We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twin room was too small”
Review of Chiswick Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chiswick Rooms
Ranked #671 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lets start with the positives. Hotel is conveniently located just off Chiswick High Road and close to Stamford Brook Tube. Our twin room was spotlessly clean with quality sanitary ware in the bathroom.
Sadly the negatives - our twin room was ridiculously small so much so that when one stood up the other had to sit on the bed out the way. There is virtually no storage and the fridge advertised is tiny- no room even for a bottle of wine.
And the bathroom - or the size (or lack of it) only 0.8m wide with a toilet on one side and a shower on the other side which worked fine. The hand basin is in the middle and you have to keep the bathroom door open to use it.
The room is so small and claustrophobic we could only sleep in it.
Would we stay here again? Not a chance - sorry but it is only right that our reviews are honest.

Room Tip: Avoid the small twin rooms
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hope1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Chiswick Rooms.

The Chiswick Rooms has been awarded 4* guest accommodation from the Quality in Tourism board. I am glad to hear that your room was spotless, our housekeeping team work hard, to provide all our guests a clean comfortable stay with us.

The team and I are obviously extremely disappointed to see that we did not exceed your expectations. It saddens me to know that you did not get a nice feeling from one of our rooms, which are normally very popular with our guests.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not delivering a satisfactory experience for you on this occasion, I hope that at some point in the future, we will be able to welcome you back. Should you require any further assistance from me please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Chiswick Rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Chiswick Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 208 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

The photos really don't do this place justice! After a frantic last minute search for a hotel in London with much shocked balking at prices we "settled" for this place because for the location it seemed pretty good value. On arrival I couldn't believe the high standard of the place. The furniture was much nicer (it's not all cheap ikea stuff as it looks), the shower room was beautifully finished and very nice to use, there was a fridge, air con, flat screen (too high up on the wall- my only complaint!), speakers for the TV in the shower room (so impressed with this!), nice comfy firm bed, stereo with line in. Lovely coffee shop 10 seconds walk for breakfast and the tube 2 minutes in the other direction. Lots of nice places to visit, eat and drink on Chiswick high street a few minutes walk away. Frame bed allowed plenty of room to stash cases. Yes the rooms are tiny, but if you can live with that they're great and well planned. So pleased we found this!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Interacdiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such kind comments on Tripadvisor in relation to your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that we met your expectations. A lot of thought has been put into making the Chiswick Rooms the perfect place to stay for all our guests. The Chiswick Rooms offers all our guests the necessary essentials that every traveller requires such as: flat screen HD TVs, ample power outlets with EU sockets, Free Wi-Fi, Mini Fridge, Individually controlled Air-conditioning and heating, Free Calls to local and national numbers, Worldwide calls at VoIp charges, IPhone docking stations that enable guests to charge their iPhones and play their music, Anti-allergy pillows and duvets, Luxurious World renowned Hypnos beds in every room, Complimentary Enhanced tea and coffee facilities. The hotel is in the perfect location for both business and leisure. It is located within easy reach to the centre of London and the West End. Within a couple of minutes walk you will be at the underground station (Stamford Brook in Zone 2) which gives great links to all the attractions in London.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and continuing to be your preferred accommodation choice when you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a perfect place to stay. Great value for money and so close to the tube (Stanford Brook. Love Chiswick by the way. Chiswick High Road is a very nice street with tons of shops, restaurants and coffee places. So enough for breakfast. If you want to have a quiet room try to ask for one on the upper floor. We were on the 1 st floor and because it is an old building you can hear some "walking" noise from the upstairs rooms. For us it was not really disturbing because we had quiet guests above us! Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkusvdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chiswick Rooms and for your kind praises. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you have great memories of the time spent with us and found it to be a good value. We have 4 floors at the Chiswick Rooms, our guests can make a request to stay upstairs if they prefer. We will try and endeavor to meet your request. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A lot of money has been spent to upgrade this hotel, but honestly, it's money wasted. The double room we stayed in did not have enough room for both of us to move about at the same time- one had to stay on the bed while the other dressed. The bathroom although it had a lovely shower, didn't have a full sized basin and the light was too poor to shave or apply make-up. The towels were thin, grey and not big enough. In addition, the hotel laundry lay outside our door for the three days of our stay. There was a noisy generator outside our window.
The staff were pleasant and friendly, but our room was not cleaned during our stay over 2 nights.
I wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone over 4' tall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morag G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, we take all our guest feedback very seriously. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I am really sorry to hear you were disappointed with our housekeeping; this has been relayed back to our housekeeping department to ensure that this does not happen to any of our future guests. We try and ensure a high standard in the hotel and will certainly review this matter. We have two types of double rooms, compact double and standard double our Compact Rooms are smaller in size than our double rooms and thus our price for this type of room reflects this. If you are looking for a larger room please book our Standard Double Rooms.

We are happy to hear that you found our team friendly. I do hope we have the opportunity in the future to show you improved service, and welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at the Chiswick Rooms with my boyfriend for a few nights a week ago.
Lovely Hotel, the rooms are clean and the staff were friendly.
The hotel is a minute away from the tube which then takes about 20-25 minutes to get into central london, so an ideal location for sight seeing. There is a high street a minute away with some nice coffee shops and cafes, perfect for breakfast or an afternoon cuppa.
The only downside with the hotel is the size of the rooms - they are pretty small. My boyfriend booked our trip, but he commented he had opted for the larger double, and it was still a bit of a squeeze. This didn't bother us particularly as we weren't there much and we're both pretty little, but for a larger person or someone with lots of luggage it might be a bit of a problem.
Mostly though it was lovely and i'd def go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairelou27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chiswick Rooms and for taking the time to write this review

We at the Chiswick Rooms are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the location, service and accommodation.

We are located on the district line in Zone 2. Our nearest Underground station is Stanford Brook on the District Line, which has a direct link to Natural History museum, the Science museum, Victoria and Albert Museum, Victoria Station, Buckingham Palace, London Eye, Big Ben, Parliament square and the Tower of London.

Our room sizes vary from room to room however we do have a clear difference in room sizes between the compact double and the standard double. All our beds have space underneath for luggage.

We hope to welcome you again to the Chiswick Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Chiswick Rooms for one night at the weekend as we were going to a concert at the nearish Hammersmith Apollo. Unfortunately the District line was out of action, so we had to walk from Hammersmith tube (about 20 mins), so that was not ideal (but not Chiswick Room's fault!). We were expecting the room to be very small, so had no issues with that for one night. It was spotless and very modern. Staff were very friendly, and we would definitely stay here again, though not in the height of summer. The room was boiling hot so we put the air con on, which it seemed only had one noisy (and powerful) setting. So we were either v v hot, or v cold. The double-glazing is great as we could hardly hear the busy road below, but it did mean that opening a window was a no-go as there were buses going past very regularly. Oh, and the speaker in the bathroom didn't work. Still, overall, very good, and would recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chiswick Rooms for your recent stay in London.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be clean and modern. I am truly sorry that you had some issues with the speaker in the bathroom during your stay. We will identify which room this was in and get our maintenance department to fix this.

All our rooms have air conditioning with five units (cooling, heating, drying, fan or automatic) this gives our guests the choice to set their own temperatures. Our friendly team at reception will help all our guests with AC setting.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you don't need the facilities of a hotel or B&B then this is an ideal place to stay, Stamford Brook tube station is a stones throw away so access to central London is very straightforward, Chiswick has a very relaxed atmosphere and the high road has a good selection of shops and numerous restaurants, cafes and bars and is very convenient for visiting Kew Gardens.
The rooms themselves are very modern and spotlessly clean, but are small and there is no lift so you have to struggle up a tight staircase with your luggage. If you are elderly you will need to book a ground floor room and I would not recommend this establishment to the disabled especially those in a wheelchair.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leintwardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank You for sharing your views on the Chiswick Rooms, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time in London. It's indeed a plus point for our guests as we’re situated near London’s most of the famous attractions and there are lots of fabulous cafes and restaurants.

We have 4 floors at the Chiswick Rooms, our guests can make a request to stay in the ground floor if they prefer. Our friendly team at reception will help all our guests with their luggage up the stairs.

We hope to welcome you again to the Chiswick Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Hammersmith / Fulham
Premier Inn London Hammersmith Hotel
Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
#164 of 1,072 in London
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#255 of 1,072 in London
723 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Best Western Plus Seraphine Hammersmith Hotel
London Star Hotel
#742 of 1,072 in London
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiswick Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiswick Rooms

Address: 407-411 Goldhawk Road, London W6 0SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #671 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $81 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chiswick Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chiswick Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiswick Rooms London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing