We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ibis Yet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ranked #260 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Ibis Yet”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in London over Christmas. I've been in other Ibis locations in France and this one is far nicer. The location is fantastic and an easy walk to many locations. The tube is just around the corner too.
What makes this Ibis different. The restaurant and lounge is improved and far more comfortable. The room has an improved bed. The bathroom is the best I've seen with a large walk-in shower. The staff was also very helpful. I will be back in the future.
Just across the bridge is the Blackfriar Pub. The food and ales were great.

Room Tip: RM 415 seemed bigger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Justin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave a comment. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel over Christmas. I am glad to see that you have appreciated the new design of our public areas ! Looking forward to welcome you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,327
    1,573
    312
    59
    29
See reviews for
651
1,478
177
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Just come back from a night at the ibis. What can I say????

Finding it - turn left out of the blackfriars road exit of Southwark tube station and its 2 minutes walk. On entering we found reception lovely. It was spotlessly clean and modern. The reception staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome.

The room - we were in room 1004. The room was simply furnished. There was a double bed which was lovely and comfy. There was an open style wardrobe/shelving area. Tea and coffee facilities (ask at reception if you require extra tea bags etc). There was a flat screen tv too facing the bed. The en-suite was a pod style with hair and body wash and towels supplied. The room also had a hairdryer. We found everything immaculately clean and all new looking.

To eat - the hotel bar serves drinks and tapas and there is an optional buffet style breakfast for £8.95 each. We found some great places to eat back up by the tube station. Breakfast can be found for between £5 and £6 for a full English with tea and toast around the corner.

The only downside was the glass recycling wagon waking us up but this was not mega early as it was around 8am.

We have already decided we will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, Assistant Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
I'm really glad to hear that you have had a nice stay with us. Thank you very much for your feedback !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We like to stay in London a couple of times a year. In the past we have stayed at the Tower Hotel or at the Hilton in Docklands, both of these are fine but neither are very convenient. The Ibis however is located about 100 yards from Southwark tube station which is on the Jubilee line and offers quick access to central London. The first thing we noticed when we got to the hotel was how friendly everyone was, checking in was easy as I had prepaid the room charge so we were in our room within a few minutes of arriving. The room was modern and very well appointed with a good size bathroom with a power shower and a kettle for making tea etc, the bed was one of the most comfortable I had ever slept in. There was a flat screen tv with cable tv and free movie channels. The hotel had a restaurant although we didn't use it but the breakfast looked very good, there is also a well stocked bar and lots of seating. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay and somewhere that we will both be staying at again in the near future.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spauly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, Assistant Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for having taken the time to post your comment. It's true that our location is excellent ! I'm glad to hear as well that you have enjoyed our "Sweet Bed by Ibis" ! Looking forward to welcome you back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here twice this month and have been impressed!

I often stay in this area if I need to stay on London for work and as the Ibis was new and had a good rate I thought I'd give it a try!

Staff are brilliant and reception/bar area looked fantastic with the Xmas decs! It does still feel new too so that also adds to the experience.

Rooms are basic but exceptionally clean - it's generally a great choice and good location (right near Southwark tube) for a one night stay.

Having stayed in a number of hotels in this area I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, Assistant Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you very much for such a positive feedback. I'm happy to read that you have enjoyed our Christmas decorations ! I will of course share with the rest of the team your feedback. We are definitely looking forward to welcome you soon in our hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballywalter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

It has a very nice and well stocked modern bar. Close to Southwark Tube Station (out of hotel turn right and walk about 100 yards) on the Jubilee Line. The jubilee line can be busy and if you have a lot of luggage wait until the morning rush is over. Nice views from my room, 1222, could see Westminster, the London eye, St. Paul's and the BT tower. Friendly staff and cost £107 for one night.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JJK425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to ibis London Blackfriars in London very soon.
Kind regards,
Michael Böhler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed on the 12th floor of the Ibis blackfriars for our anniversary weekend in london. Jubilee line straight to green park made it very handy for getting around.
Nice and clean only downside was that we were promised a view of the london eye but it was hiding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis London Blackfriars in London.
Kind regards,
Michael Böhler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Its in great location.. close to water front..in westminster.. close to tube station: Southark.. close to museums
decent rooms.. no room service.. they dont provide water also.. complimentary or paid.. nothing delivered to room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candy85n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back at ibis London Blackfriars in London.
Kind regards,
Michael Böhler
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#169 of 1,069 in London
2,199 reviews
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#328 of 1,069 in London
3,955 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#244 of 1,069 in London
1,940 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Blackfriars

Property: Ibis London Blackfriars
Address: 49 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in London
#145 Romantic Hotel in London
#181 Business Hotel in London
#183 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Blackfriars 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free Wi-Fi throughout, a 24 hour reception and a 24 hour meal and drinks menu, the Ibis London Blackfriars offers modern rooms in central London. Just 5 minutes’ walk from Waterloo Station, the Tate Modern is within 10 minutes on foot.Each bedroom comes with an en suite bathroom, a flat-screen TV and an iPod dock. All rooms have city views and come with ironing facilities and free toiletries.Fogg’s restaurant at the Ibis London Blackfriars serves modern and creative meals throughout the day, with Continental and cooked breakfasts available each morning. The area is also dotted with gastro-pubs and chic restaurants, as well as many bars and eateries located along the banks of the Thames.The London Eye and Big Ben are within a 20-minute walk, while 10 minutes on the Jubilee line from Waterloo to Bond Street Tube Station provides access to the shops of Oxford Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London Blackfriars England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing