We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good as it gets” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich
Ranked #188 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    506
    140
    64
    22
See reviews for
202
730
77
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gorleston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a package event which included a meal at this hotel before going to the O2 for an event. The hotel is VERY posh, luxurious but with two small children it wasn't practical for us. The food was excellent but took sooooo long we thought that it took a lifetime. It's the sort of place that any age couple could definitely have a romantic getaway but personally for us with two children aged 8 and 4 I was on edge whilst we were there. It is great for the O2 Arena and a local private hire company charged us £8 to get back to this hotel area which was great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnykaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us even though you found the hotel not too practical for children. I am very sorry to read that the food took long to be served but glad you liked it. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and maybe next time for a romantic weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Twn room in the sub basement, which was fine - very nicely decorated, bed was v. comfy, bathrrom was good - onoy gripe was there was no light over the desk, so difficult to work ! Glad it was therefore only a one night flying visit. No more than a 10 min walk from Greenwich station, which is then really convenient for London Bridge etc. Room service was good - lots of enticing options, and the fish pie and caesar's salad were both good - better than many room service offereings. Booked it through lastminute.com's secret hotel deal so only £54.50 for the night - not bad for 4* in London !!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwrussell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. Glad you were able to benefit from the hotels convenient location for central London. We have taken your comments regarding the desk lighting on board and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again – always check our Mercure website for the best deals and the earlier you book the cheaper it will be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights 7th March 2014 to 10th March 2014. Stayed in a Privilege room on the 8th floor, quiet, clean and spacious with plenty of complimentary toiletries and also mini bar soft drinks. Great views of London and also a viewing area with a couple of chairs and table on 8th floor which was nice. Hotel is in a nice area with Depford Bridge tube station less than 5 minutes walking and Greenwich tube and rail 10 minutes walk which we preferred as shops, market, bars etc near by and also Cutty Sark which is well worth a visit. Frequent overland trains to London Bridge from here (8 minutes).Visited the hotel bar a few times, very nice surroundings and atmosphere and reasonable prices for a hotel. Didn't eat in hotel but breakfast was a reasonable £10 if booked in advance. Staff helpful and friendly. A secret hotel booked via lastminute.com and as a regular visitor to London will definitely stay again if can get in at the right price.

Room Tip: Get an 8th floor privilege room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deschez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel and for sharing your experience. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the great views over London which our privilege rooms offer. Always check the Mercure website for the best deals and the earlier you book the cheaper it will be. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel is becoming the place I always choose to stay when in this area, without even looking for anywhere else. The standard of everything - rooms, staff, food etc. never varies and I can look forward to arriving and enjoying a perfect stay there. This trip I was on my own but I have stayed here with my wife and she feels the same about it as I do. It is excellent and the location is ideal for Greenwich.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest, We are delighted with your kind review and pleased that the Mercure London Greenwich is the place for you to stay when in the area. We hope to see you and your wife soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on 9th March as we were seeing an act at The O2.
We arrived at check-in 2pm but we were told our room wasn't ready, we were happy to wait in the bar but then the receptionist said they'd found a room for us which was available straight away so that was good.
The parking situation was rather frustrating. I'd rung the hotel 3days prior to arrival to ask how much the parking was. I was told £12 for 24hrs (good for london prices) and thought nothing else of it. On arrival we were told it had to be pre-booked and they were now full. I wish when i'd rung they had mentioned this too me as I would have booked it on that phone call. My husband then had to walk to a cash machine on the main road to get change for a parking meter outside the hotel.
The room itself was very nice. Modern, clean, great bathroom, mirrors on the cupboard doors & iron with ironing board was also provided which is a nice touch.
We had a beer & a vodka&coke in the bar which was over £11 so quite pricey.
We booked breakfast for the next morning as it was half price if done the night before. Breakfast was good quality. Buffet style with a couple of dishes you could have from a small menu. Everything was cooked well & nicely laid out but a couple of small points were 1.We had to get our own pots of tea. Just a small point but i think it would be good if the staff could just provide tea/coffee for the guests. 2.Cheap tasting ketchup. Would be nice if they upgraded that. Two very small pointers but (personally) i think it would improve breakfast if these things were looked at.
Overall we had a very good stay here & i would stay again as location wise its great & easy to find. Worth noting that the staff were all very friendly.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brightonbecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest, We are delighted with your kind review and pleased you had an enjoyable visit overall. I am very sorry that you were not advised to book a car parking space well in advance to avoid disappointment. Unfortunately due to the size of our car park we can only offer 16 spaces on a first come first served basis. I am further disappointed that you were not served tea and coffee during breakfast. Some of our team members are new and I will ensure that adequate training is provided to ensure all our guests receive the same high level of service. I am delighted to read that you will consider us again in future and we look to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I've stayed here before and had an amazing experience, the hotel is in a great location and staff were very friendly so I thought I would return...
The room itself was OK - booked a double bed but received two twins pushed together.
The shower room was an amazing level-access wet room, however the water temperature fluctuated from ice cold to scalding hot so we couldn't use the shower and had to resort to using the sink. Most disappointing after my first visit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Millie124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am disappointed that your second experience with us was not as good as the first one. I sincerely apologise for the broken shower and I understand how frustrated you must have felt. I have already spoken to our maintenance and housekeeping managers who have ensured the appropriate corrective actions have been taken. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
The Westbridge Hotel
#101 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#239 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#402 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich
Address: Catherine Grove, London SE10 8FR, England (Formerly Mercure London Greenwich)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Business Hotel in London
#143 Romantic Hotel in London
#144 Luxury Hotel in London
#288 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Royal Greenwich, the Greenwich Hotel London is just a 15 minute walk from the Cutty Sark, Maritime Museum and near the O2 Arena. Close to Canary Wharf, Excel Exhibition Centre and with great transport links to Central London, this London Hotel is easily accessible via the DLR from Greenwich station and is near to Greenwich Market and the observatory. This 4* hotel offers free wi-fi in all bedrooms, the restaurant and bar. Use of the hotel gym is free for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton London Greenwich England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing