We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Ruskin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruskin Hotel
Ranked #578 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Indian Shores, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

From the moment I walked through the door I was welcomed with a warm friendly smile. Check in time was not until 2pm, however I was checked in earlier as my room was ready. This was very much appreciated as I just got off a long flight. Breakfast hit the spot and the rooms were clean and new. Definitely come back again!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vin428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review.

It is very much appreciated.

Kind Regards

James Pararajan | Managing Director

Ruskin Hotel
386 High Street North
Manor Park
E12 6PH
London

M: +(0) 44 774 5682 492
T: + (0) 44 2085 482000
F: + (0) 44 2085 482060
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    235
    93
    42
    33
See reviews for
103
184
44
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

On booking via booking.com we by mistake booked a wrong hotel. On calling the hotel in 5 mins after the booking made they told us that they couldnot refund us as per I booked on non refundable policy. My university was in central London but still I managed to get to Ruskin Hotel and travel daily to my Uni. The area is so noisy and packed. Rude staff and not at all welcoming. Check out was even worst. Breakfast was good but they watch you as if you will eat more. Reception lady was eating while attending us and was very rude.when checkout I had the same staff and we were just 10 mins late and she was behaving as if they will not be able to clean our rooms in future. Hotel is new built and good rooms but far off from station and central london. pity on staff sorry they need to learn more.

Room Tip: Be ready to get Insulted
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and feedback following your recent stay with us.

It is with great concern that I read that you did not experience the high standards we aim to provide and I would like to put remedy to these matters. Should you have a minute I would appreciate if you could send me a personal email with some further details of your visit. This would greatly increase my ability to review and act upon areas that might require attention.

Regardless of your response I wanted to ensure that you felt your comments are heard and we take the feedback from our guests as a valuable tool to constantly improve our service and product.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

James Pararajan
Managing Director
Ruskin Hotel
T: 02085482000
E: james.pararajan@ruskinhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The place was very clan and the rooms bigger and more comfortable than I expected for the price we were paying; the staff was very nice and helpful; and there was plenty of food for breakfast :) The location is not the best of the world, but there are also lots of options to eat at night on the main street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patillades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel overall was very nice. Room was clean, however the light over out bed failed on us. We informed the receptionist, who promptly sent someone out to take a look. The issue couldn't be fixed and were were offered an alternative room. We denied it - I can live with a failed light!. Breakfast was lovely, a wide selection of items for a continental breakfast. My only gripe was the location, it's set in an Indian neighborhood, and while walking through the neighborhood at night I did feel a bit vunerable due to the stares I was getting due to being the only white person around. The people in the resturants around were very friendly tho. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cannon106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at the Ruskin Hotel in February. It is a new hotel with very friendly staff that helped us out with ordering a taxi etc. It is in an Indian neighborhood with fantastic smells of food of Indian food and chicken. You can eat there for a small price, but be prepare that it can look subordinated to you, anyway, people from the restaurants are as friendly as the hotel staff.

The room is basic with a good well sized bed. Materials at the room desk, shower, wardrobe are basic as well, and sometimes looks too budget. For example, the clothes hanger felt down a few times.
There is no wifi in the rooms (lobby only), the staff will give you a network cable for a deposit of £5. I had some problems with the internet in the room, because it was not stable all the time / gives some network errors. After a few refreshes in the browser, the sites loaded.

The breakfast is varied. Pancakes, waffles, bread, croissants, Frankfurt sausages, fruit, yogurt, chocolates, cheese, meat, juice. But you have to watch out if it is not too old, at my first day I had a pancake with a little mold on it. Rest of the days it looks fresh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurjen-de-Vries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and feedback following your recent stay with us.

It is a shame that we did not deliver the high standards that we set ourselves. We have already put provisions in place to address the issues that you have raised.

If you could provide me further details of your stay then that would be greatly appreciated.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

James Pararajan
Managing Director
Ruskin Hotel
T: 02085482000
E: james.pararajan@ruskinhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in Feb 2013

As per the other reviews, staff very attentive and helpful. Rooms comfortable and clean. Decor/furniture all fairly new. Good value

Local restaurants are all fairly basic (fried chicken shops and lots of tamil/asian cafes - most of them not licensed).

2 stations (new ham and woodgrange park) within 10 mins walk

Worth a look if you're going to be in the area

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinburgher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Ruskin is a beautiful old building in Bloomsbury, the opposite of the dull corporate box. The staff are incredibly friendly & helpful, finding my partner's mislaid gold watch in a shared bathroom & returning it to her promptly.
Breakfast is a proper feast to set you up for a day's business or leisure, cooked to order plus the usual cereals & fruit juices, which would cost an extra 6 or 7 quid at a chain hotel. If you want modern decor, TV sets in every room or wipeable formica, you won't like the Ruskin, but if you want Georgian charm, original features and great views of a private square from the back windows, the Ruskin will suit you to a tee.
All areas are very clean, even if the decor is worn. We will now use The Ruskin as our pied a terre in town.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook a private square populated with sculptures
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The-Old-Scribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#703 of 1,068 in London
136 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#467 of 1,068 in London
368 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#314 of 1,068 in London
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Pickwick Hall
Pickwick Hall
#572 of 1,068 in London
154 reviews
White Lodge Hotel
#388 of 1,068 in London
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Hotel

Property: Ruskin Hotel
Address: 386 High Street North | Manor Park, London E12 6PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruskin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in East Ham London, Ruskin Hotel has a 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi and free parking. It also has a bar, a restaurant, and a TV lounge for guests to enjoy. Each bedroom has an en suite shower room, city views, a desk and a minibar. Guests also get tea/coffee making facilities and air conditioning. Wired internet connection is available in every room and it is free of charge. Room Service is available everyday between 11:30am to 22:30. East Ham underground station is a 6-minute walk from the hotel, and it takes less than 45 minutes to get into central London which boasts Oxford Street, Hyde Park, the London Eye, Tower of London and St Paul’s Cathedral to name a few. Stratford Shopping is 2.5 miles from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruskin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing