We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lured by Pizza but stayed for a meal”
Review of Il Girasole

Il Girasole
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Girasole is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,713 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lured by Pizza but stayed for a meal”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I have recently moved into the area and went in with the intention of ordering a pizza to takeway and ended up staying for a 3 course meal. The owner Alessandro is incredibly friendly and recommended some outstanding specials and let us sample some other options such as the incredibledpicy sausage which i shall be returning for. its not often one can have such great quality food and service on ones doorstep for such a reasonable price - we fell lucky!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    43
    10
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Tuscan fare”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

wonderful restaurant with delicious, traditional Tuscan/Umbrian cuisine. The Norcina pizza is a particular favourite, made with Umbrian sausage and black truffle. The pasta dishes are also fantastic and the wines are well sourced and very affordable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just what you expect from an authentic Italian restaurant - superb food, great wines and very friendly atmosphere. Our age range was 6 to 69 as we celebrated a family birthday and we all had an amazing time. The service was impeccable. We can't wait to go again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding. Best Italian south of the river”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Possibly the best service, best food and most approachable wine list for an Italian restaurant I have been to in the UK. The owner Alessandro, formerly manager of Osteria Antica Bologna on the Northcote Road, has taken all of his knowledge of food, service, ambience and drinks to his own venture and it is awesome.

We had been told to expect a pizzeria and whilst the pizzas were amazing the rest of the menu was awesome. Northcote Rd's Osteria was fabulous under his management and his own restaurant is even better.
Great value, great food, great fun. A testatment to Alessandro.

Please check it out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank timothymarkwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best italian restaurant in London”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very good italian food and fantastic pizza, friendly atmosphere and lovely italian staff! I recommend this italian restaurant and I will return for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamiroquai73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Girasole also viewed

 

Been to Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing