We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay on a budget”
Review of The Stay Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stay Club
Ranked #266 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay on a budget”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

There is one downside to this property and I'm going to put it first, the internet is only free for the first night. One downside to our room we only had a tiny opening window, fine in october but in summer I fear it could get too hot.

OK so now thats out of the way, the place is excellent, if you are expecting a hotel then you are looking in the wrong place. I always stay in apartments when I travel and this is one of the most compact and functional I have stayed in.

The accommodation itself was perfect for a place to get your head down after a day in the city, the kitchen area is small yet functional ( we never ended up using it but it was there).

The communal area was great a big screen TV and Pool table plus lots of comfy chairs scattered around you could sit here in peace if you want but I would whole heartedly encourage meeting the other residents, most of whom were from outside the UK learning English. It was great to meet such a mix of people.

The staff were lovely and a pleasure to interact with, even humouring me when I managed to misplace my room key two seconds after checking in....... Wine and trains should never mix in such large proportions.

The area is not great but I never felt threatened walking around the main street, just like any big city London has good and bad areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saoirse_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Public Relations Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your views on your recent stay at The Stay Club Willesden. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the facilities.We look forward to welcoming you back.

Fernando Pardo , Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    61
    57
    15
    28
See reviews for
24
66
32
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place was excellent! We stayed there for 9 days on October while we were visiting London. The location is great since it is both close to an overground and underground station that has direct trains to several central parts of London. People were very helpful during our stay and we made several good friends during our short stay. After a long day in London, just chill out on the lobby and chat with people all around the world. Definately reccomended!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agharta01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Public Relations Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your views on your recent stay at The Stay Club Willesden. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the facilities.We look forward to welcoming you back.

Fernando Pardo , Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Given the facilities you get, this is very good value accommodation. Bit of a walk to Willesden, but decent rooms, beds, wifi. Not sure what people expect for the money, but very difficult to find better value than this in London.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guydebal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.
It was great to see you at The Stay Club.


Big Heloooo from London
The Stay Club Willesden team
Nick, Mercedes, Fernando, Laurence, Mantas , Arthur and many Natashas...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here because of its location as we were attending a Concert at Wembley Stadium.
Check-in staff were polite and chatty, the room was enough for what we needed to shower and change and sleep for a few hours. The beds were hard but comfortable, the only gripe I have is the floor in our room was still damp and had been mopped with a dirty mop and a lot of bleach. Opened the window squirted perfume around and by the time we had showered was ok.....If you looking for somewhere cheep and cheerful then this is the place...

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the window opens fully
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Our-Biddy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
The Stay Club @ London do not recognise, read or reply to ''trip advisor'' write ups.
Property profile on their website has not been authorised or edited by The Stay Club brand. The genuinity of reviews and guests cannot be verified.For genuine information about The Stay Club @ London, and to communicate with our management and staff, visit The Stay Club website
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for one night as we were going to an England game at Wembley. We didn't have high expectations as it was £44 a night and we had read the reviews by others.

The room has wide bunk beds, which are ok for one night but very uncomfortable and the top bunk is reached by an aluminum ladder, so if you aren't too agile you will struggle.

The room has wifi, a kettle (but no tea/coffee), fridge/freezer and hob and the tiniest en-suite I've ever seen but it is functional. You also get get towels and toilet roll/minimal toiletries.

The area itself is pretty rough and we decided to stear clear of the centre. If I were female I wouldn't walk around after dark, albeit the hostel is in a quiet side street.

The guy on reception was really helpful and polite.

Overall good value for money, but it really is no frills and the place is no hotel, it is more like a hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Wolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
The Stay Club @ London do not recognise, read or reply to ''trip advisor'' write ups.
Property profile on their website has not been authorised or edited by The Stay Club brand. The genuinity of reviews and guests cannot be verified.For genuine information about The Stay Club @ London, and to communicate with our management and staff, visit The Stay Club website
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Look, this isn't a hotel. Manage your expectations and it is a clean bed for the night near a tube station and if you couldn't afford to stay in London before, perhaps you can now. Why not rent out university halls? Why not cut the frills to keep costs down? Why not design a small compact space where the toilet and the shower are one - no reason at all!
Pro's - cheap, quirky, clean, near a tube (not too far from Wembley), safe site behind gates, efficient and friendly check in, cooking facilities for long stays.
Con's - the residential road to the front is fine but the High Street and general area is very poor - didn't feel safe and we saw tramps having huge argument and threatening youths. It didn't bother us but were unlikely to be targets. Small and slightly claustrophobic and absolutely no frills e.g. tea and coffee. Hard (but large) beds. Quirkiness takes some getting used to e.g. shower is over toilet so toilet roll in cupboard, controls for shower also the control for hand basin and under a unit. Bunk beds if you don't like this.
Functional and daft as a brush concept with rooms more like a car ferry or a pod but cheap.
Tip - parking free on road between 6 p.m. and 8 a.m. but only resident permits after this, Car park off High Street at Tesco but a bit dodgy.

Room Tip: Ask for the daftest most compromised room they have available and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BladeWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
The Stay Club @ London do not recognise, read or reply to ''trip advisor'' write ups.
Property profile on their website has not been authorised or edited by The Stay Club brand. The genuinity of reviews and guests cannot be verified.For genuine information about The Stay Club @ London, and to communicate with our management and staff, visit The Stay Club website
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night while visiting London, check in time is bit late at 3pm, however we turned up early at 12pm and no fuss was kicked up and room was given. Parking avail on-site which was 10 quid for each day’s stay, which I found was reasonable.

The hotel is located in a residential area, not far from Tube station at a 5 min walk max, during the day/night the area is thriving.

The rooms are basically university halls of residence, very clean and tidy but a bit on the small side, bathroom is very compact and all in one. The room is well equipped with a fridge, freezer, electric cooker, and kettle; there is also a desk with two chairs. Bunk bed is quite handy as that is the only cushioned seating area in the room.

The downside of this place is the temperature in the room was unbearable, we had a small fan which we took from the reception, windows open which only open about an inch as they are locked, and the room was still hot. I assume staying there in the cooler months would be more enjoyable.

If you looking for a no frills stay in London at a very reasonable price, then this place is good.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor away from pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abdul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
The Stay Club @ London do not recognise, read or reply to ''trip advisor'' write ups.
Property profile on their website has not been authorised or edited by The Stay Club brand. The genuinity of reviews and guests cannot be verified.For genuine information about The Stay Club @ London, and to communicate with our management and staff, visit The Stay Club website
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#689 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Paradise Accommodation
#268 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
A to B Hotel
#396 of 555 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norbury Apart Hotel
#264 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hostel Strand Continental
Hostel Strand Continental
#344 of 555 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
MStay Hotel 43
#111 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stay Club

Property: The Stay Club
Address: 5J Nicoll Road | Willesden Junction, London NW10 9AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stay Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stay Club Willesden is student hotel, providing budget accommodation with limited services. Rooms are cleaned once a week and reception is staffed 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Stay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stay Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing