We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Girasole

Il Girasole
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Girasole is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,191 of 21,593 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We are locals but only recently discovered it when told, that according to Tripadvisor, we had one of the best restaurants in London on our doorstep. It didn't disappoint. It doesn't look much from the outside and the area can be quiet enough, but the restaurant was buzzing when arrived. It had a informal feel to it and we were welcomed by the Italian owner. The non-pizza menu choices are reasonably limited, but every dish I spotted in nearby tables looked fantastic. I had the veal carpaccio starter and the rabbit pappardelle as a main. My wife had the prawn linguine. All were perfect and we will definitely be going back soon to try some of the non-pasta dishes. I think we both might be ordering the Saltimbocca!

Desert menu was full of Italian classics, but we were fully satisfied by that point. Good value too. I think we have new favourite local restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    39
    10
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“a great Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

no need to much words, I've been there with my family and we had tried many dishes from pasta to pizza and arancini and desserts all very good!!! i m Italian and i never tasted so much of Italian in any of the restaurant in London!!love it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good Italian cooking; friendly, relaxed ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Six of us wanted somewhere good but not posh for a family meal to wish farewell to two of our party heading away for 2 years in Australia. We chose this restaurant on the basis of what we had read about Il Girasole on Tripadvisor and were most definitely not disappointed. It more than lived up to expectations and we had a great and memorable evening A small, bright room in an unprepossessing road in Wandsworth houses this really friendly restaurant offering super Italian food that you feel is prepared to old family recipes. The overwhelming impression we had was that the team was determined all their customers should really enjoy themselves - especially the food and the ambiance; nothing was too much trouble and the various dishes were beautifully cooked and delicious. House wine (red and white) both good quality and very good value for a London restaurant (£13.50/bottle). Nothing to criticise and everything to praise – Il Girasole richly deserves the very good reviews it has received on Tripadvisor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DorsetRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Infinitely better than Rossopomodorro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went here last night before watching a film at the local Cineworld, and it really is a little hidden gem. It was quiet when we arrived, but within 30 minutes it had filled up - the staff were incredibly friendly and attentive, without being overbearing, and the food was all very tasty. Probably the best scallops I've ever had - and the Aperol spritzer is reasonably priced, not the £8 you get charged elsewhere.

After going to Rossopomodorro at Southside a couple of weeks ago and being treated terribly by the management there, I can't recommend enough the extra 5 minute walk to this great little neighbourhood place. Better food than I've had in many parts of Italy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing: OK for an average neighbour restaurant but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

After reading the excellent reviews we made a special trip to this restaurant with high expectations.

The food was good for your average local Italian, but certainly not outstanding, and not worth making a trip for.

Being ranking the 5th best restaurant in London by tripadvisor is quite some achievement, and after eating there I have absolutely no idea how its gained this ranking.

If you want to try an exceptional authentic Italian restaurant, Al Boccon d'vino in Richmond really is a different class to this place, yet somehow doesn't rank anywhere near this.

In summary, there was nothing wrong with the food, and the service was pretty good. However the tripadvisor ranking is hugely misleading and there's tonnes of similar priced restaurants in London I can think of which are much better than this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Girasole also viewed

 

Been to Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing