We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Night Out, " Well done Savio"”
Review of Olde Goa

Olde Goa
Ranked #111 of 28,211 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed August 9, 2018

If you Enjoy Delicious Authentic Goan food at a reasonable price ,then you must visit the Olde Goa restaurant in Norbury. The owner Savio is very warm friendly and welcoming. My Wife, Daughter and I especially enjoy the Goan Fish Masala which was very tasty and freshly fried and full of delicious Spice. This week we visited again to taste Savio`s new pure Indian Vegetarian Menu which was immaculately presented and consisted of a platter of about eight different dishes along with chapati which again was full of delicious variety and very satisfying.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Clarence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 221 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2018

My wife and I have lived in Norbury for 25+ years, and when our favourite Vegetarian Indian Restaurant closed down (sadly) a few years ago, I mentioned to Savio, the owner of 'Olde Goa', that there would be a vacuum in the local vegetarian Indian market, and he should fill it

Last night, I went for my first 'all vegetarian' evening at 'Olde Goa' with another couple of veggie friends, and what an outstanding experience !

What Chef Savio has done is to create an exclusive vegetarian experience for one night a week - every Tuesday, so that pure veggies can enjoy food without having to worry about fish or meat cooking smells coming from the kitchen, or without wondering if your food has been cooked in a dish previously occupied by non-veggie food - he uses cooking utensils reserved exclusively for veggie food

Anyway, enough of my rambling. What was, and is (every Tuesday) on offer is a Thali Platter at a very reasonable fixed price, where you get six or so little dishes plus rice and chapati's. Every week the dishes will be rotated, so you shouldn't suffer from boredom with the same food week after week

Last nights offering included some delicious cut french beans, chickpeas, pumpkin, daal, beetroot, and potato, all served with rice and chapati's

The food was spicy, but not too hot, and each dish had been cooked fresh from ingredients sourced that morning

The word is getting around after only two weeks of this Veggie experience, as the restaurant had several other tables occupied, so do give it a try, and do make a reservation (07956 206056) as 'Olde Goa' is often booked solid

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018

We discovered this restaurant through the 'Goan Voice' newsletter. We booked for my birthday and Savio opened just for us so we had a very personalised experience in his restaurant. Everything was spot on, from the DELICIOUS food to the UNIQUE Goan-beach-hut-inspired decor to Savio's charming conversation and knowledge of traditional Goan food. It was unforgettable and I hope to return again when we are in London. Being half-filipino and being well acquainted with traditional Filipino food, it was really pleasing to see the similarities between some of the dishes - Sorpotel for example reminded me a lot of the Dinuguan. Savio also gave some interesting background to some of the ingredients for some dishes and the connections to Malaysia and Portuguese cuisine. Seas-side cultures KNOW HOW TO COOK!!! Be sure to pick up some of Savio's homemade toddy coconut vinegar - direct from his coconut trees in Goa.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

Warm welcome, joyful atmosphere, freshly made, authentic cuisine. If you’re familiar with Goan food, you’ll love it, if you’re not, you’ll love it even more!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank HowManyStars12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018

Discovered Olde Goa by chance on an overnight stay for work. A really friendly welcome and delicious food. A huge storm meant we stayed a while after finishing our food, and it was great chatting with the owners who are absolutely delightful. Will visit again if we're in the area!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Goa also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Olde Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing