We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Stay Club @ Harlesden” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stay Club

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Stay Club
Ranked #197 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Stay Club @ Harlesden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

First impressions of the hotel were good, the lobby is very modern looking and decorated nicely. We got checked in and headed to our room; first impressions of this were not so great. We were in the basement (Room D29) and as I had already seen some bad reviews about those rooms, I was a bit wary. They need to change the carpets as they are stained in many places, we knew the rooms were bunk beds so this didn't surprise us as it did some other guests. However, the top bunk had not been made up and did not have any linen, pillows and didnt even have a ladder to get up! As mentioned on other reviews the shower is in the same room as the toilet but it is more of a cupboard than a room and we couldn't see a sink anywhere, the whole room did also have kind of a damp smell. Obviously we had to sort our bed situation, this is where the hotel redeemed itself; the staff on Reception sorted us out another room quickly whilst we went to collect our things. This time we were on the Ground Floor - such a better room; (Room 102) it had the same layout but smelt better, had more updated facilities (sink in the washroom) and a ladder! There were no tea/coffee making facilities but there is a vending machine just outside the room which my Mom used for her morning cuppas!
Now, the beds. I have always liked a soft bed so I am not entirely sure what constitutes a firm mattress but this was not for me. When you sat on the beds, there was no give, they didn't move - like sitting on the floor basically. On a positive note though, the quilts were so big you could kind of roll yourself up in them.
We booked this hotel as it was close to Wembley and for that purpose it is good, I mean after all day queuing for a concert then standing for 5/6 hours you can sleep anywhere. Word of warning though, if you get a Taxi back and they don't know where 'The Stay Club' is, do not tell them 'Willesden' as the name suggests; it is actually Harleston and as out-of-towners we could only go on the information provided. We paid £269.00 for two nights and I do hope that price was because of Robbie Williams playing Wembley as it should be more like £60.00 a night, it's not exactly Central London.
Overall, it wasn't the worst hotel in London but I wouldn't personally go back. I do think they need to consider making it clearer about the bunk beds to people before they book as we saw and have heard of a lot of people complaining about this, and the staff on Reception don't deserve to get all the blame for this. They were the best thing about the stay, extremely helpful and very polite!

Room Tip: Avoid the basement!!! Also, from the Front Ground Floor Rooms (100 - 110) you can hear whatever is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
The Stay Club@ London never asked or agreed to be featured on ''trip advisor''.The profile is not approved by The Stay Club.The reviews are not read or responded to.For accurate information about our business , visit our own website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    60
    55
    15
    25
See reviews for
23
65
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Recently stayed here for 5 days for approximately £160. I was commuting to Chelsea & Westminster hospital each day so this location was ideally placed. The aparthotel is in Harlesden (not Willesden), However, the closest station is Willesden Junction, which has both London Overground and Tube services (Bakerloo). I used the Overground and it took approximately 10 mins to go from Willesden Junc to West Brompton.

The town of Harlesden is a little bit scary, but if you're sensible you'll be fine.

The accomodation was fantastic, amazing to have the mini kitchen, And the wet room is definitely an experience. However, I did find there was a lot of little Gnat things in the shower, from the stagnant water... Bring some fly spray - sorts it out :)

Really comfy bed, and my room was very spacious.

Room Tip: Ground Floor seemed to be bigger Bring fly spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ashleyt09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
The Stay Club management had filed DMCA request to be removed from Trip Advisor and all associated websites.
We never asked to be profiled on Trip Advisor and disagree with the concept.
The reviews are not read or responded to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

A friend and I stayed at The Stay Club @ Willesden for 3 nights in June 2013; we had a nightmare of a time finding the place as we mixed up Willesden Junction station, where we should have got off, with Willesden Green station, over a mile away. When we finally arrived, the woman at the reception desk was friendly enough and gave us a token each for the WiFi, saying it was valid for 24hrs and for one device only, after which we would have to pay £5 for another 24hr token.

We found our room on the basement floor of the building, gaining access via an electronic door key, the room was mostly clean (there was the odd strand of hair on the floor), but smelled somewhat funny and was entertaining a couple of flies (my friend later found several dead flies on the inside windowsill). The kitchenette in the room contained a microwave, kettle, a two-piece electric hob, two sets of mugs, tumblers, plates, dishes, knives, forks, and spoons but no toaster, bizarrely. Also, the cupboards smelled very strongly of something unpleasant when opened. Even though the room was self-catering (and cleaning), cleaning supplies were not provided. There was also a lack of sweeping brush, which would have been appreciated with the laminated flooring.

Both of our phones couldn’t get a signal from inside the room, and we had to go upstairs and outside to the smoking area to send a text. We were pleasantly surprised that the WiFi tokens given to us lasted the entirety of our trip, however.

The beds were small double sized, in a bunk-bed type fashion, with a metal ladder to the top bunk - the top bed was positioned high enough so that an adult on the bottom bed could sit up comfortably, without banging their head, but were hard and somewhat uncomfortable to sleep on. There was also only one pillow on both beds, with no option for any more, for those who prefer to sleep with two pillows.

The en-suite was more of a wet room, and everything got soaked after using the shower. The floors in particular took a long time to drain and puddles of water stayed on the floor for almost a day. The floor in the bathroom had raised grooves, and was rather painful to stand on after a long day of walking around London. The shower was also difficult to figure out how to work, with only one little lever to control the sink visible. We ended up having to ask the receptionist how to work the shower, and were told to pull a lever in the most roundabout sense; it was more of a trial-and-error experience before we ended up figuring it out.

The Stay Club @ Willesden is about a 10 minute walk away from both the Willesden Junction and Harlesden underground stations, and getting into Central London takes about 25 minutes via tube on the Bakerloo line (it cost us £2.10 for single fare from WJ with a visitors’ Oyster card). It was conveniently located for our trip to Watford Junction, with Willesden Junction overground having a direct train to Watford (£1.60 single).

All in all, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Betty2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
The Stay Club management had filed DMCA request to be removed from Trip Advisor and all associated websites.
We never asked to be profiled on Trip Advisor and disagree with the concept.
The reviews are not read or responded to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I had a review up prior but since I was harassed & lied on by management after my review I decided to better reflect the company via review. This is not a place deserving of your hard earned cash. Can't take constructive criticism in stride without negativity. Here's to trying to extort a positive review out of me:

-The hotel was dusty before I even stepped foot in. I stepped in and quickly stepped out and told the female at the counter about the bugs and dust.

-They had construction going on and didn't even make guests aware. Only by a letter posted days after I was there although it was going on before I came.

-The basement floor smelled. Plus the basement floor was loud with people slamming their doors and yelling.

-The set up of the faucet in the bathroom was too low

-The room was extremely dusty & dirty

-Freezing in the basement rooms

-The fridge smelt like death

-I was charged $15 extra although they told me it would be .40 pence

-Wifi was out on the first day

-Bugs galore, dead and alive

-The shower I hated but I knew what it was going into it but it was the sole reason why I had bugs (gnats?)

-There needs to be a window to properly ventilate the bathroom

-I spoke to management about my issues (cold and bugs) and he reassured that everything would be taken care of but it wasn't

-Also I thought that the rooms were cleaned every 7 days. In the middle of my trip my room was cleaned. Does that mean that I slept on dirty sheets for the first half of my stay?

- The only ray of light was the fact that I had free wifi the whole trip. Thank you Goran and staff (:

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mimi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi

Thank you for your review.Good bye now. We sincerely hope never to see you again.

xxxx xxx

The Stay Club Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Have stayed for a couple of weeks at the Willesden Stay Club. The accommodation is basic, but functional with a proper fridge freezer, microwave and kettle. The beds are oversized bunk beds. Some of the rooms are very compact and would be difficult for couples. Service has been very good, but the rooms are only serviced once a week. The en-suite is a interesting arrangement and is best described as a wet room. Good cheap accommodation but it's not an hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scruffboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
HI and thank you for your balanced and helpful review.
A real breath of fresh air after some ''reviews'' posted by various deranged individuals
Indeed, this is not a hotel , but student residence where value for money is paramout in order to enable young people from all around the world to experience cool atmosphere of London.
Thank you for your business and do not hesitate to contact us again if you are coming over to London.

The Stay Club Willesden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
207 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The rooms are tiny. The bathroom is miniscule at first just a toilet but a shower and tiny unusable sink are here too. The hotel corridors are like ovens. The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Like being in prison. Awful, really dreadful and costs more than double what it is worth.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank UKStevieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Good thing our 20000 guests since August last year would not agree with you and your review!
We were not impressed by you either. Not the worst guest ever, but almost there.
Keep up your good work if it makes you happy. We do not really care what did you think about us..
Misplaced hostility syndrome is not our area of expertise.
Good bye>>>

Goran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Travelled to London with my mum for a girly break for her 60th birthday, initially chose the hotel as it was listed on another site has being suitable for disabled people and it was surprisingly cheap for a London hotel then read some of the reviews and did panic a little bit as I wasn't sure that it was really suitable.

We arrived at about 10pm on the 20/5 the lady on reception rushed straight to the door to help us through (and remained attentive throughout our stay) and booking in was smooth. When we arrived there were a few people in both the outside smoking area and the communal area, however they showed respect to other guests and kept noise to a minimum.

We went down to our room which was in the basement and unpacked our belongings - the room had a three door mirrored wardrobe; two with small rails and one shelved and there was plenty of room. The kitchenette comprises of three floor cabinets, three wall cabinets, a kettle, twin ceramic hob, a microwave, a sink and ample plates, pans etc. The bunk beds were very spacious larger than single but not quite a double, I slept like a baby every night was lovely and warm and bed was extremely comfortable, there was a collection of books on the shelf besides the bottom bunk and a plug socket and small shelf (large enough for charging your mobile or plugging in an alram clock) on the top bunk. In addition there was a large desk/dressing table and shelves I was even able to put up my mums birthday cards. The bathroom is NOT as bad as many reviewers have made it sound, yes it is small and yes the flooring does consist of 3 or 4 slatted slabs however it is totally suitable for its purpose the shower head is not above anything as some of the reviews suggest neither myself nor my mum are skinny women and we both managed to use it quite successfully, the flooring was fine we just left the door open a crack to aid ventilation and it dried fairly quickly. We stayed here for two nights and didn't see a single bug believe me had we done the entire building would have known and so would tripadvisor.

The hotel is currently undergoing some improvements to the corridors but again noise was kept to a minimal and I'd much rather see an hotel that was undergoing improvements quietly than an hotel that used guests as an excuse to not do work that is required.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hello and thank you for the review.
We are glad to hear that you and your mum had a great time with us.
We hope to see you again at The Stay Club Willesden.

Willesden team : Izzy , Nick, Fernando, Mantas, Marco , Laurence, Arthur, Lisa, 2 Natashas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paradise Accommodation
#249 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Norbury Apart Hotel
#269 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
A to B Hotel
#410 of 567 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acton Lodge
#238 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hostel Strand Continental
Hostel Strand Continental
#354 of 567 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
MStay Hotel 43
#102 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stay Club

Property: The Stay Club
Address: 5J Nicoll Road | Willesden Junction, London NW10 9AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stay Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stay Club Willesden is student hotel, providing budget accommodation with limited services. Rooms are cleaned once a week and reception is staffed 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Stay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stay Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing