We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, no frills if on a budget”
Review of The Stay Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stay Club
Ranked #270 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value, no frills if on a budget”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for one night as we were going to an England game at Wembley. We didn't have high expectations as it was £44 a night and we had read the reviews by others.

The room has wide bunk beds, which are ok for one night but very uncomfortable and the top bunk is reached by an aluminum ladder, so if you aren't too agile you will struggle.

The room has wifi, a kettle (but no tea/coffee), fridge/freezer and hob and the tiniest en-suite I've ever seen but it is functional. You also get get towels and toilet roll/minimal toiletries.

The area itself is pretty rough and we decided to stear clear of the centre. If I were female I wouldn't walk around after dark, albeit the hostel is in a quiet side street.

The guy on reception was really helpful and polite.

Overall good value for money, but it really is no frills and the place is no hotel, it is more like a hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Wolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
The Stay Club @ London do not recognise, read or reply to ''trip advisor'' write ups.
Property profile on their website has not been authorised or edited by The Stay Club brand. The genuinity of reviews and guests cannot be verified.For genuine information about The Stay Club @ London, and to communicate with our management and staff, visit The Stay Club website
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    63
    57
    16
    29
See reviews for
27
66
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Look, this isn't a hotel. Manage your expectations and it is a clean bed for the night near a tube station and if you couldn't afford to stay in London before, perhaps you can now. Why not rent out university halls? Why not cut the frills to keep costs down? Why not design a small compact space where the toilet and the shower are one - no reason at all!
Pro's - cheap, quirky, clean, near a tube (not too far from Wembley), safe site behind gates, efficient and friendly check in, cooking facilities for long stays.
Con's - the residential road to the front is fine but the High Street and general area is very poor - didn't feel safe and we saw tramps having huge argument and threatening youths. It didn't bother us but were unlikely to be targets. Small and slightly claustrophobic and absolutely no frills e.g. tea and coffee. Hard (but large) beds. Quirkiness takes some getting used to e.g. shower is over toilet so toilet roll in cupboard, controls for shower also the control for hand basin and under a unit. Bunk beds if you don't like this.
Functional and daft as a brush concept with rooms more like a car ferry or a pod but cheap.
Tip - parking free on road between 6 p.m. and 8 a.m. but only resident permits after this, Car park off High Street at Tesco but a bit dodgy.

Room Tip: Ask for the daftest most compromised room they have available and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BladeWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
The Stay Club @ London do not recognise, read or reply to ''trip advisor'' write ups.
Property profile on their website has not been authorised or edited by The Stay Club brand. The genuinity of reviews and guests cannot be verified.For genuine information about The Stay Club @ London, and to communicate with our management and staff, visit The Stay Club website
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night while visiting London, check in time is bit late at 3pm, however we turned up early at 12pm and no fuss was kicked up and room was given. Parking avail on-site which was 10 quid for each day’s stay, which I found was reasonable.

The hotel is located in a residential area, not far from Tube station at a 5 min walk max, during the day/night the area is thriving.

The rooms are basically university halls of residence, very clean and tidy but a bit on the small side, bathroom is very compact and all in one. The room is well equipped with a fridge, freezer, electric cooker, and kettle; there is also a desk with two chairs. Bunk bed is quite handy as that is the only cushioned seating area in the room.

The downside of this place is the temperature in the room was unbearable, we had a small fan which we took from the reception, windows open which only open about an inch as they are locked, and the room was still hot. I assume staying there in the cooler months would be more enjoyable.

If you looking for a no frills stay in London at a very reasonable price, then this place is good.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor away from pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abdul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
The Stay Club @ London do not recognise, read or reply to ''trip advisor'' write ups.
Property profile on their website has not been authorised or edited by The Stay Club brand. The genuinity of reviews and guests cannot be verified.For genuine information about The Stay Club @ London, and to communicate with our management and staff, visit The Stay Club website
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for just one night while in transit, we booked it online in the early morning and arrived at the hotel shortly after. We caught a taxi and the driver immediately warned us to make sure we didn't leave after dark (2 blonde Aussie girls in early 20's) but said the place looked fairly secure. On arrival the staff were very accommodating, we were there far before check in but they went out of their way to get a room cleaned so we could settle in. Room was small but very clean, bunk beds were fairly big and the room had a fridge cooker etc. The bathroom made us both laugh a VERY small room with the toilet, basin and shower all in one! (Somewhat practical) The complex was slightly noisy at night as we must have gotten a room close to the pool table where people gathered until the early hours of the morning. Over all a good stay but the area was a bit rough, we didn't feel safe enough to head out at night but during the day was fine. I would say it is more of a hostel then a hotel but a good clean place with friendly staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahsInEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
The Stay Club @ London do not recognise, read or reply to ''trip advisor'' write ups.
Property profile on their website has not been authorised or edited by The Stay Club brand. The genuinity of reviews and guests cannot be verified.For genuine information about The Stay Club @ London, and to communicate with our management and staff, visit The Stay Club website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a student dormitory that sometimes offers rooms to travelers when they have extra space. It's not a hotel. The rooms are dorm rooms, with bunk beds and a bathroom that might not seem convenient, but is usable. The building appears to have been recently constructed, and it's in a working class neighborhood. The location is perhaps not the most convenient for tourists. It's a bit of a walk from the train station. I never felt unsafe in the neighborhood, but understand that this is not Bloomsbury.

The staff is used to dealing with young students, who they can sort of boss around. Don't expect to always be treated with the same respect that you might expect in a normal hotel. If you want to get an idea of what the management's attitude is like, just read their responses here on TripAdvisor, especially the earlier ones.

I stayed here for 5 nights, and the price I paid per night was lower than I could have paid for a regular hotel in London at that time. Frankly it was lower than I probably would have paid for an AirBNB. Understand that with a lower price will come a more basic room and limited service.

The one big problem I had was that the room was unbearably hot. 29 degrees C the first few nights. That's the reason for the two stars; otherwise they would have earned at least 3 given the good pricing. The rooms have no air conditioning or ventilation, other than a window which only opens about 10 cm. There was really no way to cool the room down, and the staff was not very helpful. They said there were no other rooms they could move me to. I stuck with it and fortunately London cooled down after the 2nd day, so the room reached 27 degrees and became more bearable.

Probably what they should do is identify the rooms that have temperature problems, and avoid renting those to tourists during the summer. Instead, rent them at a discount to student who understand what they are getting into. Perhaps students from very hot countries.

Room Tip: The top floor is especially hot during warm summer periods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
The Stay Club @ London does not read or reply to ''trip advisor'' write ups.
Our profile on this website has not been authorised by The Stay Club brand.For genuine information aboyt The Stay Club and to communicate with our management and staff, visit The Stay Club website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed at the Stay Club Willesden for five nights whilst in London for business and couldn't have asked for a better location for getting to and from meetings in central London. The rooms were exactly as I expected and perfect for my needs, I knew I wasn't going to be staying at the Ritz and had looked into this new and cheap way to carry out my business without the added extortionate rates London Hotels tend to charge. The room although compact, had everything I needed and was spotlessly clean and the staff were always helpful and on hand should I have any questions or assistance, I also felt very safe even late at night when returning from work.

Would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to my friends and business colleagues as the way to go whenever in London.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
The Stay Club@ London never asked or agreed to be featured on ''trip advisor''.The profile is not approved by The Stay Club.The reviews are not read or responded to.For accurate information about our business , visit our own website
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We reviewed this property and were aware that for the price we would be offered a compact room. It proved far better than we could have hoped for. the room had ample storage space, good cooking facilities including a fridge/freezer and microwave oven. there is a writing desk and free WiFi. There are two double beds one which rises up so that the lower on turns into a sitting area (cool). The staff were friendly and dealt with any queries quickly and efficiently. the location is fantastic for getting into central London and is in a quiet suburb away from the main town.
My wife felt safe and secure especially with the added security of the main gate, there is an area outside for relaxation which we enjoyed with other residents.
we stayed for 4 nights and would definitely return - great place, great place, great facilities
Some people come with too greater expectation - based on the price and location you really couldn't find better

Room Tip: 1st and 2nd floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claude22_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
The Stay Club@ London never asked or agreed to be featured on ''trip advisor''.The profile is not approved by The Stay Club.The reviews are not read or responded to.For accurate information about our business , visit our own website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paradise Accommodation
#267 of 557 in London
13 reviews
A to B Hotel
#391 of 557 in London
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 557 in London
742 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hostel Strand Continental
Hostel Strand Continental
#340 of 557 in London
274 reviews
The Old Crown Inn
#245 of 557 in London
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stay Club

Property: The Stay Club
Address: 5J Nicoll Road | Willesden Junction, London NW10 9AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stay Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stay Club Willesden is student hotel, providing budget accommodation with limited services. Rooms are cleaned once a week and reception is staffed 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Stay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stay Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing