We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool pool - literally according to my wife!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel London Blackfriars
Ranked #177 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Luton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cool pool - literally according to my wife!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Booked a couple of nights here at a good rate for a weekend in London with my wife and daughter. Modern rooms (my daughter loved the switch for frosting the bathroom glass), very friendly helpful staff on check-in and a very funky basement pool. My wife thought it was too cold but my daughter and I loved it.

Hotel is in a great position.....easy to walk to the South Bank and a little further down to The Tower of London and Tower Bridge.

We'd stay here again which is always a good recommendation from me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and review here on Tripadvisor.

I am very glad that you liked our modern rooms with the bathroom glass, that you find us to be in a great position and you have enjoyed the very funky swimming pool. I am particularly happy to read your comments about our very friendly and helpful staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back to our hotel.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    847
    164
    48
    16
See reviews for
1,036
473
69
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

excellent hotel - did not understand why people complain so much about breakfast room. Everything worked well from the check in to check out. At the pool area only half wall projection was working during our stay (if you install these fancy things you should always make sure that they are fully working). Kids loved the hotel, room, iPad-table in restaurant, pool and sauna.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Minnamyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I appreciate your feedback about our excellent hotel and I am sure that this will be very helpful to the Traveller community here on Tripadvisor.

I am happy that everything worked well for you from check to check out and that your kids loved the bedroom, the IPad table in the restaurant and the swimming pool and Saunarium.

I am glad to tell you that the wall projection is working just fine now. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very good hotel and they gave me a very good room. The location is good to visit the Tate Modern, St. Paul Cathedral, London Bridge, etc. but very few restaurants nearby.
The breakfast is fair but expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank AnonimoLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us. It is very much appreciated.

I am very happy to read that you find our hotel and bedrooms very good and that you like the location.

Should you be returning to our hotel in the future, please ask our front desk team about the different options of breakfast we have available and also about the restaurants available in the area. We are here for you 24 hours and 7 days a week.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I only stayed at the Novotel Blackfriars (actually near Southwark station) for a night on May 19th, but it was a good night. This seems to be the new concept/decoration for Novotel hotels. The room I had was spacious as usual at Novotel, and the new decoration is very nice. Excellent bed, and I loved the new style bathroom.
Check-in was very quick and the gentleman at the desk was very welcoming. The room service was excellent, and the lady who brought it to my room was very friendly. In short, all staff members were very good.
My only down side was the tv in the room, it is a bit high and cannot be moved left or right, which would be better when you are sitting on the sofa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I am extremely grateful for your comments and it is really nice to read your review.

It is great to see that you have enjoyed staying in our spacious, very nice decorated rooms and you liked the excellent beds.

I am particularly satisfied to read that your room service was excellent, that the check-in was very quick and that on both occasions you were served by our very welcoming and very friendly staff.

We are really looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next stay.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at Novotel for the weekend for my husband's 30th birthday and cannot fault it. We had room 1018, so up on the 10th floor with views across the city including the Shard. The room had loads of clever details, was a good size and with an amazing shower!

I'm a really light sleeper but didn't hear anything in this room, not even other rude guests letting their doors bang shut, which is usually unavoidable. The bed was a good size and very comfortable and the free wifi was perfect and easy to access. All the staff were very polite and helpful and check in / check out was really quick.

I'd seen what others had said about breakfast, but we didn't have any issues at all and the food was very good. What we really loved was that check out wasn't until 12 and that breakfast at the weeked also runs till 12 - so it's incredibly flexible. You can lie in and not miss it!

The hotel is also located just a couple minutes walk from Southwark tube station, so was really easy to get about, and just 10mins walk from Waterloo so easy for getting home again. We walked the short distance from the hotel to the river and Tate Modern then down the bank to London Bridge.

So overall a great place to stay and a reasonable price if booked in advance. It is now our hotel of choice when in London.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask then for a room that is on a higher floor and 18 or 19, so it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HealthAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
It gives me a great pleasure to read your review and I am very glad to see that everything was perfect and you will be returning to our hotel.

I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed staying in our comfortable bedrooms and that you liked the free Wi-Fi access.

It is also very nice to read that you have liked the breakfast so much and that the food was very good.

I appreciate your comments about our very polite and helpful staff and we are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit to London.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed two nights in May 2013 for business. Arrived at hotel to very welcoming and friendly staff. Were given a beautiful room and the whole hotel is very nicely designed. Particularly liked the colour scheme, iPads available on the breakfast table and very nice food and drinks available in the restaurant and bar. The hotel also has an excellent gym and swimming pool including a sauna. Very good service and staff was very helpful when I asked for something. Very central and just a walk to sights nearby. I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swaerholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I am overwhelmed and very happy to read your fantastic review about our hotel.
It is great to see that you had such an excellent stay and you find our hotel to be in a perfect location.

I am also very pleased to see that you find our hotel staff at the arrival and in the restaurant and bar to be very welcoming, very friendly and very helpful.

I am glad you have enjoyed our beautiful bedrooms and the design of the hotel and of course the very nice food and drinks in our restaurant and bar.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit to London.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Could not fault this hotel. Staff friendly, helpful and very good value for money. We were close to attractions and only a short walk to the London Eye and Southbank. If we return to London we will stay here again. Great for kids, especially the pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MintersCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I am extremely satisfied with your review and rating of our hotel.

It is great to read your comments about our friendly and helpful staff and that you find our hotel to be good value for money. I am also happy that your kids have enjoyed the swimming pool and that you liked the location.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#246 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,168 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#275 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel London Waterloo
#324 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#247 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#308 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Blackfriars

Property: Novotel London Blackfriars
Address: 46 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in London
#133 Romantic Hotel in London
#139 Luxury Hotel in London
#150 Family Hotel in London
#152 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Blackfriars 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel London Blackfriars is a beautifully designed contemporary and exciting hotel in a vibrant area of London, whether you are staying for business or pleasure. The city is a short hop over the river Thames. You'll be minutes away from London's famous South Bank - take a stroll down the river and you'll find some of the capital's most famous Landmarks, including the London Eye, Tate Modern, the Shard and Shakespeare's Globe. Look out for the state-of-the-art facilities at Novotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Blackfriars England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing