We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Ruskin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ruskin Hotel
Ranked #579 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We enjoyed everything. The breakfast was very good, with a lot of choices that you could combine, and every morning you would eat something else.Our room was great, we had everything we needed, it was clean and the bed comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful. About the location, it's not so bad at all. The neighborhood was rather quiet, interesting and nothing to worry about, even at night. We didn't have any problems. From East Ham tube station to Westminster, with District line, you do aprox 30-40 minutes. You can also take the bus that has a station right in front of the hotel. It was lovely and we would definitely come back.

We had only a small problem with the Wi-fi, that in our room was poor on our phone and tablets, but on the laptop the signal was good. A small advice: if you want a quiet room, ask for one that doesn't face the main street (our was facing the parking lot and it was ok)

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for the lovely review.

It is very much appreciated.

I have contacted the I.T department to address the wifi in the rooms in the corner of the building. Although wifi is very strong through the core of the building, the few rooms at the corner of the building could benefit from a stronger signal. They are visiting us in 3 days time to rectify the problem.

We hope to see you soon!

Thank you again.

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for Ruskin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 576 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

Booked back in Feb for the SW4 festival. Asked for early check in so could have a wash before we head out for the day and if there was plenty of parking available which the lady on the phone said yes. Arrived at 11:30 am on the sat 23rd Aug and was told there was no parking left and could park on street for £12 day but girlfriend persuaded a member of staff to move there car.Was then told we couldn't check-in and a drain was blocked.

On return that evening asked staff to open gate to get case out of car, but he then locked us in and had to shout through window for 10 mins to get him to open it again. Got into room which looks ok. No curtains so light pours in. Bathroom had marks all over walls, shower was broken asked staff to fix never did. Windows very thin let alot of noise in.

Breakfast in morning very poor selection from 7:30 to 9:30. Room service come a knocking at 9am!!!! only 10 parking spaces but very secure. Free wifi if it works, no phone signal for 3 and vodafone networks. 10 min walk to tube station

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 102 next to road
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Good Afternoon,

Thank you taking the time to leave us a review.

I would like to take this moment to address your concerns:

- Early Check in - As a hotel we always try our best to accommodate early check ins. Unfortunately on this occasion it was not possible because we were fully booked the night before.

- Parking - We are a 59 bedroom hotel and only have parking for 15 cars. It is available on a first come first serve basis. I would like to apologize to you for being locked in the car park. We restrict all access to the car park after 9pm.

Wifi - To access the wifi you must type in the password then attempt to access any website. You will then be redirected to the hotel website where you must click on the green button for access. It would not work unless you do this. I apologize if this was not explained correctly upon check in. I will ensure that this information is placed on the notice board.

I hope this explains the unfortunate circumstances during your stay and I would like to apologize again.

Kind Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Rooms basic similar to Travelodge style and small. Clean & tidy but certainly noisy outside traffic being on the main road. the adjoining pub used as breakfast room was adequate and certainly interesting in the evening when the locals fall out. Wifi available but reception poor at times.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Good Morning,

Thank you for leaving a review.

Our aim is to provide an affordable yet modern hotel for guests to enjoy. The hotel is less than 2 years old and we aim to maintain these high standards for all future guests.

We hope to see you next time you are in london.

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

My friends and I had stayed here for one night due to this hotel was nearer to the London Southend airport compared to staying in central of London. We had booked the room for 3 persons, the receptionist had provided us the room that can fit 4 people.

Once we step into the room, the room was clean and neat and the bathroom was much bigger and better than the budget hotel we stayed in the central of London. There was many grocery shops around the hotel, which you can buy some snacks or drinks nearby whenever you feel hungry.

However, the hotel was situated quite a distance from the metro station. Hence, if you had a super heavy luggage with you, eg. 30kg, preferably take a cab to reach the hotel.

Room Tip: If you have to take a flight at London Southend Airport, I strongly recommend to stay at this hotel...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PhoebeLLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for the lovely review.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

In london you shall spend and that means time, money or both in large quantities. So any trip is a compromise unless you are a Sheik or an Oligarch. Live in the centre - no parking, hotel prices absolutely ridiculous lots of bucks and not many bangs. Live outside and spend the entire time traveling and also remember the trains are also not cheap. So what you save one way you lose in another. So to enjoy this fabulous city without paying crazy money you need to box clever and also take some hits.

This hotel does just that. Friendly staff, has parking, a few minutes walk from Eastham tube station and then you are whisked to the middle in 20-30 mins and if you go after 10 am quite cheap with the one day travel card.

If you are tolerant of the noise, want to experience real people, want a place to safely park your car and are not a traveling footballers wife with chiwawa in the handbag, then this could be the place to have a memorable stay with even some money still left over in your wallet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for leaving such a well rounded review.

I believe that compromise is the key with any booking. Thankfully you have understood the trade off with location and price and given us a fantastic review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

My 9 y/o daughter and I stayed at the Ruskin for our week long stay in London and we had a great experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, the walk to the Tube was about 8 minutes, the room was clean, as was the bathroom and there was plenty of hot water. We also enjoyed the room A/C during the hot week we stayed. Breakfast was quite good and had lots of options and we used the room service from the pub a couple of times as well and were very pleased with the quality of the food.

We did spend a bit more money on our Oyster cards because East Ham is a bit out, but we had no issues going all over London. One thing we particularly enjoyed was being in an ethnically diverse, hard working area of London. We felt like commuters on multiple days and we really felt like we saw more of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Blair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Good Afternoon,

Thank you very much for the lovely review.

It means a lot.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon.

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Needed a hotel for 1 night for RideLondon-Surrey. This is perfect, close to the start and close to a tube station. East Ham is very vibrant and has everything we needed.

The hotel and the staff are both very good. The hotel is kept in good condition, the rooms were comfortable and the staff friendly and efficient. They helped with parking, bikes and even putting out breakfast at 5am to accommodate all the cyclists.

I did worry a little when I saw a pub underneath, but there was no issue whatsoever. Definitely recomend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Good Afternoon,

Thank you very much for the lovely review.

I hope the bike ride went well despite the monsoon rains!

We hope to see you again next year!

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#475 of 1,072 in London
373 reviews
Caring Hotel
#529 of 1,072 in London
786 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venture Hostels
#723 of 1,072 in London
137 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#333 of 1,072 in London
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Hotel

Address: 386 High Street North | Manor Park, London E12 6PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range: $62 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruskin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in East Ham London, Ruskin Hotel has a 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi and free parking. It also has a bar, a restaurant, and a TV lounge for guests to enjoy. Each bedroom has an en suite shower room, city views, a desk and a minibar. Guests also get tea/coffee making facilities and air conditioning. Wired internet connection is available in every room and it is free of charge. Room Service is available everyday between 11:30am to 22:30. East Ham underground station is a 6-minute walk from the hotel, and it takes less than 45 minutes to get into central London which boasts Oxford Street, Hyde Park, the London Eye, Tower of London and St Paul’s Cathedral to name a few. Stratford Shopping is 2.5 miles from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ruskin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing