We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruskin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ruskin Hotel
Ranked #566 of 1,078 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I travel for work frequently and this was one of the best experiences I have had in a very long time. The hotels brand new and the rooms are comfortable, spacious and most importantly clean, the lobby is nicely decorated too. Front desk customer service was excellent very professional and friendly. The staff really go above and beyond. Good location as it is not too far from Stratford Westfield shopping centre with East ham station being a 5-10min walk. This hotel was a great find, would love to come back. Wonderful experience and great value for money. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pradeepan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Team Ruskin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    203
    85
    31
    30
See reviews for
89
158
41
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here 1 night and we would highly recommend the hotel. I have stayed in many budget hotels and this one takes first place. Everything about the hotel, bedrooms, staff, breakfast, location is very good.

Already planning to book my next stay there in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samedpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving such a great review!

It is nice to see all the hard work paying off

We hope to see you soon

James Pararajan | Managing Director

Ruskin Hotel
386 High Street North
Manor Park
E12 6PH
London

M: +(0) 44 774 5682 492
T: + (0) 44 2085 482000
F: + (0) 44 2085 482060
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I Stayed at the ruskin this week due to being in London on buisness. Due to the price i wasn't expecting an awful lot, But i was pleasantly surprised. the hotel is situated on the high street east ham which is 25 minutes on the tube to the city centre. The area the hotel is situated in is the ply thing that lets this hotel down but then what do you expect for the price. The Hotel staff are lovely, really friendly will help you with anything you need. In allot of previous reviews people have mentioned it being cheap looking or cheap fixtures and fittings, i think thats bizarre i feel the complete opposite, the hotel has a very boutique sheek feel too it, lots of banks art work around the hotel lobby, the rooms i stayed in had a lovely powerful shower huge bathroom mirror, my bed was very comfortable and i had a lovely big flat screen TV. The rooms are very clean mine was cleaned every day which was lovely to come back from work to a nice tidy room. I was a little worried about coming to london for the first time on my own but i felt so safe in this hotel, I actually felt really at home in this hotel, didn't want to leave. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice comfortable hotel to stay in with lovely staff not too far from the big city. Thanks ruskin for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at the Ruskin Hotel in March and cannot recommend it highly enough!

If your looking for 5 star luxury then this hotel isn't for you but if your looking for a very good modern budget hotel with a warm welcome then this is definitely the place for you!

The Staff are always up for a chat and give you great sightseeing advice.. The area has plenty of restaurants on its doorstep and the Westfield Shopping Centre is only a 5 minute taxi ride away..

Plenty of food choice there! Busaba Thai Restaurant was my favourite :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSeeker976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards

James Pararajan | Managing Director

Ruskin Hotel
386 High Street North
Manor Park
E12 6PH
London

M: +(0) 44 774 5682 492
T: + (0) 44 2085 482000
F: + (0) 44 2085 482060
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Staff were fantastic, welcoming, friendly and helpful. Took the time to show us maps, recommend shopping venues, and ask for any feedback to make our stay more comfortable/enjoyable.
The hotel is very new and clean, and right next to a bus stop. 5 mins walk from the tube station and in the middle of lots of restaurants and fast food stops.
Great services & amenities for the price asked, i wouldn't have expected the rooms to have safes at that price in a 3 star hotel for example
Not the best location ever, but with only a 30 min tube ride into central london it was plain fantastic
I'd definitely go back to the Ruskin if back in london soon =)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lobnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
There is a great sense of self satisfaction when a guest leaves a positive review.

We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay at Ruskin Hotel and we would like to thank you for recommending us to others on TripAdvisor.

James Pararajan
Managing Director
Ruskin Hotel
T: 02085482000
james.pararajan@ruskinhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Shores, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

From the moment I walked through the door I was welcomed with a warm friendly smile. Check in time was not until 2pm, however I was checked in earlier as my room was ready. This was very much appreciated as I just got off a long flight. Breakfast hit the spot and the rooms were clean and new. Definitely come back again!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vin428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review.

It is very much appreciated.

Kind Regards

James Pararajan | Managing Director

Ruskin Hotel
386 High Street North
Manor Park
E12 6PH
London

M: +(0) 44 774 5682 492
T: + (0) 44 2085 482000
F: + (0) 44 2085 482060
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

On booking via booking.com we by mistake booked a wrong hotel. On calling the hotel in 5 mins after the booking made they told us that they couldnot refund us as per I booked on non refundable policy. My university was in central London but still I managed to get to Ruskin Hotel and travel daily to my Uni. The area is so noisy and packed. Rude staff and not at all welcoming. Check out was even worst. Breakfast was good but they watch you as if you will eat more. Reception lady was eating while attending us and was very rude.when checkout I had the same staff and we were just 10 mins late and she was behaving as if they will not be able to clean our rooms in future. Hotel is new built and good rooms but far off from station and central london. pity on staff sorry they need to learn more.

Room Tip: Be ready to get Insulted
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and feedback following your recent stay with us.

It is with great concern that I read that you did not experience the high standards we aim to provide and I would like to put remedy to these matters. Should you have a minute I would appreciate if you could send me a personal email with some further details of your visit. This would greatly increase my ability to review and act upon areas that might require attention.

Regardless of your response I wanted to ensure that you felt your comments are heard and we take the feedback from our guests as a valuable tool to constantly improve our service and product.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

James Pararajan
Managing Director
Ruskin Hotel
T: 02085482000
E: james.pararajan@ruskinhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
White Lodge Hotel
#439 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis Styles London Leyton
Ibis Styles London Leyton
#549 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#346 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kingsland Hotel
#560 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
London Star Hotel
#780 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Hotel

Property: Ruskin Hotel
Address: 386 High Street North | Manor Park, London E12 6PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruskin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in East Ham London, Ruskin Hotel has a 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi and free parking. It also has a bar, a restaurant, and a TV lounge for guests to enjoy. Each bedroom has an en suite shower room, city views, a desk and a minibar. Guests also get tea/coffee making facilities and air conditioning. Wired internet connection is available in every room and it is free of charge. Room Service is available everyday between 11:30am to 22:30. East Ham underground station is a 6-minute walk from the hotel, and it takes less than 45 minutes to get into central London which boasts Oxford Street, Hyde Park, the London Eye, Tower of London and St Paul’s Cathedral to name a few. Stratford Shopping is 2.5 miles from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ruskin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing