We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruskin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ruskin Hotel
Ranked #521 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Cairo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Staff were fantastic, welcoming, friendly and helpful. Took the time to show us maps, recommend shopping venues, and ask for any feedback to make our stay more comfortable/enjoyable.
The hotel is very new and clean, and right next to a bus stop. 5 mins walk from the tube station and in the middle of lots of restaurants and fast food stops.
Great services & amenities for the price asked, i wouldn't have expected the rooms to have safes at that price in a 3 star hotel for example
Not the best location ever, but with only a 30 min tube ride into central london it was plain fantastic
I'd definitely go back to the Ruskin if back in london soon =)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lobnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
There is a great sense of self satisfaction when a guest leaves a positive review.

We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay at Ruskin Hotel and we would like to thank you for recommending us to others on TripAdvisor.

James Pararajan
Managing Director
Ruskin Hotel
T: 02085482000
james.pararajan@ruskinhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    188
    79
    26
    24
See reviews for
83
142
38
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Shores, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

From the moment I walked through the door I was welcomed with a warm friendly smile. Check in time was not until 2pm, however I was checked in earlier as my room was ready. This was very much appreciated as I just got off a long flight. Breakfast hit the spot and the rooms were clean and new. Definitely come back again!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vin428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review.

It is very much appreciated.

Kind Regards

James Pararajan | Managing Director

Ruskin Hotel
386 High Street North
Manor Park
E12 6PH
London

M: +(0) 44 774 5682 492
T: + (0) 44 2085 482000
F: + (0) 44 2085 482060
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

On booking via booking.com we by mistake booked a wrong hotel. On calling the hotel in 5 mins after the booking made they told us that they couldnot refund us as per I booked on non refundable policy. My university was in central London but still I managed to get to Ruskin Hotel and travel daily to my Uni. The area is so noisy and packed. Rude staff and not at all welcoming. Check out was even worst. Breakfast was good but they watch you as if you will eat more. Reception lady was eating while attending us and was very rude.when checkout I had the same staff and we were just 10 mins late and she was behaving as if they will not be able to clean our rooms in future. Hotel is new built and good rooms but far off from station and central london. pity on staff sorry they need to learn more.

Room Tip: Be ready to get Insulted
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and feedback following your recent stay with us.

It is with great concern that I read that you did not experience the high standards we aim to provide and I would like to put remedy to these matters. Should you have a minute I would appreciate if you could send me a personal email with some further details of your visit. This would greatly increase my ability to review and act upon areas that might require attention.

Regardless of your response I wanted to ensure that you felt your comments are heard and we take the feedback from our guests as a valuable tool to constantly improve our service and product.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

James Pararajan
Managing Director
Ruskin Hotel
T: 02085482000
E: james.pararajan@ruskinhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The place was very clan and the rooms bigger and more comfortable than I expected for the price we were paying; the staff was very nice and helpful; and there was plenty of food for breakfast :) The location is not the best of the world, but there are also lots of options to eat at night on the main street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patillades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel overall was very nice. Room was clean, however the light over out bed failed on us. We informed the receptionist, who promptly sent someone out to take a look. The issue couldn't be fixed and were were offered an alternative room. We denied it - I can live with a failed light!. Breakfast was lovely, a wide selection of items for a continental breakfast. My only gripe was the location, it's set in an Indian neighborhood, and while walking through the neighborhood at night I did feel a bit vunerable due to the stares I was getting due to being the only white person around. The people in the resturants around were very friendly tho. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cannon106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at the Ruskin Hotel in February. It is a new hotel with very friendly staff that helped us out with ordering a taxi etc. It is in an Indian neighborhood with fantastic smells of food of Indian food and chicken. You can eat there for a small price, but be prepare that it can look subordinated to you, anyway, people from the restaurants are as friendly as the hotel staff.

The room is basic with a good well sized bed. Materials at the room desk, shower, wardrobe are basic as well, and sometimes looks too budget. For example, the clothes hanger felt down a few times.
There is no wifi in the rooms (lobby only), the staff will give you a network cable for a deposit of £5. I had some problems with the internet in the room, because it was not stable all the time / gives some network errors. After a few refreshes in the browser, the sites loaded.

The breakfast is varied. Pancakes, waffles, bread, croissants, Frankfurt sausages, fruit, yogurt, chocolates, cheese, meat, juice. But you have to watch out if it is not too old, at my first day I had a pancake with a little mold on it. Rest of the days it looks fresh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurjen-de-Vries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and feedback following your recent stay with us.

It is a shame that we did not deliver the high standards that we set ourselves. We have already put provisions in place to address the issues that you have raised.

If you could provide me further details of your stay then that would be greatly appreciated.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

James Pararajan
Managing Director
Ruskin Hotel
T: 02085482000
E: james.pararajan@ruskinhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in Feb 2013

As per the other reviews, staff very attentive and helpful. Rooms comfortable and clean. Decor/furniture all fairly new. Good value

Local restaurants are all fairly basic (fried chicken shops and lots of tamil/asian cafes - most of them not licensed).

2 stations (new ham and woodgrange park) within 10 mins walk

Worth a look if you're going to be in the area

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinburgher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Ramada London Finchley
#689 of 1,067 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis Styles London Leyton
Ibis Styles London Leyton
#537 of 1,067 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
Caring Hotel
#472 of 1,067 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel
BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel
#432 of 1,067 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Hotel

Property: Ruskin Hotel
Address: 386 High Street North | Manor Park, London E12 6PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruskin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in East Ham London, Ruskin Hotel has a 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi and free parking. It also has a bar, a restaurant, and a TV lounge for guests to enjoy. Each bedroom has an en suite shower room, city views, a desk and a minibar. Guests also get tea/coffee making facilities and air conditioning. Wired internet connection is available in every room and it is free of charge. Room Service is available everyday between 11:30am to 22:30. East Ham underground station is a 6-minute walk from the hotel, and it takes less than 45 minutes to get into central London which boasts Oxford Street, Hyde Park, the London Eye, Tower of London and St Paul’s Cathedral to name a few. Stratford Shopping is 2.5 miles from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Ruskin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing