We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for an extended vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel London Blackfriars
Ranked #122 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our 5th trip to London. We always booked a hotel noted for one thing or another like, "Julius Caesar slept here" and he probably did as some hotels seem that old with small and stuffy rooms. The Novotel London Blackfriars was a pleasant find. Modern with large clean rooms and large updated bathrooms (very much like American standards). The entire staff were neatly uniformed and very helpful when asked for location of places or where to purchase certain items; The managers bent over backwards to accommodate us on our every wish. The dining area was impeccable and the Continental Breakfast that is included with your room was more than one could imagine. You could not have asked for a better location (other than maybe #10 Downing Street). We found ourselves walking to just about everywhere where we wanted to visit. 10 minutes to Waterloo Station where you can catch any city tour bus you might desire. 8 nights seemed too short of a stay, we will return and stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Stay away from street side rooms (unless you want to peek at the local activity) as off street rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ernie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments; it is always a pleasure to receive a five star review.

I am happy to hear you had a perfect stay with us and that our staff made you feel welcome from the first minute you stepped into our hotel.

We look forward welcoming you in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 2,456 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed for a family vacation in London in July. Staff was courteous and efficient, room was clean, pool/sauna were excellent. Prepaid breakfast was very good, plenty of variety (eggs, pancakes, waffles, sausage, bacon, beans, cereal, breads/pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc). Very close to the Southwark tube station and some good restaurant options within a few minutes walk. We are likely to stay again if/when we return to London. Tate Museum/Millenium Bridge/Globe Theatre all within an easy walk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SM1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback

I am happy to see you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and you found our hotel to be perfect for your London stay.

We look forward welcoming you in the future

Yours Sincerely

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Booked this as a last-minute secret rooms, so wasn't sure what to expect.

Essentially like an upmarket premier inn - good, but not great, location for southbank etc

Tip marred slightly by them trying to charge us for free water - quickly dropped when we argued.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank vgvgvvvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.

We look forward welcoming you in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

First time staying at this particular hotel, primarily for the location. Very clean throughout, helpful staff, nice bed and quiet. Didn't eat in the restaurant or use the gym so cannot comment on those parts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarkBarefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.

I am happy to see you had a good stay with us

We look forward welcoming you in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here for a business trip recently. The hotel is conveniently located a few minutes' walk away from the tube stop at Southwark and there are plenty of restaurants nearby too. My room was very clean and well furnished and I was able to get a good night's sleep. Unfortunately I didn't have time to try out the pool or gym so can't comment on them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CambridgeTrav1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review; it is always a pleasure to receive five stars

I am happy to see you found our rooms comfortable and that you found our perfect location convenient for your stay in London.

We look forward welcoming you in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed recently in this hotel and was surprised. The hotel is very modern with nice fresh and clean interiors. Location is perfect. Haven't try gym and pool so cannot say anything about it. However restaurant is very, very good. I enjoyed my dinner, which was great and couldn't miss breakfast, because it was extremely delicious. And for sure staff was very helpful and poly.
This is very good hotel which should be ranked higher than regular Novotel's. The only negative point was the price, but it must be lower when Wimbledon is over.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review; it is always a pleasure to receive five stars

I am happy to see you found our staff friendly and that you took advantage of our perfect location.

We look forward welcoming you in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Enjoyed our stay. Room was clean, comfortable and nice, Free wifi, breakfast included and overall a good value. Staff were friendly, but overall service was average which isn't uncommon in London. The location is great, a short walk to Southwark Underground or Waterloo Station or Thames. Lots of good restaurants within about a 15 minute walk. If you need a cab, I suggest using the Dial-A-Cab app, but you can often flag a cab down on Blackfriar. The hotel has an agreement with a car service which is nice, but we paid twice as much for a ride to Kings Cross before I found the app. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Pool was nice, sauna was wonderful and Jacuzzi wasn't very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.

I am happy to see you had a good stay with us

We look forward welcoming you in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#273 of 1,076 in London
3,488 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#257 of 1,076 in London
2,259 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#55 of 1,076 in London
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#160 of 1,076 in London
1,485 reviews
Novotel London Waterloo
#325 of 1,076 in London
3,094 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#276 of 1,076 in London
2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Blackfriars

Address: 46 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in London
#99 Family Hotel in London
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#133 Romantic Hotel in London
#151 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $157 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Blackfriars 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel London Blackfriars is a beautifully designed contemporary and exciting hotel in a vibrant area of London, whether you are staying for business or pleasure. Located just minutes away from the City and London's famous Southbank, you will be within walking distance of Waterloo Station and some of the capital's most famous landmarks, including the London Eye, Tate Modern and St Pauls Cathedral. You can unwind in our Jamboree Foodfest & Bar, which celebrate flavours from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Blackfriars England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing