other steak restaurants. Lovely staff talked you through menu, drinks etc, went with our servers recommendations for the starter and wine and for main course chose one of the many steak options (I'm not a great steak lover but when in Rome) and all didn't disapoint! And despite dreading the bill given the location and classy feel, it was pretty resonable for three course plus drinks. Would definitely recommend to all my friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c2dudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mash L, Guest Relations Manager at Mash Steak House, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for scoring us so highly especially as you are not a steak fanatic. We are delighted you enjoyed yourself so much and look forward to welcoming you back to MASH London again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant service and very Unique”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I loved the decor, and the place is definitely Unique its perfect for a special occasion perhaps and birthdays which is what i went for, the service is wonderful, our Brazilian waiter, Henry... was very helpful and Shown us the various cuts of meat explained each piece and it's preparation to us. Having made our food and wine selection, we received bread with a salt on top which was superb. Our starters, a grilled Lobster and a Tuna Tartar followed, both of which were very satisfying. We shared a Danish rib eye steak and American bone in rib steak with few sides accompanied by a bearnaise sauce. The steak was superb although for my palate slightly more rare than medium in a couple of places. This did not distract from the enjoyment but it is reason my overall rating is very good as opposed to outstanding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mash L, Guest Relations Manager at Mash Steak House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely review, for scoring your experience so highly and for saying how helpful your waiter was. We really look forward to serving you again at another special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts,
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great surrounding but.......”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Impressive setting, great bar but once ushered to seats the service slipped and we were somewhat ignored. Steaks were as you'd expect cooked to order, the chilli chips were bland and the salad side dish was short of a few leaves, don't think of sharing either. Only one us had desert, cheese cake, expectations were high but again pretty bland. The wine list was exhaustive, too many choices for me. Overall I was disappointed the bill was expensive and I wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidHerts_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mash L, Guest Relations Manager at Mash Steak House, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for finding the time to write a review of our restaurant. We are delighted you found MASH an impressive setting. We are very proud of our original, now restored, Art Deco interior.

We are sorry your food did not score so highly. We pride ourselves on the very best service and believe we serve the best steak in London.

Our wine list is something we are also very proud of. We are aiming for the largest collection of American wine outside of the USA. For some the wine list can be a bit daunting but our sommeliers are always very happy to help.

Please do give us another try the next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“bedst steak and friendly waitress”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

It was a journey back to the 1920 and a wonderful underground world with a lot of cosyness.
We had friendly and very compotent waitress named Natasha. We will most defenetly come back next time we are in London.The meat was perfekt

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvelynCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mash L, Guest Relations Manager at Mash Steak House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We think our subterranean Art Deco restaurant is cosy too. In Denmark we use the word 'hyggeligt'. We are delighted too that your waitress helped to make your meal an enjoyable one we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mash Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Mash Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing