We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich
Ranked #174 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Above Expectations”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I first booked this hotel for a music concert at The O2 in September '13 (again in November '13) and was extremely impressed, especially for a 3* - it does not serve it justice. The property is immaculate, albeit only recently renovated as once the Metropolitan Police Barracks, and the staff superb. I normally like my 5* comfort with all the trimmings but The Greenwich has it all so would certainly book again. The only down side in trying to book the hotel is that it doesn't come up easily in Google, instead you're met with The Greenwich, New York. One suggestion to avoid this is to go to The O2 web site and follow the link from there. You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoddart97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for the lovely feedback. We are very pleased that you decided to use the hotel again for your second visit. We appreciate your comments regarding our immaculate product and the superb staff. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for your future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    544
    147
    72
    29
See reviews for
229
812
87
271
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel is lovely and ideally located for business and pleasure in London.

The staff were nice but definitely need trained to be more effective and provide seamless service.
1. We informed reception on arrival that the second part of our party was arriving in the morning, room was already paid for but when they arrived in the morning they had been cancelled as no shows.
2. Spent 15 minutes getting a drink and a further 20 trying to pay for it standing at the bar with 4 staff and 3 customers.
3. When we asked if we could leave our bags in a sister hotel to go shopping on when we were checking out, we almost had to force the receptionist to phone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank alex_1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We appreciate the time you have taken to write the review. We strive to exceed our customer expectations and appreciate any feedback that can be used to better our service. We will indeed give our reception and bar staff more training so that the service we provide is indeed more seamless. We are also happy that you found the hotel staff nice and you were able to benefit from the hotel’s great location. We do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in dec and room were very clean didnt like the bathroom door as although modern and impressive to look at it was impractical as see through and you can see the other person using the toilet. Breakfast was amazing and worth the cost. Big selection a little slow in refilling bit again worth the wait. Location a bit far out if looking to be in central london daily.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joshjack13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We appreciate the time you have taken to write these comments. We are pleased you found our breakfast to be amazing and good value for money. Our Chef will be very happy to read your comments. We also appreciate your comments with regards to the rooms being very clean. The hotel is indeed slightly off central London with fantastic links into the city. We are very happy you had a lovely break and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Good points:
1) Convenient location, only a minute's walk from the DLR station
2) Fantastic service and professional staff
3) Lounge/bar area was fantastic and the idea of surrounding the ground floor rooms around it is clever
4) Luxurious bedroom

Bad points:
1) Room was quite small and pokey
2) The frosted glass on the bathroom door, whilst stylish, doesn't offer much privacy
3) Although the rooms are priced reasonably high, car parking or breakfast isn't included and there isn't a swimming pool

I have to say despite its few negatives, this is a really fantastic hotel and you are guaranteed to have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junaid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. I am happy you found the hotel’s location convenient and that you liked our product and the service you received. Our staff will be happy to hear you found them to be professional and that you received fantastic service. We also value your comments with regards to the size of the room and the frosted glass on the bathroom door. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We recently had our company christmas party here, I had read good reviews about this place already so decided to see.

I booked 22 double rooms, the O4 room for the venue and the staff did the rest.

It was a fantastic experience and so effortlessly organised by the staff, catering for 46 guests they set up a private room with our own bar and a handful of helpful and happy staff. Most of the organising was done over phone and emails, two senior staff members Michelle & Rachael were so friendly, helpful and really well organised. Not 1 bad word could be said for the amount of effort that went into the whole day/night. The food was one of the best Christmas dinners I've had, (except at home)! The soup was bliss and the veg was perfect. I will definitely be using this hotel again next year for Christmas.

The rooms...

A massive walk in shower and all lights and heating controlled through the tv system, it was brilliant, never seen that before. Beds were comfy and very clean, service was good too, check in did take a while but the hotel was very busy. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay and will be coming here again in the future, with Deptford DLR station just 5 mins away it's a great location with easy access.

Thanks to all the staff a memorable Christmas party and a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a wonderful review. We are very pleased that your event for your group was successful. Our Reception and Food and Drinks staff will be very happy to read your comments as such reviews naturally bring great satisfaction to our team. Thank you also for highlighting Rachel and Michelle for their outstanding work. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Christmas dinner, especially the soup and the rooms as well. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Whilst we did not stay at Mercure London Greenwich, after a fantastic experience booking an o2 VIP package, it would be a tragedy not to publicise our high praise for this fantastic hotel and it's amazing staff.

Booking an o2 music event through TheGreenwichLondon,com couldn't be easier or more rewarding and we were treated first class throughout our time with them. A warm opening and complimentary drink in a beautiful, modern bar was very much welcomed after the short walk from the train station. The immaculate lounge bar and chic decor continued throughout the hotel with fanciful bathrooms and a breathtaking restaurant.

Not only was the restaurant a treat to the eye, but the food was delicious and the staff were very accommodating. My partner wasn't keen on the offerings on the pre-event set-menu (beef, more beef or fish) , but alternative options were quickly suggested and we both left very satisfied. A pre-booked taxi soon whisked us off to the o2, where The Greenwich's private box awaited us. Nestled in the corner of the o2 you will not be the closest executive box, however the stage being directly in-front (rather than facing side ways all evening) was great, and the room is right besides the elevators and lavatories- perfect.

Overall a fantastic experience which I would highly recommend. From here on in, there is only one way we will return to the o2 again and that is by booking through The Greenwich Hotel. First class.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlversuslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a wonderful review. We strive to exceed our customer expectations and reading such a review naturally brings great satisfaction to our teams who share passion for great customer service.
We are pleased you were able to benefit from the hotels great location as well as the great service you received from the restaurant and bar. We are glad you will be using us again for your future O2 bookings. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#101 of 1,068 in London
1,385 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich
Address: Catherine Grove, London SE10 8FR, England (Formerly Mercure London Greenwich)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Business Hotel in London
#138 Luxury Hotel in London
#143 Romantic Hotel in London
#288 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Royal Greenwich, DoubleTree By Hilton London Greenwich is just a 15 minute walk from the Cutty Sark, Maritime Museum and near the O2 Arena. Close to Canary Wharf, Excel Exhibition Centre and with great transport links to Central London, this London Hotel is easily accessible via the DLR from Greenwich station and is near to Greenwich Market and the observatory. This 4* hotel offers free wi-fi in all bedrooms, the restaurant and bar. Use of the hotel gym is free for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton London Greenwich England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing