We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff, nice room, slightly overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich
Ranked #191 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Pleasant staff, nice room, slightly overpriced.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in the Mecure London Greenwich for four nights in August. The rooms are nicely decorated, and the bed was very comfortable with soft pillows. However the room was slightly small for a double bed.

The bathroom was very clean, with a nice shower, would've been nice to have a bath, however this was not a massive issue.

The hotel bar was stylish, with a chilled atmosphere. The bar staff were nice and chatty but not in your face. There was a random chair which looked a little out of place and would be more suited to an Austin Powers movie set but it was very comfortable. The drinks weren't cheap but not ridiculously expensive.

We ate breakfast everyday which we pre-booked at a discounted price of £10 per person, (it's usually £15). We both enjoyed the breakfast, however it would've been nice to have seen omelettes on the menu. The music played during breakfast was an unusual choice. If you are hungover, order breakfast to your room as the music in the restaurant will tip you over the edge.

My boyfriend used the gym facilities and he wasn't impressed, the treadmill wasn't sturdy enough for running and it was essentially one of the bedrooms which had been cleared out and had gym equipment put in.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, we got a good deal on secrethotels.com so we feel we got good value for money, but having looked at the regular prices on the website we both agreed that it would not have been such good value if we'd have booked direct through them.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ_inabed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your detailed review. I am glad to read that generally you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. As previously mentioned, we offer great deals via our Mercure London Greenwich website as well as some great advance saver rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    528
    144
    67
    26
See reviews for
219
771
80
254
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Really good location for transport links to Central London, either 30 mins by bus to Westminster or 25 minutes to Bank by DLR.
Breakfast is worth the £10 if you book the night before, although not as much variety as the Novotel's I have stayed in.
Room was clean with good amenities and a comfortable beds. The rooms were a little small, the twin room had maybe 6" between the beds, and the shower soaked the bathroom floor.
The hotel itself is very well furnished with green space just outside and shops locally if you need any essentials.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel have a view of Canary Wharf and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lg-1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am glad that even though you had a view issues overall you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I wanted to visit historic Greenwich for a couple of days and did a search for a suitable for a single traveller and not too expensive (not easy in London!) The Mercure came up and I have an a-club card from a previous Ibis stay and got a great deal. It is a 10 min walk from the train station and in a small street. I was early and wanted to change and leave my bag. André on the front desk could not have been more helpful - very friendly. The lifts, corridors and rooms are perfect. My room was chic and I loved the history information etched on the glass doors of the great bathroom. Tesco Express and Indian carry-out just around the corner ( I was too shattered after my day to go out to eat! ) I pre-booked breakfast for £10 and it was very good. Again, the young staff were very friendly and accommodating, Thoroughly recommended and at these prices would think about staying here and travel into Central London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give us a wonderful review here on Tripadvisor. It is always a great pleasure to receive such great comments and I am really glad to read that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful. Please visit our website for great offers as well as some great advance saver rates. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergem, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I normally use the other IBIS or Novotels in the area (Excel or Greenwich), and was unaware of the existence of this Mercure. I joined a colleague who booked it and was more than happily surprised. This hotel is just a bit further from Greenwich town center (and hence the restaurants and pubs), but the overall quality certainly makes up for that. Rooms are very well equipped and more than large enough. It has one of the nicest bars I've already seen. Breakfast is complete, all you need is there.
This is of the same quality of the Excel Novotel and well above any other hotels in the area. Access to the Docklands is of course extremely easy with the nearby DLR.
This one becomes my first selection for my future trips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avanherreweghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for providing valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Mercure London Greenwich. We are proud to read that you enjoyed our services, the location and the hotel facilities. Furthermore, we are thrilled that we are now your first selection and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel opened up around 10 months ago and has been tastefully decorated. The staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom was unusual in layout - but cleverly thought out and well appointed. Spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished. Bedroom was quite small - but this is London and it was an excellent price (went for a mystery hotel - so was very pleasantly surprised.) Convenient for DLR, Deptford Bridge (2 minute walk)and off the main road so lovely and quiet. Parking is available at £12 per night - but secure and safe, and they were happy for me to leave the car there while I went into London. Overall - definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 121chiffchaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recommendation. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your accommodation, the location and that the team made you feel welcome. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and really was a great surprise, much better than other 4 stars hotels we have stayed in other European capitals. It really offered value for money.

This hotel in Greenwich (35-40 minutes to central London by bus, 20 minutes by train) is new (a renovated beer factory, as I understood) and located in a quiet and accessible neighborhood.

Our room was lovely, decorated with character :). Big clean bathrooms. Everything is clean, the room functions could be controlled by TV remote/screen ( the lights, air conditioning).

The hotel staff were all very helpful (they changed our initial level as we wanted to stay on an upper floor)

Breakfast was really ok, and more than enough for us, although the same was served every morning.

We we return to London it will our choice again because it really offers value/confortable experience for the money paid (in a city, otherwise, expensive).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxyti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest, We are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and thank you for your comments. We are glad you could benefit from the hotels location and I agree that we are a good alternative to central London hotels. We offer great deals via our Mercure London Greenwich website as well as some great advance saver rates. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nicely decorated and clean. Our room was on the 1st floor but only had a small window towards the top of the ceiling, so more a basement room. The room was small but had lovely furnishings. A few gripes were that we were missing a cushion on the bed, the bottle of water had already been opened and there was no light over the desk mirror. My main issue was the continuous fan in the bathroom, it did not stop! On the first night I found it hard to sleep with the constant humming sound however on the second night I did sleep better. We used the bar on the first night and found the staff friendly but drinks expensive. The breakfast was good, with a nice range to choose from. We found the check in staff only ok and had some confusion on checkout with regards to our final bill. We probably won't return but the hotel was nice enough

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry to read that you are not planning to stay with us again. I have already addressed the issues you encountered with regards to the room. Glad you were happy with the bar service and breakfast options though. If you change your mind and plan to stay with us again, consider to book a privilege room situated on the 8th and 9th floor with fantastic views over London. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
The Westbridge Hotel
#102 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#236 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich
Address: Catherine Grove, London SE10 8FR, England (Formerly Mercure London Greenwich)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Business Hotel in London
#143 Romantic Hotel in London
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
#288 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Royal Greenwich, DoubleTree By Hilton London Greenwich is just a 15 minute walk from the Cutty Sark, Maritime Museum and near the O2 Arena. Close to Canary Wharf, Excel Exhibition Centre and with great transport links to Central London, this London Hotel is easily accessible via the DLR from Greenwich station and is near to Greenwich Market and the observatory. This 4* hotel offers free wi-fi in all bedrooms, the restaurant and bar. Use of the hotel gym is free for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton London Greenwich England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing