We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for Hobbits”
Review of Chiswick Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chiswick Rooms
Ranked #691 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A lot of money has been spent to upgrade this hotel, but honestly, it's money wasted. The double room we stayed in did not have enough room for both of us to move about at the same time- one had to stay on the bed while the other dressed. The bathroom although it had a lovely shower, didn't have a full sized basin and the light was too poor to shave or apply make-up. The towels were thin, grey and not big enough. In addition, the hotel laundry lay outside our door for the three days of our stay. There was a noisy generator outside our window.
The staff were pleasant and friendly, but our room was not cleaned during our stay over 2 nights.
I wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone over 4' tall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morag G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, we take all our guest feedback very seriously. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I am really sorry to hear you were disappointed with our housekeeping; this has been relayed back to our housekeeping department to ensure that this does not happen to any of our future guests. We try and ensure a high standard in the hotel and will certainly review this matter. We have two types of double rooms, compact double and standard double our Compact Rooms are smaller in size than our double rooms and thus our price for this type of room reflects this. If you are looking for a larger room please book our Standard Double Rooms.

We are happy to hear that you found our team friendly. I do hope we have the opportunity in the future to show you improved service, and welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 209 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at the Chiswick Rooms with my boyfriend for a few nights a week ago.
Lovely Hotel, the rooms are clean and the staff were friendly.
The hotel is a minute away from the tube which then takes about 20-25 minutes to get into central london, so an ideal location for sight seeing. There is a high street a minute away with some nice coffee shops and cafes, perfect for breakfast or an afternoon cuppa.
The only downside with the hotel is the size of the rooms - they are pretty small. My boyfriend booked our trip, but he commented he had opted for the larger double, and it was still a bit of a squeeze. This didn't bother us particularly as we weren't there much and we're both pretty little, but for a larger person or someone with lots of luggage it might be a bit of a problem.
Mostly though it was lovely and i'd def go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairelou27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chiswick Rooms and for taking the time to write this review

We at the Chiswick Rooms are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the location, service and accommodation.

We are located on the district line in Zone 2. Our nearest Underground station is Stanford Brook on the District Line, which has a direct link to Natural History museum, the Science museum, Victoria and Albert Museum, Victoria Station, Buckingham Palace, London Eye, Big Ben, Parliament square and the Tower of London.

Our room sizes vary from room to room however we do have a clear difference in room sizes between the compact double and the standard double. All our beds have space underneath for luggage.

We hope to welcome you again to the Chiswick Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Chiswick Rooms for one night at the weekend as we were going to a concert at the nearish Hammersmith Apollo. Unfortunately the District line was out of action, so we had to walk from Hammersmith tube (about 20 mins), so that was not ideal (but not Chiswick Room's fault!). We were expecting the room to be very small, so had no issues with that for one night. It was spotless and very modern. Staff were very friendly, and we would definitely stay here again, though not in the height of summer. The room was boiling hot so we put the air con on, which it seemed only had one noisy (and powerful) setting. So we were either v v hot, or v cold. The double-glazing is great as we could hardly hear the busy road below, but it did mean that opening a window was a no-go as there were buses going past very regularly. Oh, and the speaker in the bathroom didn't work. Still, overall, very good, and would recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chiswick Rooms for your recent stay in London.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be clean and modern. I am truly sorry that you had some issues with the speaker in the bathroom during your stay. We will identify which room this was in and get our maintenance department to fix this.

All our rooms have air conditioning with five units (cooling, heating, drying, fan or automatic) this gives our guests the choice to set their own temperatures. Our friendly team at reception will help all our guests with AC setting.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you don't need the facilities of a hotel or B&B then this is an ideal place to stay, Stamford Brook tube station is a stones throw away so access to central London is very straightforward, Chiswick has a very relaxed atmosphere and the high road has a good selection of shops and numerous restaurants, cafes and bars and is very convenient for visiting Kew Gardens.
The rooms themselves are very modern and spotlessly clean, but are small and there is no lift so you have to struggle up a tight staircase with your luggage. If you are elderly you will need to book a ground floor room and I would not recommend this establishment to the disabled especially those in a wheelchair.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leintwardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank You for sharing your views on the Chiswick Rooms, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time in London. It's indeed a plus point for our guests as we’re situated near London’s most of the famous attractions and there are lots of fabulous cafes and restaurants.

We have 4 floors at the Chiswick Rooms, our guests can make a request to stay in the ground floor if they prefer. Our friendly team at reception will help all our guests with their luggage up the stairs.

We hope to welcome you again to the Chiswick Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was a good value London hotel with high spec finish generally.
Easy access from Stamford Brook tube, just across the road.
Some people will be wowed by things like the iPod dock and the generally high standard of finish there. I paid more attention to the fact that both rooms we stayed in had the in-room safe locked already, and staff were not able to reset it.
The rooms are very small as is the bathroom, this is a sacrifice we were happy to make for the price though.
The staff were on the most part friendly and helpful, especially when they allowed us to change room after the first night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claphamaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Chiswick Rooms. We read all our reviews in order to improve the services we provide.

We are situated just 1 minutes’ walk from Stamford Brook underground station on the district line having direct connectivity to almost all the major attractions such as the Natural History museum, the Science museum, Victoria and Albert Museum, Victoria Station, Buckingham Palace, London Eye, Big Ben, St Paul's Cathedral and the Tower of London.

Our team is trained to provide the best service and we pride ourselves to read such positive comments from our guests.

Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our services on a daily basis. I apologize that the safes in your rooms were locked, we have re-informed our housekeeping department to inform the reception team if the safe is locked for an arrival room.

We very much hope that you will give us another opportunity to accommodate you in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The rooms are good value for money. I couldn't find anywhere else better for the same price. They have a high standard finish and the bathroom is convenient.
You can make tea or coffee in the room, there is airconditioning and the reception staff is friendly.
It gets lower marks for the noise from the other rooms. The cleaning staff didn't smile and sat outside of our door chatting and drinking tea- pressure to make you leave? The rooms became uncomfortably small with 2 bags on the floor.

Room Tip: Ask for not ground floor, not on the street side and maybe top floor- although you will need to carr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravCdeWurld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your experience at the Chiswick Rooms. We are very pleased that you feel our price reflects the product and services we provide. It is also a pleasure to know that our unique concept has been fully appreciated and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

We have provided space for guests to store bags underneath our beds

I am very sorry to read about your experience with housekeeping team, they has been given further training to ensure that this does not happen in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed overnight here as part of a group when racing the Head of the River Women's Tideway. The rooms are immaculate though not awfully spacious and bed was very comfortable. Very close to some good cafes and restaurants as well. Only complaint would be parking...our group had to park our van in a random spot - was fine overnight but not ideal for a longer stay if you're driving. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pesti13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you for your positive review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We have a number of cafes and restaurants around us, just few minutes’ walk away that serve delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The nearest car park is located in Hammersmith Shopping Mall, however you can still leave your car at a pay and display road side parking at St Peter’s Square or other nearby streets, which are 2 min walk from us. These are quiet residential streets that have free parking from 5 pm to 9 am Mon-Fri and free over the weekend.

I am truly glad that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Hammersmith / Fulham
Premier Inn London Hammersmith Hotel
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#262 of 1,077 in London
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
#156 of 1,077 in London
685 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#764 of 1,077 in London
462 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiswick Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiswick Rooms

Address: 407-411 Goldhawk Road, London W6 0SA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #691 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $76 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chiswick Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chiswick Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiswick Rooms London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing