We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant hotel !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel London Blackfriars
Ranked #177 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“brilliant hotel !!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

we were only here for 1 night but from the moment we checked in to the moment we left all the staff were friendly and helpful, we dropped our case off in the morning and then went back at 2 pm to go to out room which wasn't quite ready but by 2.20 we were in our room which was small but well designed and had everything you needed. We asked for a late check out which they gave us so we went for a swim and breakfast. Will defiantly stay here again when we are down in London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget13269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I am thankful for your great 5 star review and very pleased that you find our hotel to brilliant.

It is great that from the moment you checked in until the moment you left the staff were friendly and helpful at all times and stored your luggage free of charge until your room was ready.

I am also happy that you like the well-designed bedrooms and that we could offer you a late check-out.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    847
    164
    48
    16
See reviews for
1,036
473
69
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

If we visit London again, we will be SURE to stay here again. Perfect location as 2 minutes walk from the tube station. Great for kids. Clean and lovely pool. The staff were really helpful. We were able to leave our luggage early on the first day and also on the last day. Thank you !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Liv1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I am very happy to read that you had perfect stay with us and I appreciate your fantastic review.

I am very satisfied that you enjoyed our perfect location, that you find our hotel to be clean and great for kids. I am also pleased that you loved the pool and your comments about our very helpful staff are a pleasure to read.

We are offering a free storage of the luggage for every guest on arrival and departure, should the room not be ready to be occupied before 2pm.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit to London.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovereto, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Nice hotel in a very strategic position, but not enough employees to attends many hosts.
In 4 days stay, three times we spent in average 20-30 minutes to have seats available at the breakfast. The last day I was told I should have had breakfast before 8 am!!! Knowing I was in vacation with my children I think it was a very brilliant suggestion.
What surprised me was the reason for such long queue: not enough waiter/waitresses to clean or set tables!! It would have been to hire few temporary employees to solve the issue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paolo0862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much for review your stay and I sincerely sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations.

During the Easter holidays, school holiday and on weekends we are experiencing a high numbers of family’s in the hotel and for that the breakfast is always very popular, mostly between 8am-10am. We are ensuring that our guests are informed upon arrival and I apologise if you have not been told.

I can ensure you that there are sufficient numbers of employees working on a daily basis and that all management is daily on hand to assist all our staff and guest with the service to ensure a smooth operation.

I will forward your solution to our Food and Beverage department and I am sure that this will be greatly appreciated.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back for your next visit to London and please contact me directly and I will personally look after your reservation.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A hotel at a perfect location and rooms. But a hotel is not only beds and a place to sleep. It is a total experience. To wait 20 minutes for breakfast is not adding to a total experience. For this hotel to reach the level of the rooms and location, it has to do something about service at breakfast time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay with us.

I am sorry to read that on this occasion we were not able to meet your expectations and I can assure you that we are working every day on improving our services and therefore I appreciate your feedback.

During the Easter holidays, school holiday and on weekends we are experiencing a high number of family’s in the hotel and for that the breakfast is always very popular, mostly between 8am-10am. We are ensuring that our guests are informed upon arrival and I apologise if you have not been told.

I am still very glad you have enjoyed the location and bedrooms and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed here twice, once on business and once for pleasure, on each occasion for two nights.

The location is excellent for both business and pleasure. Although south of the river, a short walk takes you to Fleet Street, the Strand, Covent Garden and beyond in one direction or Ludgate Hill and St Paul's in the other.

The hotel is still relatively new so that taxi drivers do not always know where it is-be very clear about the directions so that you do not go to the wrong hotel.

Reception was very professional. I had a luxury room on both occasions, with a balcony and a view of the Shard. Worth it, especially at weekend when the rates are cheaper.

The room and bathroom were excellent. Breakfast was the standard Novotel breakfast bit arranged in a breakfast area with some innovative seating arrangements.

Overall this would be one of my top choices for a London stay-very clean, modern, relatively quiet and with very smart and professional staff. I hope it stays as spotless as it is at the moment-if so you should not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The higher the better-and if you can get a room with a balcony, do go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 227957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I am extremely grateful for your very nice review of your stay. It is much appreciated.

It is great to see that you find the location to be excellent for both business and pleasure, that you liked our bedroom and bathroom and you that have enjoyed the view out of our balcony rooms. I am particularly satisfied to read your comments about our very professional reception and the overall smart and professional staff.

I am very satisfied that you consider our hotel to be one of your top choices for a London stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Exellent location: 20 mins walk to Big Ben, but not noisy.
Hi-tech allover the hotel, new, modern.
Service with a smile.
Swimming pool is a bonus.
Breakfast and dinner buffet style, but Excellent quality and choice, definetly value for money in London. Good choice of wine.
Everything is new and spotless.
Would definetly go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 123liliaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I am very satisfied to read your fantastic review about our hotel and I appreciate your 5* rating.

It gives me a pleasure to see that you enjoyed the excellent quality of our breakfast and Dinner buffet and that you liked the good choices of wine.

I am particularly happy that you find the service to be delivered with a smile and it is nice to see that you enjoyed all our modern and new technologies.

We are really looking forward to welcome you back for your next stay at Novotel London Blackfriars

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton On Trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

When we arrived we were met by a very professional reception, lovely manner and very knowledgable. Behind us were free computers (macs) with free printing . In to the lifts we went and as a token of secure the hotel was - you could only move up or down with a valid key card. Room was amazing / minimalist with a great view of the London eye. Huge shower - my wife loved the ability to frost / defrost the ensuite glass. Nice sized TV with plenty of channel. Tube stop (Southwark) only 1 minute walk. We were allowed to check in a hour early and Checkout a few hours late for free. This was good as we used the pool - with clever digital wall and had chance to walk to the Tate - only 5 mins walk. Breakfast very good value - anything you could ever want and clean non greasy fry up. Only 1 tiny disappointment (barely noticeable) the sausages were a little undercooked - made up for this with the veggie sausage.

Room Tip: We had room 901 - had the view of the London eye and furthest from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I am very pleased to read your review about our brilliant hotel and I appreciate your high recommendation to others.

It gives me a real pleasure to read your comments about the very good value of breakfast and I can assure you that we are checking daily that all our food is processed and cooked according to the Health & Safety regulations.

I am also very glad to read that you were greeted by a very professional, with lovely manner and very knowledgably reception and you were happy with our facilities such as the swimming pool and the I macs in the lobby. I appreciate your comments about our amazing rooms.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#246 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,168 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#275 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel London Waterloo
#324 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#247 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#308 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Blackfriars

Property: Novotel London Blackfriars
Address: 46 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in London
#133 Romantic Hotel in London
#139 Luxury Hotel in London
#150 Family Hotel in London
#152 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Blackfriars 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel London Blackfriars is a beautifully designed contemporary and exciting hotel in a vibrant area of London, whether you are staying for business or pleasure. The city is a short hop over the river Thames. You'll be minutes away from London's famous South Bank - take a stroll down the river and you'll find some of the capital's most famous Landmarks, including the London Eye, Tate Modern, the Shard and Shakespeare's Globe. Look out for the state-of-the-art facilities at Novotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Blackfriars England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing