We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good indeed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Girasole

Il Girasole
Ranked #897 of 20,719 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,358 helpful votes
“Very good indeed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very much a local Italian but now attracting lots of people from far and wide. We come several times a year because my sister lives on the grid just close by. Always busy, very friendly, nice buzz, helpful staff and near perfect Italian food. Lots of descriptions in earlier reviews which admirably echo our experiences. I highly recommend this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeS424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    36
    9
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Italian in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent and genuine delicious Italian food. Strolled in off chance with some friends
who all thoroughly enjoyed the various different dishes .Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal with friends!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We met a friend at Il Girasole on our first night in London. We loved the food and ambiance - small, intimate, great (GREAT) service. Nicely done!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank etmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“bravo!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went here with my wife on a sat afternoon great place the owner was very nice and chatted away to us his service was great very casual like the decor loved the food.....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank alanrobertson38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I visited this restaurant after reading the reviews and wanting to find a good Italian Restaurant *non franchised* in london for a while. I was pleasantly surprised to find this little gem. Although pretty much across the other side of london from me I found it was definitely worth the journey. The starter was a sign of things to come. Perfect and delicious. All the courses that followed were just as good if not even more tasty than the last. Fresh food, presented perfectly on a fine dining level. Alessandro (who I'm sure is the owner) was very welcoming and friendly and is quite the character. He was very appreciative of the compliments we made about the food when in the restaurant and seemed very humbled by them, but it is much deserved. I would definitely make this journey again to this restaurant and you will definitely be having my custom as regular as possible.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JayW8807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Girasole also viewed

 

Been to Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing