We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay on Business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel London Blackfriars
Ranked #130 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel hadn't been open long when I stayed over. It's fairly close to our London office so I thought I'd give it a try.

I found checking in a little slow and tedious with lots of questions and waiting for the computer to catchup because "it's on a go slow". However the rest of my experiance was brilliant.

The rooms are really stunning, up to date TV and numerous ways to connect your iPod, Laptop or any bluetooth device to the TV and audio system. The bathroom is all glass fronted whixh kind of concerns you when you can see the toilet from the bedroom !! but clever electric frosting glass soon puts your mind at rest.

The bar area is nice although there is not extensive seating. The drinks are ususal London hotel prices so take care not too charge too much to your room. The only food I eat in the hotel was breakfast which was very nice - again though seating can be a problem if they are very busy.

I didn't use the healthclub but from what I saw it looked good. Checkout was a lot quicker than check in.

Will definately be staying here regularly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKnibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

I am thankful for your great review of your stay and for your 5*rating.

I appreciate your comments about our check in procedure and it is great that you brought this to my attention, as it is valuable feedback for us.

I am happy to read that you find our bedrooms to be stunning and that you liked all the possibilities to connect your media devices, such as our Media Hub. I also very glad that you liked our nice bar and the very nice breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next stay.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,213 - 1,219 of 2,390 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Benefits of staying at hotel: excellent breakfast, courteous and attentive staff, 2 minute walk to southwark station to go straight to Bond Street on Oxford Street or Houses of Parliament. If you book the standard room when you get there see if you can upgrade to the Executive suite. Well worth the money. Hotel manager Lario was helpful and considerate to me and Thomas at the front desk is always smiling. Nothing is too much, if you ask, it gets done. A woman in the lounge was having dinner when her battery ran out on her ipad, a staff member ran over with an international converter. Phones in front of the elevators on every floor if you need staff. We locked ourself out and a member of staff was there within the minute. Food is gorgeous three course dining with professional French-trained staff. Ipads on dining tables for the kids. Pool was great. Cannot fault this hotel, the service is extraordinary, thank you Lario for making our stay memorable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarissaStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

I am extremely satisfied to read that you have enjoyed our excellent hospitality and your stay. Thank you very much for your detailed feedback following your stay with us and for rating our hotel so highly.

I am happy to read that every member of the team delivered an extraordinary and attentive service and you have noticed how much we care for our guests. Especially our always smiling Thomas and of course Ilario who made your stay so memorable.

It is great that our excellent breakfast and the gorgeous dinner were at your satisfaction.
We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back for your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel with our 2 children (3 and 5) and had a wonderful time there. The room was ideal for a family of 4 (1 double bed + 2 singled beds) and very comfortable. The facilities of the hotel are very modern and the swimming pool was great. The breakfast was delicious with a lot to choose from. The free wifi worked very well which makes it a good option for business travellers. I am not sure I agree with having ipads available in the Dining area but it is up to each parent to decide if they want their children to play during dinner or not. The hotel was great value-for-money, especially by London standards, and very conveniently located for the Southwark Jubilee Line station and Waterloo Station. We would strongly recommend to anyone booking into this hotel (the staff is very friendly and approachable).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Britfr0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback, following your stay with us.

I am glad that you find our hotel to be very good and that you had such a wonderful time with us. It is great to see that the bedroom was ideal for you to accommodate 2 adults and 2 children and it was very comfortable for you.

I am also happy that you enjoyed the delicious breakfast, the great swimming pool, the free Wi-Fi and that you find our staff to be very friendly and approachable.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit to London and I appreciate your recommendation.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We saved money by shopping around and stayed here with our five year old for a weekend in London. Great location within walking distance of lots of attractions. Everything was perfect from the bed linen to the shower, the helpful friendly staff and delicious breakfast. We used the indoor heated pool and were the only ones in there. Towels and toiletries were provided. Bed was very comfy and bed linen felt sumptuous. A bed for our five year old was already made up.
We ran out of tea bags so phoned reception and a staff member brought some up to our room within minutes. Staff were helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again but would recommend you shop around to get a good deal, otherwise a bit pricy.

Room Tip: We had a superior double for a family of three. It had no bath but a luxury walk in shower. Although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your great 5* rating here on Tripadvisor and I am very satisfied to read that your stay was perfect in every way.

It very nice to read your comments about our friendly and helpful staff, the delicious breakfast and I am very happy that you have enjoyed the bedrooms and the indoor heated swimming pool.

I appreciate your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Everything you expect from a top hotel. Clean, modern, comfy beds etc. Quiet and very good location. Swimming pool small but ideal to relax in. Breakfast top notch, can't think of anything bad to say about it. Would stay again. Free wifi which is a real bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chemken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

I am extremely pleased with your feedback and the 5* rating about your stay. It is much appreciated.

It gives me great satisfaction to read that our hotel is everything what you expect from a top hotel. Also that you find our breakfast to be top notch and the room to be clean, modern and the swimming pool ideal to relax.

I am happy that you have enjoyed our free Wi-Fi offer and that it was a real bonus for you.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit to London.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrWill33
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Room was spacious and well equipped, bed really comfy and service good at all times. Didn't use many of the amenities (swimming pool etc) but would say it was good value for money. Would definitely recommend it if you want a 4 star hotel near the centre of London

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnH261_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and review here on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that you had a comfortable stay and that you find the room to be spacious , well equipped and the bed really comfy.I am particularly happy that you find the service to be good at all times.

I appreciate your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#268 of 1,077 in London
3,445 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#252 of 1,077 in London
2,226 reviews
Novotel London Waterloo
#328 of 1,077 in London
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#234 of 1,077 in London
2,961 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#254 of 1,077 in London
2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Blackfriars

Address: 46 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in London
#99 Family Hotel in London
#111 Luxury Hotel in London
#133 Romantic Hotel in London
#152 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $153 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Blackfriars 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel London Blackfriars is a beautifully designed contemporary and exciting hotel in a vibrant area of London, whether you are staying for business or pleasure. Located just minutes away from the City and London's famous Southbank, you will be within walking distance of Waterloo Station and some of the capital's most famous landmarks, including the London Eye, Tate Modern and St Pauls Cathedral. You can unwind in our Jamboree Foodfest & Bar, which celebrate flavours from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Blackfriars England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing