We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ranked #263 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Excellent location just on Blackfriars road, very good value for money considering location in London with room under £100 a night. Very modern entrance, check in efficient, room on 10th floor. Room was clean with single window overlooking office blocks, quite sterile in appearance, bathroom was a pod like affair integrated into room but worked very well and exceptionally clean. Shower was excellent and lighting very good. Great location for Waterloo station which is a 5 to 10 min walk from hotel, tube station within 2 mins and South Bank pubs and restaurants within a 10 min walk. If all you want is a clean functional room with close proximity to the city at a good rate then I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grindlehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Michael Böhler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,598 - 1,604 of 3,539 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was quite amazed at how much I liked this hotel and how friendly the staff were. I was granted an early check-in and late check-out, no questions asked (this is subject to availability, and it is listed in their hotel policy which is displayed at reception.) The wifi signal was also very strong, even at night when most travellers tend to be using the network and slowing it down. I didn't eat at the restaurant, but I saw it was always busy and it smelled delicious whenever I walked past.

I have to say though, can we give a hand to the reception staff and the housekeeping staff? They're so quick, professional and ready to drop everything and help you. When I was checking out, the general manager was training a new employee and showing him how to use the system, As soon as I approached the counter, the GM stopped mid-sentence and asked how he could help me. Very impressive. The housekeeping staff are amazing too, and they left the rooms spick and span.

The location of the hotel is also fantastic. It's just about 200m away from Southwark station, and from there you can take the Jubilee line to Westminster and change lines there. The Tate Modern is also a 5-minute walk away.

The only letdown for me was the bathroom, but it was such a minor detail that I feel guilty for nitpicking. There was a slight gap between the shower doors, which meant that the bathroom floor got wet after a shower, but like I said, it was a very small issue - I simply used the floor mat to mop it up. Maybe others didn't like the 'airport-style' bathroom, but I thought it was spacious and easy to use.

Definitely a thumbs-up for this hotel, especially in expensive London where hotel costs easily go up into the hundreds.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarkOnFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Michael Böhler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Recently I was down in London for a conference and needed somewhere central, on a reasonable budget and good quality so I opted for the Ibis Hotel based on trip advisor reviews. I have never been to this chain before but I was impressed with the general layout and feel of the hotel. I had a warm welcome at the door and my booking was found quickly and within 5 mins I had been directed to my room. The room was small but not uncomfortable, and everything seemed well laid out. The bathroom feels like you are in a bit of space pod but had a nice powerful shower (although had limited extras). I was a bit disappointed to find out the hotel doesn't do room service (as I was travelling alone) but instead you have to go down to the bar, order and then take it back upstairs. Not the most convenient. But saying that, there is a very nice communal atmosphere in the bar/diner downstairs and so I decided to just eat there and watch the football. The food was tasty (especially the steak) and quick, had good portion sizes and not to expensive for London. Once again I found the staff friendly and up for a bit of a laugh.
I found the bed to be comfortable and had a pretty good sleep so no complaints there.
Breakfast was included and I think this was the highlight of my stay. One of the best buffet style selections I have seen and for the meansly price of £9, what a bargain!! There is a wide variety of fruits, yoghurts, cheeses, pastries but most importantly the fry up selection was excellent.

Overall good quality hotel, only thing missing is leisure facilities (although for this price I would be surprised if they did) and I expect I will come again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane-ewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the ibis London Blackfriars. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Michael Böhler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

IBIS is not a brand I would normally go for but I tried the IBIS Blackfriars last week for 3 weeks and have to say I was impressed. Great hotel, modern, functional, bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, the bathroom is a bit interesting but works perfectly. The satff from reception, to bar to restaurant could not be more welcoming. friendly and helpful (a plus for some London hotels!).

I really enjoyed my stay - would recommend this hotel and in future I will have to look at IBIS more often!

Room Tip: I was on the 13th floor with a good view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Excellent Hotel, very clean, pleaseant and modern. Its located within 5minutes of Southark Tube station and 15mins walk of Waterloo train station. I was down for the week on business and found this hotel really good and excellent for travelling around London.

Its fairly casual and realxed. The only thing bad was the lack of vegetarian food on the restraunt menu.

Room Tip: Facing Blackfirars room otherwise its a dull view to a office block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khalidm777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the ibis London Blackfriars. We are working at the moment on the new menu and will take your comments in concideration. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Michael Böhler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I am quite open minded but I really do normally dislike Ibis Hotels, I've had some horrific experiences at them in the past but this was the only hotel in the area I needed to be at my price level so thought it would be fine for a night. Wow, how shocked I was that I actually really liked it! The staff were really firendly and asked if I wanted a quiet room further away from the lifts or closer save walking - i went for the quiet one as I was so tired and heard nothing all night.

The rooms are still very basic, especially when your paying over £100 but the bed was very comfortable with good TV and plenty of space. The breakfast was really good, still not on par with Premier Inn's in my opinion as they do offer more for the money but a good selection and all looked very fresh. The main area looked quite funky with plenty of speating for the evening and a nice bar.

Woudl highly recommend this for a few nights while in London, close to tube stations and also over ground.

Room Tip: Ask fro a quiet room, no street or lift noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missfon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Michael Böhler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Absolutely great hotel and great value for london, everything was very clean, ' trendy' with areas papered as the library, funky chairs, and all spotlessly clean, could nt fault it in any way, great price for london, loved the bathroom pods, two thickish towels, which is unuusal in budget priced hotels. Bed and pillows very comfortable, loved the matress topper

Enjoyed a meal in the evening first night as unsure where to go, very tasty and reasonably priced, bar prices not bad and it was nice to enjoy a drink in the library, breakfast good, though you had to be quick to get a table. would certainly go to an ibis again and this one. Staff very helpful

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the ibis London Blackfriars. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Michael Böhler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#310 of 1,081 in London
4,183 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#120 of 1,081 in London
2,524 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#261 of 1,081 in London
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#16 of 1,081 in London
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Blackfriars

Address: 49 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in London
#112 Family Hotel in London
#145 Romantic Hotel in London
#180 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $107 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Blackfriars 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free Wi-Fi throughout, a 24 hour reception and a 24 hour meal and drinks menu, the Ibis London Blackfriars offers modern rooms in central London. Just 5 minutes’ walk from Waterloo Station, the Tate Modern is within 10 minutes on foot.Each bedroom comes with an en suite bathroom, a flat-screen TV and an iPod dock. All rooms have city views and come with ironing facilities and free toiletries.Fogg’s restaurant at the Ibis London Blackfriars serves modern and creative meals throughout the day, with Continental and cooked breakfasts available each morning. The area is also dotted with gastro-pubs and chic restaurants, as well as many bars and eateries located along the banks of the Thames.The London Eye and Big Ben are within a 20-minute walk, while 10 minutes on the Jubilee line from Waterloo to Bond Street Tube Station provides access to the shops of Oxford Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London Blackfriars England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing